Research Guides: Journalism & Writing Arts: Find Articles

Academic Search Complete

This is the main, general purpose, multidisciplinary database for finding articles in scholarly journals. Articles from newspapers and magazines are also available. Be sure to check the "peer reviewed" box if you only want journal articles. This is the first step database for College Composition I assignments, and is also very useful for College Composition II assignments, as well as those in other courses. (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 6,600 journals.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news with controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner. Coverage 1923 to present.

CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference works on American government, current affairs, politics and public policy.
Contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.

Gender Watch

Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine and journal articles on the impact of gender.
Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

NewsBank World Wide

NewsBank provides full-text news and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).

NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).

New York Times

The national newspaper of record. Generally The Times reports issues in more detail than other major newspapers because it sees itself as both the cutting edge of journalism and the historical record of the era. Coverage from 1999 to the present. (Proquest)

New York Times (current) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles in The New York Times Late Edition (East Coast).
New York Times Late Edition (East Coast). Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1980 – present) is within the ProQuest Newsstand database; there are no graphics available.

New York Times Historical 1851 to 2001

Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. (Proquest)

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to The New York Times (1851 - 2017).
Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. This online format replaces the microfiche archival coverage.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. (VALE)

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Oxford English Dictionary.
The OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. Use this online source for the latest information as we are no longer updating our print copies.

PAIS International and Archive

This database provides articles related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations from 1972 to the present and is useful for journalism and other communication research topics. (CSA) VALE

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Articles, papers and reports on international public affairs topics.
PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914 with several similar databases which over the years have been merged to create the current version. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.