Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Students

Research guide for master's and PhD students at Rowan University (Glassboro campus)

Searching the Literature

As a graduate student, your professors will expect you to find scholarly journal articles and papers on your own. 

A great way to become familiar with journals in your research area is to use BrowZine. Drill down through the subjects, choose a journal to explore by selecting its cover image, then start browsing articles.

Article Databases

Subscription databases provided by the library are the best way to locate published research in your field. Here are some of the most frequently used databases for graduate studies.

Each database has its own search engine which will generate a list of journal articles and conference papers on your specified topic. In most cases the full text of the article will be available through a PDF link.

The library subscribes to over 300 databases and electronic resources.  To see more database options, go to the A-Z Databases page and browse by Subject.

Research Methods, Tests, and Measures

Finding a Specific Article

To find a specific article for which you have a citation, use the Citation Search tool. 

Go to the Search Tools section of the Campbell Library homepage and select Citation Search. The Citation Search function is also available on the menu bar of the Library Search interface.

Fill out the form with the complete citation for the article - article title, author names, publication title, year, and volume/issue or DOI number.

Example: 

Prothero, Donald R. Species longevity in North American fossil mammals. Integrative Zoology, August 2014. Vol. 9, Iss. 4, pages 383-393.

Enter the citation into the appropriate fields in the online form, then click on Submit in the bottom right of the page.

For this example article, there are two databases which will take you to this article: EBSCO and Wiley. EBSCO doesn't have access to articles published in the past year, but this is a 2014 article so either database will work.

Click on one of the database links to access the article.

 

 

Using Grey Literature