Select Geriatric DatabasesSelect Geriatric E-BooksSelect Geriatric E-JournalsRowanSOM ResourcesSelected Geriatrics BooksSelected Internet Resources on GeriatricsPatient Information
Board Review BooksExamkrackers MCAT Audio SeriesMedStudy DVD SeriesFoundations of Internal MedicineMKSAP 15 Audio CD SeriesSelective Exposures in Orthopaedic Surgery CD SeriesStep 1 of the Boards CD SeriesStep 2 of the Boards CD SeriesUSMLE EasySecrets Series E-BooksRapid Review Series E-BooksFirst Aid Series E-Books
RowanSOM Only SubscriptionsFree Medical Apps & Mobile SitesProductivity Apps
This is the "Cardiology Module" page of the "2nd Year SOM Required and Recommended Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

2nd Year SOM Required and Recommended Resources   Tags: books, medical student, medical_education, medicine, omm, osteopathic medicine, pathology, pharmacology, physical diagnosis, required books  

Required and recommended books, media, and Library resources for the SOM 2nd year students for the 2013 - 2014 academic year.
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rowan.edu/secondyearresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Cardiology Module Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Media

 

Reserve Collection

Copies of all books and media required or recommended by faculty are available in the Reserve Collection in the Library. Some supplemental resources are also available on Reserve.

If available a link to the online version of the book is provided.

For complete book and journals holdings (print and electronic) please check the Rowan Catalog

 

Required and Recommended Books - Module Director: John Hamaty, D.O.

Cover Art
Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography - David G. Strauss; Galen S. Wagner
ISBN: 9781451146257
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
This 12th edition of Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography offers residents and fellows the resources they need to quickly build up their ECG interpretive skills.  Completely updated and revised to reflect the latest advances in ECG technology as well as the newest diagnostic applications  this edition also features a fully searchable website that includes animations and video clips illustrating cardiovascular disease processes and key correlations between ECG results and the heart muscle.  Smartphone users will appreciate the QR codes that are placed throughout the text to instantly take the reader to the relevant electronic content. .  Residents and fellows will have all the resources they need to quickly build their ECG interpretive skills.  FEATURES: ECG recordings, anatomical drawings, and tables deliver comprehensive guidance to the rapid and accurate interpretation of ECG results Glossaries at the end of each chapter reinforce understanding of key terminology. Companion website with animations and video clips illustrates cardiovascular disease processes, and highlights key correlations between ECG results and the heart muscle  QR codes throughout the text allow Smartphone users to scan and quickly access videos and animations  Full color, 4C interior

Cover Art
Braunwald's Heart Disease (Recommended) - Robert O. Bonow; Douglas L. Mann; Douglas P. Zipes; Peter Libby
ISBN: 9781437703986
Publication Date: 2011-02-16
Braunwald's Heart Disease remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of contemporary cardiology. Edited by Drs. Robert O. Bonow, Douglas L. Mann, Douglas P. Zipes, and Peter Libby, this dynamic, multimedia reference helps you apply the most recent knowledge in molecular biology and genetics, imaging, pharmacology, interventional cardiology, electrophysiology, and much more. Weekly updates online, personally selected by Dr. Braunwald, continuously keep you current on the most important new developments affecting your practice. Enhanced premium online content includes new dynamic cardiac imaging videos, heart sound recordings, and podcasts. With sweeping updates throughout, and contributions from a "who's who" of global cardiology, Braunwald's is the cornerstone of effective practice. Continuously access the most important new developments affecting your practice with weekly updates personally selected by Dr. Braunwald, including focused reviews, "hot off the press" commentaries, and late-breaking clinical trials. Practice with confidence and overcome your toughest challenges with advice from the top minds in cardiology today, who synthesize the entire state of current knowledge and summarize all of the most recent ACC/AHA practice guidelines. Locate the answers you need fast thanks to a user-friendly, full-color design with more than 1,200 color illustrations. Search the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com. Stay on top of the latest advances in molecular imaging, intravascular ultrasound, cardiovascular regeneration and tissue engineering, device therapy for advanced heart failure, atrial fibrillation management, structural heart disease, Chagasic heart disease, ethics in cardiovascular medicine, the design and conduct of clinical trials, and many other timely topics. Hone your clinical skills with new dynamic cardiac imaging videos, heart sound recordings, and podcasts at www.expertconsult.com. Braunwald's Heart Disease continues to provide THE BEST cardiology information with expanded premium multimedia features, extensively revised content, and new global experts.

Cover Art
Cardiovascular Physiology (Recommended) - Matthew N. Levy; Achilles J. Pappano; Mark T. Nelson; Withrow Gil Wier
ISBN: 9780323034463
Publication Date: 2006-09-12
The Mosby Physiology Monograph Series offers the fundamentals of body systems physiology in a clear and concise manner. Each volume in the series is written by experts in the field for an authoritative, yet readable introduction to the physiology relevant to a particular organ system. This new 9th edition of Cardiovascular Physiology offers: . Clear, accurate and up-to-the-minute coverage of the physiology of the cardiovascular system focusing on the needs of the student. . Pathophysiology content throughout that serves as a bridge between normal function and disease. . Integrated student-friendly tools, including learning objectives, overview boxes, key words and concepts, chapter summaries, and clinical cases with questions and explained answers . Access to Student Consult ! www.studentconsult.com is an innovative website that allows you to build a personalized, fully integrated, online library, where you'll find the entire contents of every STUDENT CONSULT title purchased, integration links to bonus content in other STUDENT CONSULT titles, and much more.

Cover Art
Principles of Surgery (Recommended) - Seymour I. Schwartz; Timothy Billiar; Jeffrey Matthews; Dana K. Andersen; David L. Dunn; F. Charles Brunicardi; John G. Hunter; Dana Andersen; Timothy R. Billiar; David Dunn; John Hunter; Jeffrey B. Matthews; Raphael E. Pollock; F. Brunicardi
ISBN: 9780071547697
Publication Date: 2009-09-11
The #1 surgical practice and education resource -- completely updated and now in full-color! A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE for 2011! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "In its evolution over nine editions,Schwartz's Principles of Surgeryhas reflected the latest in surgical practice. In the age of minimally invasive surgery, illustrations are important and these authors include a wealth of visual material of good to excellent quality."--Doody's Review Service Written by the world's foremost practitioners and instructors, this landmark reference logically progresses from basic science principles, including topics such as cells, genomics, and molecular surgery, to clinical areas such as pancreas. From cover to cover, the book reflects a distinctly modern approach in the dissemination of surgical knowledge, providing up-to-date coverage of all key surgical areas, from trauma and transplantation, to neurosurgery. In each chapter, this content is supported by a skill-building format that includes boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, an abundance of informative tables, and key references. For every kind of procedure, this one-of-a-kind clinical companion helps you meet the sequential demands in the care of surgical patients, leading to the best possible outcomes. NEW TO THIS EDITION: Full color design for easier navigation 2 new chapters: “Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Core Competencies,” examines the six areas designated as critical for general surgery resident training and “Ethics, Palliative Care, and Care at the End of Life,” offers an overview of biomedical ethics, and surveys specific issues in surgical and professional ethics, the general principles and considerations of palliative care, and care at the end of life Greater focus on evidence-based medicine with highlighted references in each chapter and separate key reference list Increased number of treatment and diagnostic algorithms Key points in every chapter International advisory board comprising renowned surgeons contributes important regional feedback on content and curricula Companion DVD of surgical video clips

Cover Art
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine (Recommended) - Dan L. Longo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen L. Hauser; J. Larry Jameson; Joseph Loscalzo
ISBN: 9780071748896
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
The most trusted textbook in medicine -- featuring the acclaimed "Harrisons" DVD with 57 additional chapters and exclusive video and tutorials "Now presented in TWO VOLUMES" As reviwed by JAMA: "With the 18th edition, "Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine" retains its standing as a definitive clinical reference and remains an outstanding foundation for any physician or physician-in-training. In many regards, "Harrisons" remains synonymous not just with internal medicine but with medicine in general. The editors of the 18th edition have skillfully balanced tradition with the desire and need for innovation. The result is a book that remains as fundamental to current medical practice as the first edition was in 1949." --JAMA Extensively revised and expanded by the worlds leading physicians, "Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine, 18e" continues to set the standard as the pinnacle of current medical knowledge and practice, offering the definitive review of disease mechanisms and management. CURRENT All chapters have been completely updated to reflect the latest knowledge and evidence, and important new chapters have been added, including: "Systems Biology in Health and Disease," "The Human Microbiome," "The Biology of Aging," and "Neuropsychiatric Illnesses in War Veterans." CONNECTED "Harrisons" covers more global aspects of medicine than any other textbook, and features such chapters as "Global Issues in Medicine," by Jim Yong Kim, Paul Farmer, and Joseph Rhatigan, and new to the 18th edition, "Primary Care in Low and Middle Income Countries." COMPREHENSIVE No other resource delivers coverage of disease mechanisms and management like "Harrisons," including world-renowned chapters on HIV/AIDS, STEMI and non-STEMI myocardial infarction, cancer biology, multiple sclerosis, and diabetes. The "Harrisons" Multi-Media DVD-- Better Than Ever The "Harrisons" DVD has been expanded to include an extensive video demonstration of the neurological physical examination, and video tutorials on how to perform essential clinical procedures, including: Thoracentesis Abdominal Paracentesis Endotracheal Intubation Central Venous Catheter Placement 57 additional chapters and more than 2,000 images make the companion DVD an essential part of every physicians education, practice, and lifelong learning.The DVD also features PowerPoint presentations from fifty chapters to facilitate classroom lectures, and a free trial subscription to AccessMedicine.com (including Harrisons Online). "Harrisons 18e" is proud to present a tribute to longtime editor, Eugene Braunwald, MD for his outstanding and continuing contributions to medical knowledge and practice.

Cover Art
Understanding Heart Sounds and Murmurs with an Introduction to Lung Sounds (Recommended) - Ara G. Tilkian; Mary Boudreau Conover
ISBN: 9780721676432
Publication Date: 2001-04-03
Now in a new edition, this popular reference provides the perfect way to enhance your skills in recognizing normal and abnormal heart and lung sounds. It shows you where to listen for a particular sound, how to recognize an abnormality, and how to interpret what you have heard. You will be able to translate clicks, snaps, crackles, and knocks-into an accurate assessment.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip