Skip to main content

Accessibility Tips for Library Articles, Databases, and Books: Welcome

This guide provides directions about how to access library databases and PDF articles using screen readers and other accessibility software.

Welcome

Using Library E-books with Accessibility Software

Any e-book that is listed in the Rowan Library Catalog, or found by using the E-books Finder on the library web page, can be viewed with common features of accessibility software.

The easiest way to read a library e-book on a screen reader is to download the e-book, even if the screen only lets you check out the online version of the book for a week, or if it asks for your Rowan login credentials before proceeding. Most e-books will download into PDF and can be read via Adobe Digital Editions software.

Follow this link for directions on how to download ProQuest EBL e-books to Adobe Digital Editions for offline reading a laptop or desktop computer. Similarly, follow this link for directions on how to download Ebrary e-books on iOS or Android for offline reading on a mobile device. These directions all work in a similar way for downloading many types of e-books including those from ProQuest, Sage, Palgrave, Credo, Wiley, and other publishers.

You may also use any of the online e-book interfaces to skim through book chapter headings first, without ever downloading them. In fact, some publishers do not allow direct downloading of e-books at all, even temporarily. Here are some more directions for navigating specific e-book interfaces:

You can also read e-books on your mobile phone using BlueFire Reader (from the App Store) which is also screen-reader friendly. Follow this link for more information on how to download a book for offline reading on a mobile device using

And remember, Campbell Library e-books can appear from any vendor, so bookmark this page so you can return to these updated directions at any time.

Using Article Databases with Accessibility Software

Follow this link for FAQs for the Ebsco online e-book interfaces, or Follow this link for more details on additional Ebsco accessibility features and tips.

Follow this link for directions on how to access Ebsco PDF articles using skip navigation keys with accessibility software.

If you need a PDF article from a library database that is not in accessible format, please let us know the article title/author, and we will obtain an accessible version for you. Contact the library for more information.

Many databases also have a read-aloud or listen function. For example, in Ebsco databases, you can also download MP3 files of any article which has html text, instead of using PDF only; the downloading option appears in the middle of the page right before the full-text begins. If you want to narrow your search to only articles that can be read aloud from the html text version, add to a separate search box the capital letters FM space T. And finally, follow this link for a continually updated list of Ebsco databases which have the Read Aloud Feature and downloading option.

Many databases have similar features like the ones described above. Follow this link for tips and tricks regarding library resources and screen readers which lists accessibility features in additional library databases. Remember, new articles and databases are added and updated in the library all the time; please let us know if you require additional directions on how to access any library resource.

Accessibility Software Located in Campbell Library

Kurzweil 3000 is installed and provides text to speech in 7 languages. Reads any digital text out loud. Available in the Digital Scholarship Center computer lab in Campbell Library 3rd floor, Room 345. Installed on the PCs in Studio A and B, the Mac in Studio A, and two of the PCs in the main room. For more help using Kurzweil, contact Academic Success Center & Disability Resources at 856-256-4259.

JAWS screen reader is installed, and will enlarge and zoom any text. Available in the Digital Scholarship Center computer lab in Campbell Library 3rd floor, Room 345. Jaws is installed on the PCs in Studio A and B, as well as one of the PCs in the main room. For more help using Jaws, contact Academic Success Center & Disability Resources at 856-256-4259.

Follow this link for information on other free accessibility software like screen readers.