This comparison table is designed to help in deciding which citation manager works best for you.
|
|
Zotero |
Mendeley |
EndNote |
EndNote Web |
RefWorks |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Access |
Zotero software with browser add-on (Firefox and Chrome). |
Desktop software, but can sync with an online account which is editable |
Desktop software with an online version (EndNote Web) |
Web-based |
Web-based |
|
Where is my database stored? |
Local computer with web based syncing between computers. |
Local computer with web based syncing between computers |
Local Computer with cloud storage and syncing via EndNote Web |
Web-based |
Web-based |
|
How does it work? |
Detect citations that can be captured from databases or web pages. Search and import records using PMID, DOI, or ISBN. Extract citation information from PDFs. |
Import from many popular databases. Extract citation information from PDFs. |
Export from databases into EndNote. Can search catalogs from within EndNote. |
Browser bookmarklet can import from many databases. Can also import using text files |
Browser bookmarklet can import from many databases. Can also import using text files |
|
Ability to work offline |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
No |
|
Cost |
Free to anyone |
Free to Rowan faculty, students, and staff |
Free to Rowan faculty, students, and staff
|
Free to Rowan faculty, students, and staff |
Free to Rowan faculty, students, and staff |
|
|
Zotero |
Mendeley |
EndNote |
EndNote Web |
RefWorks |
|
Word-processor compatibility |
MS Word, Google Docs, Open Office |
MS Word, Open Office, LaTex |
Microsoft Word, OpenOffice (EndNote X3+), Pages (X4+) |
MS Word |
MS Word and Google docs |
|
Import from Library databases |
Yes |
Yes |
Direct export from specific databases |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Import from Library Catalog |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Get Full-Text from Rowan Integration |
Yes |
No |
Yes, but must be configured. See handout for details. |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Import citation info from web pages |
Yes, also archives the page and you can add annotations |
Yes, with a bookmark for a limited number of sites (mostly publishers or databases) |
No |
Yes, with bookmarklet |
Yes with bookmarklet |
|
Manage large libraries |
Easy |
Moderate to difficult |
Easy |
Moderate to difficult |
Easy |
|
Storage capacity |
Unlimited local storage. |
Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 2GB personal and 100MB group free Mendeley file syncing |
Unlimited local storage. Software purchase provides term access to unlimited storage via EndNote Web |
Limited to 10,000 citations |
Unlimited |
|
|
Zotero |
Mendeley |
EndNote |
EndNote Web |
RefWorks |
|
Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.) |
Yes, with option to attach automatically |
Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Search full text of PDFs |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
Yes |
|
PDF Annotation and Notes |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
No |
Yes |
|
Create group or shared libraries |
Yes |
Yes, but limit of 3 members in a private group |
No, but can share through EndNote Web |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Create bibliography w/ different styles |
Yes, limited number included by default; hundreds can be downloaded from Zotero.org |
Yes |
Yes, hundreds of styles available. |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Edit output styles |
Extremely difficult |
No |
Easy |
No |
Yes |
|
Strengths |
- Easy to learn -Quick for collecting citations and organizing PDFs - Free unlimited storage - User friendly features such as tagging, attachments, and notes.
|
- Automatic citation extraction from PDFs - Sync library over multiple computers - Sync with Zotero library automatically |
- Best for organizing large collections of citations and managing PDFs - Wide variety of citation styles - Easily customized |
- Easy to work in multiple locations - Easy to share access with colleagues |
-Easy to learn and organize research -Easy to share with colleagues -Unlimited storage -Customer support is responsive |
Adapted with permission from “Choosing a Citation Manager,” copyright © 2011 The Pennsylvania State University.