Skip to main content

Accounting & Finance Research

Library resources for the study of all aspects of accounting, finance, and banking -- including print and electronic books, databases of journal and newspaper articles, and recommended websites.

Home - Business Databases

Start Here - Search Business Databases

Library databases are collections of articles, reports, or information that are not easily available for free via a Google search. These licensed resources are purchased by the library for use by our students, faculty, and staff, and thus require you to login with your Rowan credentials. Click the links below to start your research on companies, industries, consumers, and more!

Bloomberg terminals in Bunce Hall

Additional Databases, such as Bloomberg (in Bunce Hall Room 156) and Capital IQ (online access by specially assigned username/password only) are available in the Rohrer College of Business for certain courses. Contact your professor for more information.

Some Tips for Class Assignments in Rohrer College of Business

Remember to always start your search from the Campbell Library home page.

  • For key ratios analysis, try IBIS World, which has “key ratios” tables, plus lots of info on trends for various industries (just search or choose one from the links on the opening screen). Also try ABI/Inform for key ratios by typing “first research” in the top search box, and the industry you want in the second search box.  This provides a list of "first research reports" which shows financial benchmarks and ratios at the end of each of their reports.
  • For comparison of more than a few of the leading companies, you could use the Mergent Online database. to choose your firms first by stock ticker or NAICS code, and then download their financials into an Excel spreadsheet. Revenue, EBITDA, and other financials for public companies is easily available, but private company financial data is not as easy to find.  Try the Privco database which may give company contact information where you can inquire further.
  • When searching for the Beta of a stock, you can start at Yahoo! Finance (which also provides 3-year Beta against standard index for each stock you choose; check under 'key statistics' on left menu). But remember, Betas are closely correlated to S&P, so you may find some wild numbers in random sources online; always double-check a figure that you find against others, and note the dates of these assessments. If you cannot find a Beta from a published source, you will need to calculate/estimate it for yourself using the formula. Check Wikipedia's Beta explanation or search Google for many more good how-to pages and videos.
  • ABI/Inform has a video to describe how to get G20 country statistics in spreadsheets, which may be useful for class projects in various business disciplines.
  • Try the new Census Business Builder: Regional Edition for demographics of our local area. Choose the 'businesses' tab or the 'consumer spending' tab to see counts of total payroll, employees, and revenue of local businesses in a particular industry, or to find out annual consumer expenditures on financial investments, housing, local transportation, etc. This uses similar data as ReferenceUSA, which can also create heat maps of different demographics or company locations.
  • The popular NOLO Business Start-up books such as Every Nonprofit's Tax Guide are in the Small Business Reference Center database.
  • Check out our ever-growing list of e-books and print books from the library on how to write a business plan.
  • And don't forget to prepare your business model/business plan (fall) and elevator pitch (spring) for each year's competitions at Rowan!

Need to cite a business database for your bibliography?  Use the tips located here http://libguides.bentley.edu/citingsources-apa under each yellow bar.

Find Journal Articles and News

Start Here - Search Business Databases

Library databases are collections of articles, reports, or information that are not easily available for free via a Google search. These licensed resources are purchased by the library for use by our students, faculty, and staff, and thus require you to login with your Rowan credentials. Click the links below to start your research on companies, industries, consumers, and more!

Bloomberg terminals in Bunce Hall

Additional Databases, such as Bloomberg (in Bunce Hall Room 156) and Capital IQ (online access by specially assigned username/password only) are available in the Rohrer College of Business for certain courses. Contact your professor for more information.

Some Accounting and Finance Journals to Browse

Journal articles usually report on the results of experiments, studies, or projects, and often include advice on best practices and "what works" in various areas of business. Browse this list by clicking on the dates of each journal's issues, or search for a keyword within that journal's articles.

Remember, the links below are for individual journals that you can browse. In order to search multiple journals at once, use the Best Databases for Accounting and Finance link, or the All Business Databases at Rowan link.

Request books or articles that Rowan does not own by using the forms on the Interlibrary Loan page, http://www.lib.rowan.edu/services/ill  

Find Articles in Business Newspapers

The websites of major newspapers often do not have the same contents as the printed or subscribed versions of those newspapers. Websites often include user-generated content like comments, blogs, etc. in addition to real articles from journalists. Use these databases to find the official versions of newspaper articles which have been editor-reviewed.

As always, request other books or articles that Rowan does not own by using the forms on the Interlibrary Loan page, http://www.lib.rowan.edu/services/ill

Find Print Books and E-books

E-books on Accounting and Finance Topics at Campbell Library (available in full-text online, 24/7)

Print books on the shelves and electronic books online both count as real books in your bibliographies for papers.  Books may give lots of information on a particular topic, or they may give more detail on a particular aspect of that topic or offer how-to assistance in a subject.  There are a few main ways to find books in Campbell Library:

Below are some examples of e-books that are useful to accounting and finance majors.  If you need help finding more books, please contact the library.

Browsing for Accounting and Finance Books

You can browse the library catalog using business subject headings like these. If you need any assistance in accessing an e-book (electronic resource) or locating an item on the shelf (print book), please contact the library.

Suggested Print Books in Campbell Library

Some books just do not come in electronic formats. In addition to browsing the e-books above, you can also browse print books on the shelves in Campbell Library. Most business books are on the third floor, in between call numbers HA and HF. When you find a book you like, just take it off the shelf and bring it with your Rowan student ID to the front desk for check-out. Borrowing books and videos is free for students, as long as you return them on time.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios

     In reference: HF5681.R25 A45 (second floor)

RMA Annual Statement Studies

     On Reserve: HF5681. B2 R6 (at first floor desk)

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios

     HF5681. R25 I53 (third floor)

Analysis and Use of Financial Statements

     HF5681.B2 W467 2003 (third floor)

Analysis of Financial Statements

     HG4026 .P463 2006 (third floor)

Fair Value for Financial Reporting: Meeting the New FASB Requirements

     HF5681 .B2 K475 2006 (third floor)

Financial Analysis: A Controller's Guide

     HG4026 .B663 2007 (third floor)

Financial Analysis & Decision Making: Tools and Techniques to Solve Financial Problems and Make Effective Business Decisions

     HG4026 .V364 (third floor)

A Financial History of Modern U. S. Corporate Scandals: From Enron to Reform

     HV6769 .M37 2006 (third floor)

A Financial History of the United States

     HG181 .M297 2002 (third floor)

The Development of American Finance

     HG181 .K68 2011 (third floor)

Key Management Ratios

    HF5681. R25 W347 (third floor)

Request other books or articles that Rowan does not own by using the forms on the Interlibrary Loan page, http://www.lib.rowan.edu/services/ill  

And don't forget ... Learn with Lynda.com

Contact Subject Librarian