Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Relations & Advertising: Welcome

This guide covers the theory, practice and history of advertising and public relations.

Researching Brands

There are many ways to research brands, their competitors, and company histories. Use the tabs above for more tips.

Try these library databases to see what types of information are in each resource.  For example,

  • In the Hoovers or Mergent Online database, try a search for PepsiCo, Inc.
  • In the PrivCo database, search for Trader Joe's
  • In the Mergent Archive database, search for Nike

If you choose a large company, you will also find a completed SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats) analysis in the Business Source Elite database. Click on the Company Profiles (top menu item) and then search the company name.

Remember, links to all of these licensed resources and more are available on the Campbell Library home page. Always keep an eye out for new databases listed on the Public Relations and Advertising database list. Open the 'plus signs' for more descriptions of any of these licensed resources.

Also try the online Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media for business contacts or job prospects. Look for it in the database list or in Library Search.

Lynda.com software training