Skip to main content

Newspapers - Historical

Listed are links to licensed content and to some freely available newspapers.

Introduction

Introduction


This Library Guide gathers links to Historical Newspapers, which have been digitized and are now available online. The listed resources include major national and international newspapers-of-record, as well as multiple newspaper databases with searching and browsing capabilities.

Click the left tab to jump to a separate guide listing current news sites. Resources found on these pages include links to the websites of various newspapers, both subscribed and freely available. 

 

Jump to Current Newspapers

Alphabetical Listing (A-Z)

Newspapers Listed Alphabetically

Loading

African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers

AFRO

Indianapolis Recorder

A historical African American newspaper

Subscription Based search Tools

Civil War Era Newspapers

Civil War Era Newspapers

Databases & Search Engines, Worldwide

Subscribed Databases and Search Tools

Web Based Search Englines

Google Newspaper Archives

Google Newspaper Archives

Hebrew and Yiddish Language News

Historical Hebrew and Yiddish Language Newspapers

Major Newspapers (National & Int'l)

Major U.S. Historical Newspapers

Mexican American

Mexican American Newspapers

Historic Mexican and Mexican-American Press

Digitized and maintained by the University of Arizona

National & Research Libraries

National and Research Libraries

Newspapers by State

Newspapers By States

HAWAII

Hawaiian Language Newspapers

Hawaiian language newspapers presented by the University of Hawaii Digital Archives project.

PENNSYLVANIA

LancasterHistory.org Digital Newspapers

A collection of historical newspapers digitized and made available online by the Lancaster Historical Society.

Richmond Daily Dispatch

There are currently 1384 issues of the paper available online, ranging in date from November 1860 through December 1865.

Loading

National Collections

Newspapers on Microfilm in the Library

Newspapers on Microfilm, available at Rowan University, Campbell Library

Newspapers

Philadelphia Inquirer 1977-

Pittsburgh Courier 1927-1994

Times of London 1788-1980

Terms, Contact & Guide Info

Site Information

This library guide was created and is maintained by Bruce Whitham to provide access to current and historical Newspapers sites containing e-books, or directing the users to ebooks on other sites.  Ebooks are the digitized versions of texts made available online.  E-books may be are freely accessible or offered through subscription. This Library Guide focuses on freely available materials.

Note that Rowan University makes no claim to freely available websites to which this guide links, nor does it accept responsibility for the information or opinions expressed by those who have created or authored the content or by those who are quoted on the sites.

Using this guide implies agreement to our Terms of Use. If you do not agree you are required to leave the page. 

Rowan University Library Guides are hosted on the Springshare LibGuides Portal, to which Rowan University Library Services subscribes.  Please send comments, suggestions, corrections to us at Rowan via email


Contact Information
Bruce Whitham, Research & Instructional Services. Email: Whitham@rowan.edu. Tel: 856-256-4979