Skip to main content

Philosophy: Quick Reference

Guide to basic sources in Philosophy

Encyclopedic Resources Online

A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names

A concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy. What you will find here naturally reflects my own philosophical interests and convictions, but everything is meant to be clear, accurate, and fair, a reliable source of information on Western philosophy for a broad audience.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)

The IEP provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily forscientific experts.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

SEP, from its conception, was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected (text taken form the About page of the website).

Print Resources Available in the Library


Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999. 
Ref. B 41 C35 1999.

Dictionary of Philosophy.  New York : Gramercy Books, 1999. 
Ref. B 41 D52 1999.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  London ; New York : Routledge, 1998. 
Ref.  B 51 R68 1998, v. 1-10

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.  New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, 2003. 
Ref. B 802 E53 2003, v. 1-4


Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics.  San Diego : Academic Press, c1998. 
Ref. BJ 63 A66 1998, v.1-4


Encyclopedia of Empiricism.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997. 
B 816 E53 1997


Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.  New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. 
Ref. BH 56 E53 1998, v. 1-4


Companion encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy.  London ; New York : Routledge, 2001. 
B 121 C66 2001


Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy.  London ; New York : Routledge, 2001. 
Ref. B 121 E53 2001


Encyclopedia of Ethics.  New York : Routledge, 2001. 
Ref. BJ 63 E45 2001, v.1-3


Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy.  New York : Routledge, 2003. 
B 126 E496 2003