Board Review BooksExamkrackers MCAT Audio SeriesMedStudy DVD SeriesFoundations of Internal MedicineMKSAP 15 Audio CD SeriesSelective Exposures in Orthopaedic Surgery CD SeriesStep 1 of the Boards CD SeriesStep 2 of the Boards CD SeriesUSMLE EasySecrets Series E-BooksRapid Review Series E-BooksFirst Aid Series E-Books
RowanSOM Only SubscriptionsFree Medical Apps & Mobile SitesProductivity Apps
This is the "Cardiology (Medicine Specialty)" page of the "4th Year SOM Required and Recommended Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

4th Year SOM Required and Recommended Resources   Tags: books, medical student, medical_education, medicine, osteopathic medicine, required books  

Required and recommended books, media, and Library resources for Rowan School of Osteopathic Medicine 4th year students.
Last Updated: Jun 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rowan.edu/fourthyearresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Cardiology (Medicine Specialty) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reserve Collection

Copies of all books and media required or recommended by faculty are available in the Reserve Collection in the Library. Some supplemental resources are also available on Reserve.

If available a link to the online version of the book is provided.

For complete book and journals holdings (print and electronic) please check the Rowan Catalogue

 

Required and Recommended Books - Director: Jerome Horowitz, D.O.

Cover Art
Braunwald's Heart Disease (Required) - Peter Libby; Robert O. Bonow; Douglas P. Zipes; Douglas L. Mann
ISBN: 9781416041047
Publication Date: 2007-10-19
Dr. Braunwald's masterwork returns ... bringing you the definitive guidance you need to overcome any challenge in clinical cardiology today, using the best approaches available! Hundreds of world authorities, many of them new to this edition, synthesize all of the recent developments that are revolutionizing practice - from the newest findings in molecular biology and genetics to the latest imaging modalities, interventional procedures, and medications. This multimedia e-dition includes not only the printed reference, but also access to the complete contents online, fully searchable, with regular updates and much more. The expertise of the contributors, the scope of the coverage, and the versatile, multimedia format all make this the ultimate reference for the practicing cardiologist. Locate the answers you need fast, thanks to a user-friendly, full-color design, complete with more than 1,500 color illustrations. Glean clinically actionable information quickly with Clinical Practice Points in every chapter. Incorporate all of the text's illustrations into your own PowerPoint® presentations with the bonus CD-ROM. Access the complete contents of the 2-volume set online, fully searchable, plus regular updates to reflect the latest clinical developments * Focused Reviews * Commentaries * Late-Breaking Trials * and more. Apply the latest knowledge in your field with 7 new chapters on Acute Heart Failure * Device Therapy of Heart Failure * Emerging Therapies for Heart Failure * Complementary and Alternative Approaches to Management * Prevention and Management of Stroke * Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy * and Coronary Arteriography Guidelines. Get fresh perspectives on your practice with contributions from more than 20 brand-new authors. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.

Cover Art
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's (Recommended) - Dale Dubin
ISBN: 9780912912066
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
The readers rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubins light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable. Practice twelve-lead tracings at the end establish self-confidence, and summarised reference sheets with examples (designed to be copied) provide an excellent review.

Cover Art
Squire's Fundamentals of Radiology (Recommended) - Robert A. Novelline
ISBN: 9780674012790
Publication Date: 2004-03-30
In the past five years, the development of new imaging technologies that make possible faster and more accurate diagnoses has significantly improved the imaging of disease and injury. This new edition of Squire’s Fundamentals of Radiology describes and illustrates these new techniques to prepare medical students and other radiology learners to provide the most optimal and up-to-date imaging management for their patients. Not only are new diagnostic techniques outlined, such as the multidetector computed tomography diagnosis of pulmonary embolism and the diffusion-weighted magnetic-resonance imaging of stroke, but hundreds of new diagnostic images have been included to illustrate the radiological characteristics of common diseases with state-of-the-art computed radiography, ultrasound, multidetector computed tomography, and magnetic-resonance images. The text has been completely reviewed and updated to present the latest and best strategies in diagnostic imaging. New interventional radiology procedures have been added, including vertebroplasty, a percutaneous injection treatment of painful spinal compression fractures; uterine artery embolization, a surgical alternative to hysterectomy in women with painful or bleeding uterine fibroids; and radiofrequency ablation, a percutaneous technique for treating unresectable tumors in the liver and other organs with probes that superheat and thus destroy cancer cells. A new chapter on advances in diagnostic imaging describes many cutting-edge imaging technologies, such as three-dimensional and digital imaging, functional magnetic-resonance imaging, PET–CT (positron emission tomography combined with computed tomography), cardiac calcium CT scoring, multidetector gated cardiac CT, and molecular imaging.

Cover Art
Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography - David G. Strauss; Galen S. Wagner
ISBN: 9781451146257
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
This 12th edition of Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography offers residents and fellows the resources they need to quickly build up their ECG interpretive skills.  Completely updated and revised to reflect the latest advances in ECG technology as well as the newest diagnostic applications  this edition also features a fully searchable website that includes animations and video clips illustrating cardiovascular disease processes and key correlations between ECG results and the heart muscle.  Smartphone users will appreciate the QR codes that are placed throughout the text to instantly take the reader to the relevant electronic content. .  Residents and fellows will have all the resources they need to quickly build their ECG interpretive skills.  FEATURES: ECG recordings, anatomical drawings, and tables deliver comprehensive guidance to the rapid and accurate interpretation of ECG results Glossaries at the end of each chapter reinforce understanding of key terminology. Companion website with animations and video clips illustrates cardiovascular disease processes, and highlights key correlations between ECG results and the heart muscle  QR codes throughout the text allow Smartphone users to scan and quickly access videos and animations  Full color, 4C interior

Cover Art
Hurst's the Heart (Recommended) - Robert Harrington; Valentin Fuster; Richard Walsh
ISBN: 9780071636469
Publication Date: 2010-12-27
The trusted landmark cardiology resource—thoroughly updated to reflect the latest clinical perspectives Includes DVD with image bank A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE for 2011! 5 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is an outstanding choice for those who strive for a firm foundation in cardiovascular medicine, as well as an up-to-date and user-friendly source that addresses every discipline in the field. The updates and enhancements to this edition have made the book easier to use."--Doody's Review Service Through thirteen editions,Hurst’s the Hearthas always represented the cornerstone of current scholarship in the discipline. Cardiologists, cardiology fellows, and internists from across the globe have relied on its unmatched authority, breadth of coverage, and clinical relevance to help optimize patient outcomes. The thirteenth edition ofHurst’s the Heartcontinues this standard-setting tradition with 19 new chapters and 59 new authors, each of whom are internationally recognized as experts in their respective content areas. Featuring an enhanced, reader-friendly design, the new edition covers need-to-know clinical advances, as well as issues that are becoming increasingly vital to cardiologists worldwide. As in previous editions, you will find the most complete overview of cardiology topics available—plus a timely new focus on evidence-based medicine, health outcomes, and health quality. New Features 1548 full-color illustrations and 578 tables Companion DVD with image bank includes key figures and tables from the text The Cardiovascular Disease: Past, Present, and Future section includes a new chapter on assessing and improving quality of care in cardiovascular medicine The section on the scientific foundations of cardiovascular medicine has been thoroughly revised 2 new chapters in the section on the evaluation of the patient detail the process of effective diagnostic decision making based on technology, clinical trials, and practice guidelines A new chapter in the section on heart failure details cardiac transplantation The sections on primary heart disease include new chapters on topics such as preventive strategies for coronary artery disease and updated pharmacologic strategies for acute coronary syndromes The section on cardiopulmonary disease features new chapters on chronic cor pulmonale and sleep disorder breathing and its relationship to cardiovascular disease The section on valvular heart disease has four of the six chapter completely rewritten by new authors who are authorities in the field The final six sections feature new chapters on the environment and heart disease, surgical treatment of carotid and peripheral vascular disease and cost effective strategies in cardiology

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip