Literature Searches
We recommend that you use the specialized subscription databases on the library website to search for engineering "literature" (papers) because you will see only content that the library subscribes to.
However if you prefer to use Google Scholar, you can create a Google Scholar profile with your Rowan University credentials, which will give you access to the library's subscription content.
Then when you search in Google Scholar, you will see links to the right of some results labeled Full Text @Rowan University. Selecting one of these links will take you to the subscribed content.
What is LibKey Nomad?
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for the Chrome, Firefox, and Edge web browsers.
Once you install it, you can use it to download full text articles to which we subscribe, from any publisher website where you find them. (Otherwise you would need to go to the library website to access the full text if you are off campus.)
When the full text PDF is available to you, you will see a LibKey Download PDF icon in the bottom left corner of the page.
If it is not, you will see a button labeled Access Options which will direct you to our Interlibrary Loan system.
Watch the short video shown below to learn how to download the extension for the browser you use.
- LibKey Nomad InstallationVideo showing you how to install LibKey Nomad
Article Databases for Chemical Engineering
Use these subscription e-resources to locate published research in chemical engineering.
- SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowCAS database of chemical substances, reactions, and journal literature. Registration required.
Register Here. After registering, please always access SciFinder-n from here and not from the confirmation email.
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Rowan account required.
- Compendex (Engineering Index) This link opens in a new windowSearch tool for peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers in engineering.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
Finding a Specific Article
To find a specific article for which you have a citation, use the Citation Search tool.
Go to the Search Tools section of the Campbell Library homepage and select Citation Search. The Citation Search function is also available on the menu bar of the Library Search interface.
Fill out the form with the complete citation for the article - article title, author names, publication title, year, and volume/issue or DOI number.
Example:
Prothero, Donald R. Species longevity in North American fossil mammals. Integrative Zoology, August 2014. Vol. 9, Iss. 4, pages 383-393.
Enter the citation into the appropriate fields in the online form, then click on Submit in the bottom right of the page.
For this example article, there are two databases which will take you to this article: EBSCO and Wiley. EBSCO doesn't have access to articles published in the past year, but this is a 2014 article so either database will work.
Click on one of the database links to access the article.