Skip to main content

Mathematics: Home

Guide to library research in Mathematics.

Home

Introduction

This is a guide for students looking for academic papers and books in mathematics.

Quick Start

The most commonly used library database for math papers is MathSci.

Related Guides

You  may find the following related research guides helpful.

Using this guide

Go to the Find Articles page to learn about finding journal articles and papers.

Go to the Find Journals page to learn how to find specific mathematics journals.

Go to the Find Books/Reference page to learn how to find mathematics books in the library.

Go to the Find Web Sources page to explore suggested mathematics websites.

Visit the Library Tools page to learn about interlibrary loan services and citation management software.

 

Find Articles

Using ProfSearch

The library's search engine, ProfSearch, is a good place to start if you are open to a wide variety of sources. If you are looking specifically for journal articles and conference papers, your best bet is to use one of the library databases, described in the Article Databases box below.

Tip: Getting articles

The library does not subscribe to every journal published. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

Article Databases

Use these subscription databases to search for published research in mathematics. Each database has its own search engine which will generate a list of journal articles on your specified topic. In most cases the full text of the article will be available through a PDF link.

For even more options, visit the Mathematics Databases page.

Tip: Citation Linker

If you have a complete citation (author, article title, journal, volume, issue, date), you can use our Citation Linker form to link directly to the article.

Find Journals

Need a specific journal?

If you are looking for a specific journal in your field and want to determine if the library subscribes to it, use our E-Journal Finder. 

Enter the name of the journal in the search box. If the library has a subscription, the results list will show which library databases offer access to the journal and for what years. 

Browse journals using BrowZine

Searching for Journals

To find out if the library owns a particular journal or magazine, use the library Catalog and select the Journals search. Both paper and electronic holdings are included in our catalog.

If you have determined that the library does not subscribe to the periodical you need, you may request a copy of a particular article through the Interlibrary Loan system (see Library Tools).

To browse the library's subscriptions, enter "Mathematics Periodicals" in the Subject search of the Catalog (or a more specific term such as Calculus, Algebra, etc).

E-Journals in Math

Here are a few good scholarly journals to get you started.

Print Journals

Paper copies of American Mathematical Monthly, Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, and Mathematical Spectrum are available for browsing in Campbell Library's 2nd floor Current Periodicals Room.

Back issues are kept in the 1st floor Bound Periodicals area or in some cases on microfiche on the 2nd floor. 

 

Find Books/Reference

Finding books using ProfSearch

The easiest way to find a book that the library owns: search by title in ProfSearch. If your book is not the first result, refine your search to Books/E-Books in the Content Type facet in the left sidebar. 

Please note that the library does not have copies of most textbooks required for courses. However, many instructors put course reading materials on the library's Course Reserves site.

Many books are now in e-book format and can be viewed on any electronic device. To locate print books on the shelf, look for a call number beginning with a two-letter code (for example, TA). Call numbers beginning with A - J are on the 3rd floor and K - Z are on the 4th floor. 

E-Reference

The following online subscription sources are available through the library:

Reference Books

Mathematics reference books are located in the QA section in the 2nd floor Reference Room of Campbell Library. Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and descriptive reference works are an excellent source of authoritative background material. Here are some recommendations:

Books you can check out

Books available for borrowing by students and faculty are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of Campbell Library, by Library of Congress subject classification. Books in class A-L are on the 3rd floor and those in M-Z on the 4th.

Books on math education are primarily in the math section, specifically QA11. However, they are also found in LB (theory and practice of education) and in QA1- 13. Books on computer science are in QA76. 

To search for math education books in the Library Catalog use the Library of Congress Subject Heading Mathematics - Study and teaching. This classification is also subdivided into various aspects such as secondary education and elementary education.

Find Web Sources

Have you tried Google Scholar?

Informational Websites

These sites provide free math content and news.

Open Access Publishing Sites

Open access publishing sites provide free online access to research.

Professional Organizations

These professional organization sites are a good source of information about news and issues in the math education field.

Library Tools

Interlibrary Loan

Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.

EZ Borrow

Books which Rowan University does not own can be borrowed from one of the participating academic libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania using EZ Borrow. Use your 9-digit Banner number for Patron Id.

RefWorks

RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Simply create an account to start using it.

Visit the Using RefWorks research guide for video tutorials and help documents.