Skip to main content

Graduate Students: Home

Research guide for master's and PhD students at Rowan University (Glassboro campus)

Home

Doing literature searching as a graduate student

Literature searching at the graduate level requires more sophisticated options than Google. This guide will help you find better sources more effectively. 

Campbell Library

New to Rowan University? Browse the library website to learn more about our services, or view the floor plans for each floor of Campbell Library below.

Using this guide

Go to Find Articles to learn the best ways to find papers in your field.

Go to Find Journals to learn how to find or browse journals.

Go to Find Theses to learn how to find theses and dissertations. 

Go to Find Books/Reference to learn how to find books and reference works.

Be sure to check out Library Tools to learn about using Interlibrary Loan. It's indispensable for graduate students.

If writing is not your strong point, visit Writing Help for some great resources. 

 

Find Articles

Introduction to Databases

As a graduate student, your professors will expect you to find scholarly journal articles and papers on your own. If you have a complete citation or the name of a journal, visit the Find Journals section of this guide. Otherwise, you'll want to search by topic in an article database.. 

Article Databases

Subscription databases provided by the library are the best way to locate published research in your field. Here are some of the most frequently used databases for graduate studies.

Each database has its own search engine which will generate a list of journal articles and conference papers on your specified topic. In most cases the full text of the article will be available through a PDF link.

To see more database options, go to the A-Z Databases page and browse by Subject.

Tip: Getting articles

The library does not subscribe to every journal published. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

Research Strategies

Find Journals

Journals

Journals publish papers in specific, often very specialized, academic fields. Articles go through a review and acceptance process before being published.

Journals

Using the E-Journal Finder

If you are looking for a specific journal in your field and want to determine if the library subscribes to it, use our E-Journal Finder. 

Enter the name of the journal in the search box. If the library has a subscription, the results list will show which library databases offer access to the journal and for what years. 

Tip: Citation Linker

If you have a complete citation (author, article title, journal, volume, issue, date), you can use our Citation Linker form to link directly to the article.

Find Theses

About theses and dissertations

If you're writing a master's thesis or a doctoral dissertation, you'll probably want to look at previous theses or dissertations in your field. 

Although your thesis or dissertation will eventually be archived by the library, you should contact the Office of Graduate Studies with any questions about the production and approval of your thesis or dissertation.

Rowan University theses online

Rowan Digital Works serves as the digital repository for Rowan University theses and dissertations approved since 1995. Some documents may be embargoed (unavailable to the public) for 6 months to 2 years after approval. 

Finding dissertations

Use ProQuest's Digital Dissertations and Theses database to find U.S., Canadian, and European dissertations. Dissertations since 1997 are available to download.

For Rowan University dissertations, use the second link which searches the same database for only our dissertations (not all are available full text).

Bound theses

Rowan University theses and dissertations approved prior to 2011 are shelved in the Bound Periodicals section on the 1st floor of Campbell Library.

To search for theses and dissertations in the library catalog, use the Advanced Search and limit the location to: Campbell Library - Dissertations and Theses (First Floor).

Find Books/Reference

Finding books in the library

The easiest way to find a book that the library owns: search by title in ProfSearch. If your book is not the first result, refine your search to Books/E-Books in the Content Type facet in the left sidebar. 

Please note that the library does not have copies of most textbooks required for courses. However, many instructors put course reading materials on the library's Course Reserves site.

Many books are now in e-book format and can be viewed on any electronic device. To locate print books on the shelf, look for a call number beginning with a two-letter code (for example, TA). Call numbers beginning with A - J are on the 3rd floor and K - Z are on the 4th floor. 

Borrowing Books

Your Rowan card is your library card. Bring your books to the Circulation Desk on the first floor to check them out. 

Books which may be borrowed by students are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of Campbell Library by Library of Congress Class. Books in LC class A - J are on the 3rd floor, and books in LC class K - Z are on the 4th floor.

Workstations located throughout the 3rd and 4th floor stacks may be used to search for books by Subject, Title, or Author.

Here is the Library of Congress Subject Classification outline.

A - GENERAL WORKS     

B - PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION                                                                          

C - AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY                                                                  

D - HISTORY (GENERAL) & HISTORY OF EUROPE                                                                             

E - HISTORY: AMERICA                                                                                 

F - HISTORY: AMERICA (continued)

G - GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION

H - SOCIAL SCIENCES (including Business)

J - POLITICAL SCIENCE

K - LAW

L - EDUCATION

M - MUSIC

N - FINE ARTS

P - LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

Q - SCIENCE (including Mathematics & Computer Science)

R - MEDICINE

S - AGRICULTURE

T - TECHNOLOGY (Engineering)

U - MILITARY SCIENCE

V - NAVAL SCIENCE

Z - BIBLIOGRAPHY, LIBRARY SCIENCE

E-books

Our e-book collection is growing rapidly! In fact, we are purchasing most individual titles in electronic format, and have acquired many collections as well. Here are some good collections to explore.

 

Reference Works

The Reference Collection is located on the 2nd floor. Reference books may not be checked out.

The library subscribes to many databases with reference content. The list below is only a sample. 

Library Tools

Interlibrary Loan

Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.

EZ Borrow

Books which Rowan University does not own can be borrowed from one of the participating academic libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania using EZ Borrow. Use your 9-digit Banner number for Patron Id.

RefWorks

RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Simply create an account to start using it.

Visit the Using RefWorks research guide for video tutorials and help documents.

Writing Help

The Writing Center

The Rowan University Writing Center is located on the first floor of Campbell Library.

To make an appointment with a writing tutor, use the link below; call: 856-256-4376; or E-mail: writingcenter@rowan.edu.

Walk-in appointments are also available but check their hours first.

Publishing help