E-Books about Offshore Wind Power at Campbell Library
Design of Foundations for Offshore Wind Turbines by
Comprehensive reference covering the design of foundations for offshore wind turbines As the demand for "green" energy increases the offshore wind power industry is expanding at a rapid pace around the world. Design of Foundations for Offshore Wind Turbines is a comprehensive reference which covers the design of foundations for offshore wind turbines, and includes examples and case studies. It provides an overview of a wind farm and a wind turbine structure, and examines the different types of loads on the offshore wind turbine structure. Foundation design considerations and the necessary calculations are also covered. The geotechnical site investigation and soil behavior/soil structure interaction are discussed, and the final chapter takes a case study of a wind turbine and demonstrates how to carry out step by step calculations. Key features: New, important subject to the industry. Includes calculations and case studies. Accompanied by a website hosting software and data files. Design of Foundations for Offshore Wind Turbines is a must have reference for engineers within the renewable energy industry and is also a useful guide for graduate students in this area.
ISBN: 9781119128120Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Offshore Wind: a comprehensive guide to successful offshore wind farm installation by
Offshore Wind is the first-ever roadmap to successful offshore wind installation. It provides a ready reference for wind project managers, teaching them how to deal with complications on-site, as well as for financers, who can utilize the text as an easy guide to asking the pivotal questions of petitioning wind project developers. These developers' planning stages will be improved by the book's expert advice on how to avoid wasting money by scoping out and mitigating potential problems up-front. Wind turbine manufacturers will benefit from insights into design optimization to support cheaper installation and hauling, thereby incurring lower project costs, and helping developers establish a quicker route to profitability. The book sheds light not just on how to solve a particular installation difficulty, but delves into why the problem may best be solved in that way.
ISBN: 0124104223Publication Date: 2014-08-11
Offshore Wind Energy Generation by
The offshore wind sector's trend towards larger turbines, bigger wind farm projects and greater distance to shore has a critical impact on grid connection requirements for offshore wind power plants. This important reference sets out the fundamentals and latest innovations in electrical systems and control strategies deployed in offshore electricity grids for wind power integration. Includes: All current and emerging technologies for offshore wind integration and trends in energy storage systems, fault limiters, superconducting cables and gas-insulated transformers Protection of offshore wind farms illustrating numerous system integration and protection challenges through case studies Modelling of doubly-fed induction generators (DFIG) and full-converter wind turbines structures together with an explanation of the smart grid concept in the context of wind farms Comprehensive material on power electronic equipment employed in wind turbines with emphasis on enabling technologies (HVDC, STATCOM) to facilitate the connection and compensation of large-scale onshore and offshore wind farms Worked examples and case studies to help understand the dynamic interaction between HVDC links and offshore wind generation Concise description of the voltage source converter topologies, control and operation for offshore wind farm applications Companion website containing simulation models of the cases discussed throughout Equipping electrical engineers for the engineering challenges in utility-scale offshore wind farms, this is an essential resource for power system and connection code designers and pratitioners dealing with integation of wind generation and the modelling and control of wind turbines. It will also provide high-level support to academic researchers and advanced students in power and renewable energy as well as technical and research staff in transmission and distribution system operators and in wind turbine and electrical equipment manufacturers.
ISBN: 1118539621Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Offshore Wind Energy Technology by
A COMPREHENSIVE REFERENCE TO THE MOST RECENT ADVANCEMENTS IN OFFSHORE WIND TECHNOLOGY Offshore Wind Energy Technology offers a reference based on the research material developed by the acclaimed Norwegian Research Centre for Offshore Wind Technology (NOWITECH) and material developed by the expert authors over the last 20 years. This comprehensive text covers critical topics such as wind energy conversion systems technology, control systems, grid connection and system integration, and novel structures including bottom-fixed and floating. The text also reviews the most current operation and maintenance strategies as well as technologies and design tools for novel offshore wind energy concepts. The text contains a wealth of mathematical derivations, tables, graphs, worked examples, and illustrative case studies. Authoritative and accessible, Offshore Wind Energy Technology: Contains coverage of electricity markets for offshore wind energy and then discusses the challenges posed by the cost and limited opportunities Discusses novel offshore wind turbine structures and floaters Features an analysis of the stochastic dynamics of offshore/marine structures Describes the logistics of planning, designing, building, and connecting an offshore wind farm Written for students and professionals in the field, Offshore Wind Energy Technology is a definitive resource that reviews all facets of offshore wind energy technology and grid connection.
ISBN: 1119097762Publication Date: 2018-05-29
Offshore Wind Farms : technologies, design and operation by
Offshore Wind Farms: Technologies, Design and Operation provides the latest information on offshore wind energy, one of Europe's most promising and quickly maturing industries, and a potentially huge untapped renewable energy source which could contribute significantly towards EU 20-20-20 renewable energy generation targets. It has been estimated that by 2030 Europe could have 150GW of offshore wind energy capacity, meeting 14% of our power demand. Offshore Wind Farms: Technologies, Design and Operation provides a comprehensive overview of the emerging technologies, design, and operation of offshore wind farms. Part One introduces offshore wind energy as well as offshore wind turbine siting with expert analysis of economics, wind resources, and remote sensing technologies. The second section provides an overview of offshore wind turbine materials and design, while part three outlines the integration of wind farms into power grids with insights to cabling and energy storage. The final section of the book details the installation and operation of offshore wind farms with chapters on condition monitoring and health and safety, amongst others.
ISBN: 0081007795Publication Date: 2016-03-08
Finding a Book by Topic
Use the search box labeled Library Search on the Campbell Library home page (www.lib.rowan.edu/campbell) to search for books.
Enter topic keywords in the Library Search box, such as "electric vehicles."
When the results list is displayed, go to the left sidebar to refine your results.
Limit to books by checking Books under the Resource Type limiter, then selecting Apply Filter. (In some cases you may have to use the Show More button to see the Books resource type.)
Click on the availability link of the book you are interested in, which may be Available Online or Available in Campbell Library Stacks.
To limit further to e-books only, check the box for Available Online under the Limit To facet.
To limit further to print books only, check the box for Held in the Library under the Limit To facet.