Subject Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the Library Research Guide for Archaeology. This guide is intended to familiarize you with the various resources available to you through Rowan University Libraries. If you need more in-depth help or guidance, feel free to use the Ask a Librarian service or schedule a research consultation.
Encyclopedias
The Atlas of World Archaeology by
The Atlas of World Archeology takes readers on an archeological journey around the globe, from the origins of humankind to early historical times. Written by an international team of experts in the field, the atlas combines authoritative yet lively text with a wealth of full-color maps and features. 200 illustrations. 80 maps.
Call Number: Campbell Library Stacks (3rd - 4th Floors) CC165 .A85 2000ISBN: 0816040516Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by
These three volumes trace the development of the field from the ancient Greeks to the end of the 20th century. Readers can travel the globe, from the earliest prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century. Particular attention is given to archaeology's impact on the wider culture.
Call Number: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor Ref. CC 100 E54 2001ISBN: 157607577XPublication Date: 2002-05-25
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by
Archaeology - the study of human cultures through the analysis and interpretation of artefacts and material remains - continues to captivate and engage people on a local and global level. Internationally celebrated heritage sites such as the pyramids--both Egyptian and Mayan--Lascaux caves, and the statues of Easter Island provide insights into our ancestors and their actions and motivation. But there is much more to archaeology than famous sites. Ask any archaeologist about their job and they will touch on archaeological theory, chemistry, geology, history, classical studies, museum studies, ethical practice, and survey methods, along with the analysis and interpretation of artefacts and sites. Archaeology is a much broader subject than its public image and branches into many other fields in the social and physical sciences. This multi-volume work provides a comprehensive and systematic coverage of archaeology that is unprecedented, not only in terms of the use of multi-media, but also in terms of content. It encompasses the breadth of the subject along with key aspects that are tapped from other disciplines. It includes all time periods and regions of the world and all stages of human development. Mostly importantly, this encyclopedia includes the knowledge of leading scholars from around the world. The entries in this encyclopedia range from succinct summaries of specific sites and the scientific aspects of archaeological enquiry to detailed discussions of archaeological concepts, theories and methods, and from investigations into the social, ethical and political dimensions of archaeological practice to biographies of leading archaeologists from throughout the world. The different forms of archaeology are explored, along with the techniques used for each and the challenges, concerns and issues that face archaeologists today. The Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology has two outstanding innovations. The first is that scholars were able to submit entries in their own language. Over 300,000 words have been translated from French, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Italian, Japanese, Turkish and Russian. Many of these entries are by scholars who are publishing in English for the first time. This compendium is both a print reference and an online reference work. The encyclopedia's second major innovation is that it harnesses the capabilities of an online environment, enhancing both the presentation and dissemination of information. Most particularly, the continuous updating allowed by an online environment should ensure that the Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology is a definitive reference work for archaeology and archaeologists.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1441904654Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Search the library
The general Library of Congress call number classification for archaeology is CC. These books would be found on the third floor of Campbell Library. For antiquities of a specific area, do a subject keyword search in the library's online catalog using the specific area name and antiquities, i.e. Rome and Antiquities, or England and Antiquities.
Library Search at Rowan University Libraries
Includes all of the Libraries physical collections and most digital resources. To find books use Rowan's Library Search and limit the material type to Books. You can do this either from the Advanced Search page (use the Material Type drop-down menu on the right) or from a search results page (use the Resource Type limiter).