Skip to main content

BrowZine: BrowZine

BrowZine information and features

What is BrowZine?

BrowZine logo

 

Rowan University Libraries subscribes to BrowZine, an application compatible with all iOS and Android mobile devices that allows Rowan University researchers to browse the pages of complete issues of journals as they would on an e-reader with a book. The interface of this application encourages browsing of entire issues on tablets or mobile devices, and therefore makes serendipitous discovery -- as if physically flipping through pages -- of materials possible.

Users will be prompted to connect to Rowan University Libraries or to Cooper University Healthcare to view journals within our collection.

Users can also easily add journal titles related to their research to "My Bookshelf" and then receive notifications for new issues and new publications in their fields of study. Users can download articles for reading offline and open PDFs to manipulate page size, highlight text, and save information.

Refer to this "BrowZine Application Walkthrough" video on YouTube for a general overview:

Accessing BrowZine

Members of the Rowan University community have several ways to access BrowZine:

For use on a PC or Mac computer:

For tablet or smartphone use, download the BrowZine app via an app store:

Creating a Bookshelf

My Bookshelf is the area within BrowZine where you can organize your favorite journals so that the current issue is one click or tap away.  Choose the "Add to My Bookshelf" button when viewing a journal to add that title to My Bookshelf.  You can then organize My Bookshelf by moving the journals between multiple "shelves" and "bookcases" as well as renaming the shelves and bookcases.  When you login on any device, this configuration will automatically sync to that device and display red bubbles indicating that you have new articles available in that journal.

Having a free BrowZine Account is required for using My Bookshelf on all devices. The BrowZine Account is used to tie together your devices so that you only need to configure My Bookshelf on one device or the other (or both) and the configuration will sync seamlessly between the devices.

 

Creating a BrowZine Account:

  1. Navigate to the Rowan University BrowZine interface (using one of the access methods above)
  2. Click on "My Bookshelf" in the menu bar at the top of the BrowZine page:   ​BrowZine menu bar
  3. Click the "sign up" link.
  4. Provide your email address and a password
  5. You will receive an email containing instructions for completing BrowZine Account setup.

 

Using My Bookshelf:

  1. You need to first login to your BrowZine Account to either see or edit My Bookshelf.  To do this, simply click on the link for "My Bookshelf" in the menu bar and you will see a login link.  
  2. When you navigate to a journal title you will see a new option available to you to add the title to My Bookshelf: 

Add to my Bookshelf button

 

Once you click the "Add To My Bookshelf" button, the title will be added to the next available open slot on My Bookshelf.  You can click back on the My Bookshelf tab to move this title to a new slot if you would like to personalize the organization of My Bookshelf.

 

Refer to this "My Bookshelf Tutorial" video on YouTube for additional guidance:

[Update note: syncing between devices is now fully functional.]

My Articles

You can save articles you find on the Web, iOS, or Android versions of BrowZine into one or many collections within My Articles, which then syncs across all of the devices you use via your BrowZine Account.

The iOS and Android versions of BrowZine have the additional feature of being able to save full text PDFs for offline reading.  Due to subscription content license limitations, BrowZine Web does not have this ability, but instead provides one-click access to the full-text content for the user who can download the article to a computer for offline use.

 

Collections:

Articles within the collections can be deleted, copied and moved to other collections. New collections can be created or deleted as well.  Regardless of the device used for these operations, all changes are reflected within seconds across all devices, provided an internet connection is available.

 

Sharing Articles:

Links to articles you find on the Web, iOS or Android versions of BrowZine can be embedded in a learning management system or sent via email. 

 

Click here for instructions for using the "My Articles" feature on BrowZine Web, iOS, and Android.