Skip to main content

Chicago Manual of Style & A Manual for Writers (Turabian): Introduction

Introduction

A Helpful Clarification

Chicago Manual of Style versus A Manual for Writers:
What's the Difference
?

This is a question we are often asked in the Library. The simplest answer is that they are almost identical. A Manual for Writers is designed to assist students with all aspects of their writing, whether one is a freshman or completing one's doctoral dissertation. The Chicago Manual of Style provides the sam information but also includes information for those who intend to publish their materials.  

Our recommendation? Ask your professor if they have an opinion, then follow their advice.  We do suggest you take a look at both publications. You will quickly note the parallels in the various citation examples. In reviewing the entries for the same topic you may find that variations in the text help with clarity as you write and cite your work.  

~BW   

Links to Useful Resources

Links to Helpful Resources

Tips & Templates

N.B.


Note that while the following links offer great citation examples, based on the Chicago Manual of Style, the full text of the Chicago Manual and the  Writers Manual are the genuine articles. You will benefit immensely if you take the time to familiarize yourself with either of these publications.

Chicago Manual from OWL

The Purdue Online Writing Lab website offers detailed examples of Chicago style. One on the Chicago Manual Section of the OWLS site,  use the links in the left column to see specific information based on the type of resource. 

Turabian Quick Guide

Governments Sources

Government Sources come in a vast array of types, so citing them can be confusing.

The Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School has posted a 

helpful web page 

that provides examples for about 30  types of documents.

 

Website Resources


The Purdue OWL site is nearly everyone's favorite Go-To website for help with writing and examples of the Chicago style are very clear. Follow the link to the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed., examples on the Purdue OWL site. In the Left column select General Format for an informative explanation of the CMS.  Click for examples of both Footnote / Endnote, or alternatively, the Bibliography format.

 

EasyBib Add-On

Get the EasyBib Bibliography Creator Add-On

The easiest automatic bibliography citation generator is now on Google Docs!. Format in MLA, APA, Harvard, and over 7K more styles!

The Bibliography Creator by EasyBib allows you to easily create a bibliography for your research paper. Automatically cite books, journal articles, and websites just by entering tites or URLs. Format citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, Harvard, and over 7K other styles. When you're finished creating your bibliography, click Generate Bibliography and we'll alphabetize your citations and add them to the end of your paper.

Templates

Two versions of a citation builder
from Chegg Study

EasyBib Blog

Site Info

Subject Guide

Bruce Whitham's picture
Bruce Whitham
Contact:
Research & Instructional Services
(856) 256-4979

About this Libguide

This site was developed and is maintained by Bruce Whitham with the intention of introducing and providing links to resources that explain support the Chicago Manual of Style and the Writer's Manual, now in its 8th edition.

Rowan Library LibGuides are hosted on the Springshare LibGuides Portal, to which Rowan University Libraries subscribes.  Please send comments, suggestions, corrections to Bruce Whitham via email.

Rowan University makes no claim to freely available websites nor does it accept responsibility for the information or opinions expressed by those who have created or authored the content or by those who are quoted on the sites.

The use of this guide infers acceptance of the Terms of Use, spelled out on the Rowan University Libraries site. If you do not agree to abide by these terms you are required to leave the site.