Skip to main content

Health & Wellness: Welcome

This guide is designed to assist students with the location of research materials related to Health & Wellness topics.

Citation Guides

In order to avoid plagiarism in your research and school projects, it is essential that you cite all resources in the proper format.  

The below link will take you to the Rowan Libraries' Citing Your Sources page.  

This page provides links to guides which will help you formulate proper in-text citations and bibliographies in conformance to a variety of style standards as well as a link to RefWorks, a citation management tool and bibliography generator that is free to all Rowan students:

Citing Your Sources

Welcome to the Health & Wellness Research Guide!

According to the National Wellness Institute (NWI), "wellness is an active process through which people become aware of, and make choices toward, a more successful existence" (NWI, "The Six Dimensions of Wellness"). In other words, it is “a conscious, self-directed and evolving process of achieving [one's] full potential” (NWI, "The Six Dimensions of Wellness"). 

The application of this definition leads to a "multidimentional and holistic" view of health, encompassing not only physical health but also spiritual, intellectual and emotional well-being (NWI, "The Six Dimensions of Wellness").  

This guide is designed to help students locate, identify and access resources related to the full range of Health & Wellness topics and to provide assistance with the proper documentation of those resources in order to further the educational and research needs of the Rowan community.

We, at Campbell Library, hope that you find this guide helpful!

 

Some Health & Wellness Reference Resources

American Health: Demographics and Spending of Health Care Consumers
Call Number: Ref. RA445 .A442 2010
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This resource provides information and statistics on a variety of health related topics concerning the American population, including information on addictions, births, deaths, mental health, and weight and exercise.

Dictionary & Thesaurus of Environment, Health & Safety
Call Number: Ref TD169.3 .D54 1992
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor 
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This resource provides comprehensive coverage of environmental safety and health terminology and abbreviations.

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
Call Number: Ref. QP 141 .E526 1999
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor 
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This is a comprehensive resource on all aspects of nutrition.

Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: Ref. RA 790.5 E53 1998
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor 
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This three volume reference work presents brief, but thorough overviews of a large variety of mental health disorders.

Encyclopedia of Physical Education, Fitness, and Sports
Call Number: Ref GV567 .E49
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This resource provides information on the history and philosophy of health and physical education as well as information on training, nutrition, and fitness.

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion
Call Number: Ref. RA427.8 .E53 2003
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This resource provides comprehensive information related to all aspects of public health, ranging from childhood to old age.

Occupational Health and Safety : Terms, Definitions, and Abbreviations
Call Number: Ref. RC 963 .A3 C66 1999
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This resource provides information on the various aspects of health within the workplace.

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Call Number: Ref. RC55 .M4
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor
Link to Full Bibliographic Record
Description: This is a compact but comprehensive guide to diagnosing and treating a large range of medical disorders.