Skip to main content

Biomedical Engineering: Home

Library research guide for biomedical engineering.

Home

New - Video Tutorials for engineering students!

Welcome to the Biomedical Engineering Research Guide!

Go to Find Articles to learn how find scientific papers in biomedical engineering.

Go to Find Journals to learn how to find biomedical engineering journals. 

Go to Find Books to learn how to find biomedical engineering books.

Go to Find Government Info to learn how to find government information related to biomedical engineering.

Go to Tools to learn about some useful library tools.
 

 

 

Quick Start

A good place to begin your literature search is with a multi-disciplinary science database like Scopus.

Find Articles

Article Databases

Use these subscription databases to locate published research in Biomedical Engineering. 

Each database has its own search engine which will generate a list of journal articles and conference proceedings on your specified topic. In most cases the full text of the article will be available through a PDF link. 

Tip: Getting articles

The library does not subscribe to every journal published. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

Using ProfSearch

The library's search engine, ProfSearch, is a good place to start if you are open to a wide variety of sources. If you are looking specifically for journal articles and conference papers, your best bet is to use one of the library databases, described in the Article Databases box.

Find Journals

Finding a journal by title

If you are looking for a specific journal in your field and want to determine if the library subscribes to it, use our E-Journal Finder. 

Enter the name of the journal in the search box. If the library has a subscription, the results list will show which library databases offer access to the journal and for what years. 

Browse engineering journals

Tip: Citation Linker

If you have a complete citation (author, article title, journal, volume, issue, date), you can use our Citation Linker form to link directly to the article.

Biomedical Engineering Journals

To search for biomedical engineering journals in electronic format, use the E-Journals search. Use the subject list to select the category Engineering and Applied Science > Mechanical Engineering > Bioengineering.

To search for biomedical engineering journals in any format, including print, use the library Catalog search. If you know the name of the journal, use the Journal Title (Exact) search. Otherwise, enter "Biomedical Engineering Periodicals" in the Subject tab of the Basic Search page to see a list.

Find Books

Finding books using ProfSearch

The easiest way to find a book that the library owns: search by title in ProfSearch. If your book is not the first result, refine your search to Books/E-Books in the Content Type facet in the left sidebar. Please note that the library does not have copies of most textbooks. 

Many books are now available in e-book format and can be viewed on your computer, tablet, or phone. 

For print books, ProfSearch will first indicate their availability, usually followed by a Call Number which identifies the book's shelf location. If the availability is followed by a date (yyyy-mm-dd), it is checked out and is due to be returned on that date. 

To locate print books on the shelf, first identify the floor and row using the initial alphabetical code, then the specific book using the rest of the call number (for example, TK5678 .G99 2008 is in the Electrical Engineering section on the 4th floor).  

Books you can check out

Because biomedical engineering is a relatively new subject, the vast majority of books we own about it are e-books. You can search for them the same way you would print books, but there will be a link to access or download the content.

Books available for borrowing by students and faculty are available on the 4th floor of Campbell Library. Books on introductory Biomedical Engineering are found at R856. More advanced books will be found throughout Q, R, and T depending on the specific subject focus.

To search for biomedical engineering books in the Library Catalog, some of the following Library of Congress Subject Headings may be helpful: BiomaterialsBiomechanics, Biomedical engineering, Medical electronics, Medical physics, Tissue Engineering.

 

Engineering Standards

For help finding engineering standards, please visit the Engineering Standards research guide. 

Biomedical Engineering reference books

Engineering reference books are located in the T section in the 2nd floor Reference Room of Campbell Library. Science reference books are in Q and medical reference books in R. Here you will find design handbooks, standards, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.

Many of our reference sources are now available online through subscription collections. Some suggestions are listed below.

Find Government Info

Patent Searching

There are several ways to search for patents.

For more help with patent searching, please visit the Patent Searching research guide.

Websites

Tools

RefWorks

RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Create an account to log in.

 

E-ZBorrow

Books which Rowan University does not own can be borrowed from one of the participating academic libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania using E-ZBorrow. Use your 9-digit Banner number for Patron Id.

Interlibrary Loan

Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.

Writing Help

Here are some books available in the library to help you with writing.