Art Research Guide

Research Guides

• Arntzen, Etta, and Robert Rainwater.  Guide to the Literature of Art History.  Chicago: American Library Association, 1979.  [Ref. Z 5931 A67]

• Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information and the Internet : How to Find It, How to Use It.  Phoenix: Oryx Press, c1999.  [N 59 .J66 1999]

• Kleinbauer, W. Eugene.  Research Guide to the History of Western Art.  Chicago: American Library Association, 1982.  [N 380 K56 1982]

• Marmor, Max. Guide to the Literature of Art History 2. Chicago: American Library Association, 2005. [Z 5931 .M374 2005]

• Pollard, Elizabeth B. Visual Arts Research : a Handbook. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. [N 85 .P55 1986]

• Van Keuren, Frances.  Guide to Research in Classical Art and Mythology.  Chicago: American Library Association, 1991.  [N 7760 .V3 1991]

Bibliographies

• Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art.  Available online from the Getty Research Institute.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

• Dictionary of Art. 34 vols. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996. [Ref. N 31 .D5 1996]   Available online as: Grove Art Online

• Dictonary of Women Artists.  London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.  [Ref. N 8354 D53 1997]

• Encyclopdedia of Aesthetics. 4 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998 [Ref. BH 56 .E53 1998]  Available online as part of: Oxford Art Online

• Encyclopedia of World Art.  15 vols.  New York: McGraw-Hill, 1959-1987.  [Ref. N 31 .E533]

• Guide to Art.  London: Bloomsbury, 1996.  [N 33 .G85 1996eb]  Available online as part of Credo Reference

• Liungman, Carl G.  Dictionary of Symbols.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1991  [Ref. BL 603 .L5413 1991]  Available online as: Encyclopedia of Western Signs and Ideograms

• Lucie-Smith, Edward.  The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms.  London: Thames & Hudson, 2003.  [N 33 .L75 2003eb]   Available online as part of Credo Reference

• Morgan, Ann Lee.  The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists.  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. [Ref. N 6505 .M59 2007]

• Oxford Classical Dictionary. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, c2003. [Ref. DE5 .O9 2003] 

• Oxford Companion to Western Art. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. [N 33 .O923 2001]  Available online as part of: Oxford Art Online

• Oxford Dictionary of Art.  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1988 [Ref. N 33 .O93 1988]

• Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History.  New York: Penguin, 2001  [N 5300 .F64 2000]

• Pierce, James Smith.  From Abacus to Zeus: a Handbook of Art History.  Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1998  [Ref. N 33 .P5 1998]

History

• Atlas of World Art. edited by John Onians. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. [Ref. Atlas Case G1046.E1 O9 2004]

• Oxford History of Western Art.  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000  [N 5300 .O946 2000]

• Wölfflin, Heinrich.  Principles of Art History.  Trans. by M.D. Hottinger. New York: Dover, 1950  [N 5300 .W82]

Technical Manuals

• Mayer, Ralph. The Artist's Handbook of Materials and Techniques.  5th ed.  New York: Viking, 1991. [ND 1500 .M3 1991]

Writing Handbooks

• Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing About Art. 9th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson-Prentice Hall, 2008. [N 7476 .B37 2008]

• Sayre, Henry M. Writing About Art. 6th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson-Prentice Hall, 2009. [N 7476 .S29 2009]