Research Guides: Library Research for Exercise Science: Finding News (Tertiary) Resources

Websites for News Sources

Below are some new sites and magazines that are good sources for tertiary articles. You can search for health and exercise science information on each site.

Tertiary Articles

Remember tertiary articles are for the General Public. They will often be found in science Magazines, newspapers (or news websites), or broadcast on the radio or TV.

These articles could have a broader focus than just the research and may talk about financial and political concerns around a specific topic.

Databases for News Sources

You can use the newspaper databases to look up recent news articles about a particular topic. Use them to look for great articles from different perspectives.

New York Times (current) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles in The New York Times Late Edition (East Coast).
New York Times Late Edition (East Coast). Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1980 – present) is within the ProQuest Newsstand database; there are no graphics available.
Wall Street Journal (Online) This link opens in a new window
Online e-news content from the Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones
Coverage 2010-current; the same coverage is available in the comprehensive business database ABI. (ProQuest). Older issues can be accessed through the full image database Wall Street Journal Historical.
Washington Post (1974 - current) This link opens in a new window
Online access to The Washington Post newspaper.
The Washington Post Newspaper is available through ProQuest Newspapers, with coverage from 1974 through current. To search the Washington Post for articles prior to this beginning date, go to The Washington Post Historical, which include articles from the beginning of the news paper in 1877 through 1997.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).