Skip to main content

Marketing & MIS Research

Resources for the study of all aspects of management and MIS (management information systems), including books, databases of journal and newspaper articles, and recommended websites.

Home - Business Databases

Start Here - Search Business Databases

Library databases are collections of articles, reports, or information that are not easily available for free via a Google search. These licensed resources are purchased by the library for use by our students, faculty, and staff, and thus require you to login with your Rowan credentials. Click the links below to start your research on companies, industries, consumers, and more!

Bloomberg terminals in Bunce Hall

Additional Databases, such as Bloomberg (in Bunce Hall Room 156) and Capital IQ (online access by specially assigned username/password only) are available in the Rohrer College of Business for certain courses. Contact your professor for more information.

Welcome & Some Tips for Class Assignments in Marketing and MIS

Not all marketing research questions can be answered by Google!  On the pages of this guide you will find suggested databases to search, as well as specific books and journals that will be important to your research. This research guide has multiple sections, so please explore the whole site for more information.  

Remember to always start your search from the Campbell Library home page.

Company Research is found in Mergent OnlinePrivcoHoovers, and PassportGMID (see database links in box above). Also, try the ReferenceUSA Company Search Tutorial (esp. for finding local companies).

SWOT analyses can be found in multiple places:

In Business Source Elite, to find SWOT analyses of particular companies, choose 'Company Profiles' from top blue menu before searching, then pick company from the list. Each company's MarketLine PDF contains a SWOT section.

In ABI/Inform, to find SWOT analyses, use the ABI/Inform SWOT tutorial. ABI/Inform also has a tutorial on G20 country statistics in spreadsheets.

In Mergent Online, also look at the 'Government Filings' tab to find companies' annual 10-K reports to the SEC, in which they will also explain some of their business risks.

(These are all 'best databases' and linked in the box above).

Search for your NAICS codes here http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/

Try the new Census Business Builder: Regional Edition for demographics of our local area. Choose the 'businesses' tab or the 'consumer spending' tab to see the payroll, size, and revenue of companies in our area in a particular industry, or to find out consumer expenditures on entertainment, travel, personal products and more, all categorized by county and region.

Some useful data in Market Share Reporter 2015 ebook edition (search for your topic or company 'within this directory').

Business Plans examples are in Business Plans Handbook (32-volume ebook from Gale), which has basic formats for every industry.

Check out our ever-growing list of e-books and print books from the library on how to write a business plan.

The popular NOLO Business Start-up books such as Marketing without Advertising are in the Small Business Reference Center database.

For ideas for marketing classes, try WARC's 100 world's best marketing campaigns

And don't forget to prepare your business model/business plan (fall) and elevator pitch (spring) for each year's competitions at Rowan!

Need to cite a business database for your bibliography?  Use the tips located here http://libguides.bentley.edu/citingsources-apa under each yellow bar.

Find Print Books and Ebooks

Books of Interest for Marketing Researchers

The titles below are all linked to more details, for either the print version of the book or the e-book (online reading). For e-books, after clicking on the title, you will be asked for your Rowan username and password. Did you know that we have hundreds of ebooks on marketing topics? Search for them on the library home page, using the E-book Finder. Also try the lists of ebooks by each publisher, such as Credo (business reference) and Ebrary (various items) and Sage (research methods).

Subject Headings for Marketing Books

Using the library's catalog, you can conduct subject searches which will result in a list of titles that focus on the topic you have keyed in.  From the library's homepage under the Find menu item, simply click on Catalog.  The list below includes just some of the bigger topics of inquiry in the field of marketing.

Marketing Research

Internet Marketing

Interviews or Focus Groups

Market Surveys

Motivation Research (Marketing)
 

World Cat Search for Items not Owned by Rowan

Search other universities' library catalogs:

If Rowan does not own the item, ask us!  http://www.lib.rowan.edu/services/ill

Find Journal Articles and News

Find Articles in Business Databases

Library databases are collections of articles, reports, or information that are not easily available for free via a Google search. These licensed resources are purchased by the library for use by our students, faculty, and staff, and thus require you to login with your Rowan credentials. Click the links below to start your research on companies, industries, consumers, and more!

Bloomberg terminals in Bunce Hall

Additional Databases, such as Bloomberg (in Bunce Hall Room 156) and Capital IQ (online access by specially assigned username/password only) are available in the Rohrer College of Business for certain courses. Contact your professor for more information.

Marketing & MIS Journals to Browse

Browse by clicking on the dates of each journal's issues, or search for a keyword within that journal's articles.  If you are off campus, you will be required to authenticate by logging in with your Rowan user name and password.

Remember, the links below are for individual journals that you can browse. In order to search multiple journals at once, use the Best Databases for Marketing & Management Information Systems link, or the All Business Databases at Rowan link.

Find Articles in Business Newspapers

The websites of major newspapers often do not have the same contents as the printed or subscribed versions of those newspapers. Websites often include user-generated content like comments, blogs, etc. in addition to real articles from journalists. Use these databases to find the official versions of newspaper articles which have been editor-reviewed.

As always, request other books or articles that Rowan does not own by using the forms on the Interlibrary Loan page, http://www.lib.rowan.edu/services/ill

Specifically for Sales Force

Journals about Professional Sales

Databases and Journals

Try PolicyMap database!

Try ReferenceUSA database!

Example report from Small Business Reference Center database about retail apparel.

Subject headings in the library catalog include Sales Promotion

Want more tips for the Sales Force class? Just email the business librarian -- kowalsky@rowan.edu

And don't forget ... Learn with Lynda.com

Tutorials for Business Databases

Contact Subject Librarian