Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Additional Library Sources for Mechanical Engineering

Additional Library Resources for Mechanical Engineering

This page includes a collection of additional resources for research in mechanical engineering.

Mechanical Engineering Reference Databases

These library databases provide essential engineering reference information.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
E-book collection of engineering reference books and related content.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online encyclopedia and learning resource providing seamless access to the world's most trusted collection of critical, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional videos, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides access to the Annual Book of Standards in online subscription format.
Collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Please note that you will be asked to agree to the license the first time your computer’s IP address connects. Once you have agreed to the terms of the license, you should not see this message again.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Physical, chemical, and materials property data and analytical tools for civil, mechanical, chemical, and electrical engineering applications.
Knovel offers physical/chemical/materials properties data, analytical tools, and full text handbooks and reference books for civil, mechanical, chemical, and electrical engineering applications.

ANSI standards search
Standards can be identified for free using this search but you have to purchase the desired standard.

Mechanical Engineering Reference Books

Many frequently used mechanical engineering reference books are available in digital format through Access Engineering. Some examples are listed below. There are physical copies located in the TJ section in the 2nd floor Reference Room of Campbell Library.

Entrepreneurship resources

Management, HR, General Business
by Research & Instruction Team Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 28 views this year

Patent Searching

Google Advanced Patent Search
Google's patent search form - the easiest way for novice searchers to find patents quickly.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Search the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office databases for issued patents: full text from 1976, full page images since 1790.

For more help with patent searching, please visit my Patent Searching research guide.

Patent Searching Guide
Guide to patent searching by the Rowan University engineering librarian.

Government Sites for Mechanical Engineering

National Institute of Standards and Technology
The source for information about U.S. government standards.
Energy Information Administration - EIA - Official Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government
The statistical and analytical agency within the US Department of Energy collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
National Technical Reports Library
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). The NTIS archives reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and others.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.