New books purchased by Campbell Library
by Daniel Kipnis on 2019-07-23T09:44:19-04:00 | 0 Comments
Label-Free Biosensor Methods in Drug Discovery by
ISBN: 1493926160
Publication Date: 2015-04-07
This volume explores label-free biosensors, advantageous in part because this technology bypasses the need of labels, reporters, and cell engineering, all of which are common to labeled techniques but may introduce artifacts in assay results. Addressing several fundamental and practical aspects as to how to implement label-free methods in the drug discovery process, this book covers a wide range of topics, including binding kinetics determination, fragment screening, antibody epitope mapping, protein-protein interaction profiling and screening, receptor pathway deconvolution, drug pharmacology profiling and screening, target identification, drug toxicity assessment, and physical phenotype profiling and diagnostics based on various cellular processes such as cell adhesion, migration, invasion, infection, and inflammation. As part of the Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology series, chapters aim to provide key detail and implementation advice to aid with progress in the lab. Practical and thorough, Label-Free Biosensor Methods in Drug Discovery provides a new avenue for rapid access to a focused collection of highly regarded contributions in the field.
Prescription for Profits by
ISBN: 9780684800028
Publication Date: 1997-05-05
"In the years following the Second World War, as Europe lay in charred ruins, a new spirit of discovery and knowledge began to stir in the United States. Nurtured by an influx of emigre scientists, this spirit took root in our leading academic communities - from Cambridge and Chicago to Pasadena and Palo Alto and ushered in a golden age of American science. Eventually, however, many of these great minds were seduced by the benefits of capitalism, and the golden age seemed destined for collapse." "In Prescription for Profits, science writer Linda Marsa tracks the rise and fall of research science as told through the spectacular growth of the pharmaceutical industry. As Marsa shows, the achievements of American science during the postwar era were stellar: the cure for polio, the cracking of the genetic code, the pioneering drug therapies. In the early 1970s, though, such scientists as Herbert Boyer discerned the rewards of launching their own companies. He led an exodus of his colleagues into the burgeoning biotechnology industry - first a trickle, then a flood. The major companies grew filthy rich and politically powerful, particularly because of deregulation during the Reagan administration. The lure of huge profits dramatically changed medical research, with ramifications that continue to affect our lives profoundly. From Nixon's war on cancer to the current AIDS crisis to the future of human gene therapy, this marriage between medical research and corporate money has transformed our nation's health, and not always for the public's good."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Asymmetric Synthesis of Drugs and Natural Products by
ISBN: 1138033618
Publication Date: 2018-01-26
This book focuses on different techniques of asymmetric synthesis of important compounds, such as drugs and natural products. It gives insightful information on recent asymmetric synthesis by Inorganic, Organic and Enzymatic combinations. It also emphasizes chiral compounds and design of new catalyst for synthesis of compounds.
Mid-Size Drugs Based on Peptides and Peptidomimetics by
ISBN: 9811076901
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
This brief describes studies conducted by the authors on mid-size drugs utilizing peptides and peptidomimetics, and on the development of anti-HIV agents. Peptides are important biological molecules and have various physiological actions. Peptide-based drug discovery may help bring about the development of useful medicines that are highly safe and show potent pharmacological effects in small doses. Recently, it has been shown that there is an important drug-like space in the mid-sized region between low- and high-molecular-weight compounds. Thus, mid-size drugs such as peptide compounds are being focused on. To date, several peptidomimetics that mimic primary, secondary, and tertiary structures of peptides have been developed to maintain and improve biological activities and actions of peptides. In this book, the features and advantages of mid-size drugs are described in detail. In addition, the merits of utilizing peptidomimetics in the development of mid-size drugs are referred to. Understanding such peptide-derived mid-size drugs will lead to a comprehensive expansion of medicinal chemistry.
Green Techniques for Organic Synthesis and Medicinal Chemistry by
ISBN: 9780470711514
Publication Date: 2012-07-23
An updated overview of the rapidly developing field of green engineering techniques for organic synthesis and medicinal chemistry Green chemistry remains a high priority in modern organic synthesis and pharmaceutical R&D, with important environmental and economic implications. This book presents comprehensive coverage of green chemistry techniques for organic and medicinal chemistry applications, summarizing the available new technologies, analyzing each technique's features and green chemistry characteristics, and providing examples to demonstrate applications for green organic synthesis and medicinal chemistry. The extensively revised edition of Green Techniques for Organic Synthesis and Medicinal Chemistry includes 7 entirely new chapters on topics including green chemistry and innovation, green chemistry metrics, green chemistry and biological drugs, and the business case for green chemistry in the generic pharmaceutical industry. It is divided into 4 parts. The first part introduces readers to the concepts of green chemistry and green engineering, global environmental regulations, green analytical chemistry, green solvents, and green chemistry metrics. The other three sections cover green catalysis, green synthetic techniques, and green techniques and strategies in the pharmaceutical industry. Includes more than 30% new and updated material--plus seven brand new chapters Edited by highly regarded experts in the field (Berkeley Cue is one of the fathers of Green Chemistry in Pharma) with backgrounds in academia and industry Brings together a team of international authors from academia, industry, government agencies, and consultancies (including John Warner, one of the founders of the field of Green Chemistry) Green Techniques for Organic Synthesis and Medicinal Chemistry, Second Edition is an essential resource on green chemistry technologies for academic researchers, R&D professionals, and students working in organic chemistry and medicinal chemistry.
Metallo-Drugs by
ISBN: 9783110469844
Publication Date: 2018-02-05
Volume 18, entitled Metallo-Drugs: Development and Action of Anticancer Agents of the series Metal Ions in Life Sciences centers on biological, medicinal inorganic chemistry. The serendipitous discovery of the antitumor activity of cis-diamminodichloroplatinum(II) (cisplatin) by Barnett Rosenberg in the 1960s is a landmark in metallodrug-based chemotherapy. The success of cisplatin in the clinic, followed by oxaliplatin and carboplatin, along with their drawbacks relating mainly to resistance development and severe toxicity, initiated research on polynuclear platinum complexes and on Pt(IV) complexes as prodrugs. Furthermore, the indicated shortcomings led to the exploration of other transition and main group metal ions, among them Ru(II/III), Au(I/III), Ti(IV), V(IV/V), and Ga(III) including also the essential metal ions Fe(II/III), Cu(I/II), and Zn(II). Ionic as well as covalent and non-covalent interactions between structurally very different complexes and biomolecules like nucleic acids, proteins, and carbohydrates are studied and discussed with regard to their possible anticancer actions. Hence, MILS-18 summarizes the research at the forefront of medicinal inorganic chemistry, including studies on the next-generation, tailor-made anticancer drugs. All this and more is treated in an authoritative and timely manner in the 17 stimulating chapters of this book, written by 39 internationally recognized experts from 10 nations (from the US via Europe to China and Australia). The impact of this vibrant research area is manifested by more than 2700 references, nearly 150 illustrations (more than half in color) and several comprehensive tables. Metallo-Drugs: Development and Action of Anticancer Agents is an essential resource for scientists working in the wide range from enzymology, material sciences, analytical, organic, and inorganic biochemistry all the way through to medicine including the clinic ... not forgetting that it also provides excellent information for teaching.
Comprehensive Quality by Design for Pharmaceutical Product Development and Manufacture by
ISBN: 1119356164
Publication Date: 2017-08-30
Covers a widespread view of Quality by Design (QbD) encompassing the many stages involved in the development of a new drug product. The book provides a broad view of Quality by Design (QbD) and shows how QbD concepts and analysis facilitate the development and manufacture of high quality products. QbD is seen as a framework for building process understanding, for implementing robust and effective manufacturing processes and provides the underpinnings for a science-based regulation of the pharmaceutical industry. Edited by the three renowned researchers in the field, Comprehensive Quality by Design for Pharmaceutical Product Development and Manufacture guides pharmaceutical engineers and scientists involved in product and process development, as well as teachers, on how to utilize QbD practices and applications effectively while complying with government regulations. The material is divided into three main sections: the first six chapters address the role of key technologies, including process modeling, process analytical technology, automated process control and statistical methodology in supporting QbD and establishing the associated design space. The second section consisting of seven chapters present a range of thoroughly developed case studies in which the tools and methodologies discussed in the first section are used to support specific drug substance and drug-product QbD related developments. The last section discussed the needs for integrated tools and reviews the status of information technology tools available for systematic data and knowledge management to support QbD and related activities. Highlights Demonstrates Quality by Design (QbD) concepts through concrete detailed industrial case studies involving of the use of best practices and assessment of regulatory implications Chapters are devoted to applications of QbD methodology in three main processing sectors--drug substance process development, oral drug product manufacture, parenteral product processing, and solid-liquid processing Reviews the spectrum of process model types and their relevance, the range of state-of-the-art real-time monitoring tools and chemometrics, and alternative automatic process control strategies and methods for both batch and continuous processes The role of the design space is demonstrated through specific examples and the importance of understanding the risk management aspects of design space definition is highlighted Comprehensive Quality by Design for Pharmaceutical Product Development and Manufacture is an ideal book for practitioners, researchers, and graduate students involved in the development, research, or studying of a new drug and its associated manufacturing process.
Pharmaceutical Analysis for Small Molecules by
ISBN: 1119121116
Publication Date: 2017-08-14
A comprehensive introduction for scientists engaged in new drug development, analysis, and approvals Each year the pharmaceutical industry worldwide recruits thousands of recent science graduates--especially chemistry, analytical chemistry, pharmacy, and pharmaceutical majors--into its ranks. However, because of their limited background in pharmaceutical analysis most of those new recruits find making the transition from academia to industry very difficult. Designed to assist both recent graduates, as well as experienced chemists or scientists with limited regulatory, compendial or pharmaceutical analysis background, make that transition, Pharmaceutical Analysis for Small Molecules is a concise, yet comprehensive introduction to the drug development process and analysis of chemically synthesized, small molecule drugs. It features contributions by distinguished experts in the field, including editor and author, Dr. Behnam Davani, an analytical chemist with decades of technical management and teaching experience in compendial, regulatory, and industry. This book provides an introduction to pharmaceutical analysis for small molecules (non-biologics) using commonly used techniques for drug characterization and performance tests. The driving force for industry to perform pharmaceutical analyses is submission of such data and supporting documents to regulatory bodies for drug approval in order to market their products. In addition, related required supporting studies including good laboratory/documentation practices including analytical instrument qualification are highlighted in this book. Topics covered include: Drug Approval Process and Regulatory Requirements (private standards) Pharmacopeias and Compendial Approval Process (public standards) Common methods in pharmaceutical analysis (typically compendial) Common Calculations for assays and impurities and other specific tests Analytical Method Validation, Verification, Transfer Specifications including how to handle out of specification (OOS) and out of trend (OOT) Impurities including organic, inorganic, residual solvents and elemental impurities Good Documentation Practices for regulatory environment Management of Analytical Laboratories Analytical Instrument Qualifications including IQ, OQ, PQ and VQ Due to global nature of pharmaceutical industry, other topics on both regulatory (ICH) and Compendial harmonization are also highlighted. Pharmaceutical Analysis for Small Molecules is a valuable working resource for scientists directly or indirectly involved with the drug development process, including analytical chemists, pharmaceutical scientists, pharmacists, and quality control/quality assurance professionals. It also is an excellent text/reference for graduate students in analytical chemistry, pharmacy, pharmaceutical and regulatory sciences.
Privileged Structures in Drug Discovery by
ISBN: 1118145666
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
A comprehensive guide to privileged structures and their application in the discovery of new drugs The use of privileged structures is a viable strategy in the discovery of new medicines at the lead optimization stages of the drug discovery process. Privileged Structures in Drug Discovery offers a comprehensive text that reviews privileged structures from the point of view of medicinal chemistry and contains the synthetic routes to these structures. In this text, the author--a noted expert in the field--includes an historical perspective on the topic, presents a practical compendium to privileged structures, and offers an informed perspective on the future direction for the field. The book describes the up-to-date and state-of-the-art methods of organic synthesis that describe the use of privileged structures that are of most interest. Chapters included information on benzodiazepines, 1,4-dihydropyridines, biaryls, 4-(hetero)arylpiperidines, spiropiperidines, 2-aminopyrimidines, 2-aminothiazoles, 2-(hetero)arylindoles, tetrahydroisoquinolines, 2,2-dimethylbenzopyrans, hydroxamates, and bicyclic pyridines containing ring-junction nitrogen as privileged scaffolds in medicinal chemistry. Numerous, illustrative case studies document the current use of the privileged structures in the discovery of drugs. This important volume: Describes the drug compounds that have successfully made it to the marketplace and the chemistry associated with them Offers the experience from an author who has worked in many therapeutic areas of medicinal chemistry Details many of the recent developments in organic chemistry that prepare target molecules Includes a wealth of medicinal chemistry case studies that clearly illustrate the use of privileged structures Designed for use by industrial medicinal chemists and process chemists, academic organic and medicinal chemists, as well as chemistry students and faculty, Privileged Structures in Drug Discovery offers a current guide to organic synthesis methods to access the privileged structures of interest, and contains medicinal chemistry case studies that document their application.
Pharmaceutical Quality by Design by
ISBN: 1118895207
Publication Date: 2018-03-19
A practical guide to Quality by Design for pharmaceutical product development Pharmaceutical Quality by Design: A Practical Approach outlines a new and proven approach to pharmaceutical product development which is now being rolled out across the pharmaceutical industry internationally. Written by experts in the field, the text explores the QbD approach to product development. This innovative approach is based on the application of product and process understanding underpinned by a systematic methodology which can enable pharmaceutical companies to ensure that quality is built into the product. Familiarity with Quality by Design is essential for scientists working in the pharmaceutical industry. The authors take a practical approach and put the focus on the industrial aspects of the new QbD approach to pharmaceutical product development and manufacturing. The text covers quality risk management tools and analysis, applications of QbD to analytical methods, regulatory aspects, quality systems and knowledge management. In addition, the book explores the development and manufacture of drug substance and product, design of experiments, the role of excipients, multivariate analysis, and include several examples of applications of QbD in actual practice. This important resource: Covers the essential information about Quality by Design (QbD) that is at the heart of modern pharmaceutical development Puts the focus on the industrial aspects of the new QbD approach Includes several illustrative examples of applications of QbD in practice Offers advanced specialist topics that can be systematically applied to industry Pharmaceutical Quality by Design offers a guide to the principles and application of Quality by Design (QbD), the holistic approach to manufacturing that offers a complete understanding of the manufacturing processes involved, in order to yield consistent and high quality products.
Applying Genomic and Proteomic Microarray Technology in Drug Discovery, Second Edition by
ISBN: 1439855633
Publication Date: 2013-03-13
Microarrays play an increasingly significant role in drug discovery. The commercial landscape has changed dramatically over the past few years and researchers have made great advancements with regard to construction and use. Now in its second edition, Applying Genomic and Proteomic Microarray Technology in Drug Discovery highlights, describes, and evaluates current scientific research using microarray technology in genomic and proteomic applications. Updated and revised to reflect recent progress in the field, the second edition discusses: Expanded omics-driven applications, including the areas of metabolomics and chemical biology The commercialization of the microarray platform, with a historical perspective aimed at recognizing key technological developments Solid-supports (substrates) and surface chemistries currently used in the creation of nucleic acid and protein microarrays Different approaches to producing microarrays that achieve spot equality with the same number of molecules properly oriented The development of the gene expression microarray and representative applications The development of protein microarray technology, including its history and key applications Unique to this edition is a new chapter on multiplex assays that examines the development and applications of arrays across diverse platforms. It discusses applications for qPCR, multiplex lateral flow, and multiplex bead assays. It also presents platform-to-platform comparisons. Microarrays remain an invaluable tool for omics-based research not only in drug discovery, but in the life sciences, in clinical research, and for diagnostic applications worldwide. This volume presents the current state of the art on the utility of this technology to solve a host of important biological problems.
In Silico Drug Discovery and Design by
ISBN: 1482217856
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
In SilicoDrug Discovery and Design: Theory, Methods, Challenges, and Applicationsprovides a comprehensive, unified, and in-depth overview of the current methodological strategies in computer-aided drug discovery and design. Its main aims are to introduce the theoretical framework and algorithms, discuss the range of validity, strengths and limitations of each methodology, and present applications to real world problems in the drug discovery arena. Special emphasis has been given to the emerging and most pressing methodological challenges in in silicodrug discovery and design. The book assumes a basic knowledge of physical principles and molecular modeling. Particular attention has been paid to outline the underlying physico-chemical foundation of the methods described, thus providing the necessary background to avoid a "black-box" approach. In each self-contained chapter, this is presented together with the latest developments and applications, and the challenges that lie ahead. Assembling a unique team of experts to weigh in on the most important issues influencing modern computational drug discovery and design, this book constitutes both a desktop reference to academic and industrial researchers in the field, and a textbook for students in the area of molecular modeling and drug discovery. Comprised of 18 chapters and divided into three parts, this book: Provides a comprehensive, unified, and in-depth overview of the current methodological strategies in computer-aided drug discovery and design Outlines the underlying physico-chemical foundation of the methods described Presents several applications of computational methods to real world problems in the drug design field Helps to avoid a "black-box" approach to in silicodrug discovery Constitutes an actual textbook for students in the area of molecular modeling and drug discovery Gives the reader the adequate background to face the current challenges of the field In SilicoDrug Discovery and Design: Theory, Methods, Challenges, and Applicationsdescribes the theoretical framework, methods, practical applications and case examples relevant to computer-aided drug lead discovery and design. This text will surely aid in understanding the underlying physical foundation of computational tools and their range of application, thus facilitating the interpretation of simulation results.
Anticancer Agents from Natural Products by
ISBN: 1439813825
Publication Date: 2011-10-10
The approach to drug discovery from natural sources has yielded many important new pharmaceuticals inaccessible by other routes. In many cases the isolated natural product may not be an effective drug for any of several reasons, but it nevertheless may become a drug through chemical modification or have a novel pharmacophore for future drug design. In summarizing the status of natural products as cancer chemotherapeutics, Anticancer Agents from Natural Products, Second Edition covers the: History of each covered drug¿a discussion of its mechanism on action, medicinal chemistry, synthesis, and clinical applications Potential for novel drug discovery through the use of genome mining as well as future developments in anticancer drug discovery Important biosynthetic approaches to "unnatural" natural products Anticancer Agents from Natural Products, Second Edition discusses how complex target-oriented synthesis¿enabled by historic advances in methodology¿has enormously expanded the scope of the possible. This book covers the current clinically used anticancer agents that are either natural products or are clearly derived from natural product leads. It also reviews drug candidates currently in clinical development since many of these will be clinically used drugs in the future. Examples include the drugs etoposide and teniposide derived from the lead compound podophyllotoxin; numerous analogs derived from taxol; topotecan, derived from camptothecin; and the synthetic clinical candidates, E7389 and HTI-286, developed from the marine leads, halichondrin B and hemiasterlin.
Computational Drug Discovery and Design by
ISBN: 1493977555
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
This volume details methods and techniques for identification of drug targets, binding sites prediction, high-throughput virtual screening,and prediction of pharmacokinetic properties using computer based methodologies. Chapters guide readers through techniques of the available computational tools, developing prediction models for drug target prediction and de novo design of ligands, structure based drug designing, fragment-based drug designing, molecular docking, and scoring functions for assessing protein-ligand docking protocols. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials, step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and cutting-edge, Computational Drug Discovery and Design aims to provide protocols for the use of bioinformatics tools in drug discovery and design.
Synthesis of Medicinal Agents from Plants by
ISBN: 0081020716
Publication Date: 2018-04-20
Synthesis of Medicinal Agents from Plants highlights the importance of synthesizing medicinal agents from plants and outlines methods for performing it effectively. Beginning with an introduction to the significance of medicinal plants, the book goes on to provide a historical overview of drug synthesis before exploring how this can be used to successfully replicate and adapt the active agents from natural sources. Chapters then explore the medicinal properties of a number of important plants, before concluding with a discussion of the future of drugs from medicinal plants. Illustrated with real-world examples, it is a practical resource for researchers in this field. In an age of rapid environmental destruction, hundreds of medicinal plants are at risk of extinction from overexploitation and deforestation, limiting the natural resources available for active agent extraction, thereby threatening the discovery of future cures for diseases. Simultaneously, with the increasing population and advances in medical sciences, the demand for drugs is continuously increasing and cannot be met with just plants. The ability to synthetically replicate the active compounds from these plants is essential in creating an ecologically-aware, sustainable future for drug design
Accelerated Predictive Stability by
ISBN: 9780128027868
Publication Date: 2018-05-16
Accelerated Predictive Stability (APS): Fundamentals and Pharmaceutical Industry Practices provides coverage of both the fundamental principles and pharmaceutical industry applications of the APS approach. Fundamental chapters explain the scientific basis of the APS approach, while case study chapters from many innovative pharmaceutical companies provide a thorough overview of the current status of APS applications in the pharmaceutical industry. In addition, up-to-date experiences in utilizing APS data for regulatory submissions in many regions and countries highlight the potential of APS in support of registration stability testing for certain regulatory submissions. This book provides high level strategies for the successful implementation of APS in a pharmaceutical company. It offers scientists and regulators a comprehensive resource on how the pharmaceutical industry can enhance their understanding of a product's stability and predict drug expiry more accurately and quickly.
Chemical Sciences in Early Drug Discovery by
ISBN: 0080994202
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Chemical Sciences in Early Drug Discovery: Medicinal Chemistry 2.0 describes how new technologies and approaches can be used to improve the probability of success in fulfilling the perennial goal of finding and developing new drugs. Drawing on the author's extensive experience consulting and teaching in medicinal chemistry, the book outlines ways in which medicinal chemistry is widening its reach to meet modern demands, and how modern technologies and approaches are facilitating this growth into new fields. Supported by examples throughout, the book is a practical resource for organic-medicinal chemists, biological chemists and pharmacologists involved in drug discovery.
Nanotechnology in Drug Delivery by
ISBN: 177188360X
Publication Date: 2016-07-08
This important new book provides the fundamental understanding of the peptide and protein drug delivery systems with a special focus on their nanotechnology applications. Addressing an increasing interest in peptide and protein drug delivery systems in both academic and industrial circles worldwide, this book fills the need for a comprehensive review and assessment of conventional and nonconventional routes of administration.
Therapeutic Medicinal Plants by
ISBN: 1482254042
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
Medicinal plants have been used in the prevention, diagnosis, and elimination of diseases based on the practical experience of thousands of years. There is a pressing need to initiate and transform laboratory research into fruitful formulations leading to the development of newer products for the cure of diseases such as AIDS, cancer, and hepatitis, as well as coping with multi-drug resistance problems. This book presents recent developments in the research on medicinal plants for different diseases, formulation of products, and market strategy.
Natural Products and Drug Discovery by
ISBN: 0081020813
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
Natural Products and Drug Discovery: An Integrated Approach provides an applied overview of the field, from traditional medicinal targets, to cutting-edge molecular techniques. Natural products have always been of key importance to drug discovery, but as modern techniques and technologies have allowed researchers to identify, isolate, extract and synthesize their active compounds in new ways, they are once again coming to the forefront of drug discovery. Combining the potential of traditional medicine with the refinement of modern chemical technology, the use of natural products as the basis for drugs can help in the development of more environmentally sound, economical, and effective drug discovery processes. Natural Products & Drug Discovery: An Integrated Approach reflects on the current changes in this field, giving context to the current shift and using supportive case studies to highlight the challenges and successes faced by researchers in integrating traditional medicinal sources with modern chemical technologies. It therefore acts as a useful reference to medicinal chemists, phytochemists, biochemists, pharma R&D professionals, and drug discovery students and researchers.
Stimuli-Responsive Drug Delivery Systems by
ISBN: 1788011139
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
The increased understanding of molecular aspects associated with chronic diseases, such as cancer and the role of tumor microenvironment, has led to the identification of endogenous and exogenous stimuli that can be exploited to devise _stimuli-responsive_ materials for site-specific drug delivery applications. This book provides a comprehensive account on the design, materials chemistry, and application aspects behind these novel stimuli-responsive materials. Setting the scene, the editors open with a chapter addressing the need for smart materials in delivery applications for therapy, imaging and disease diagnosis. The following chapter describes the key physical and chemical aspects of smart materials, from lipids to polymers to hybrid materials, providing the reader with a springboard to delve into the more application oriented chapters that follow. With in-depth coverage of key drug delivery systems such as pH-responsive, temperature responsive, enzyme-responsive and light responsive systems, this book provides a rigorous foundation to the field. A perfect resource for graduate students and newcomers, the closing chapter on regulatory and commercialization challenges also makes the book ideal for those wanting to take the next step towards clinical translation.
A Review of Biomaterials and Their Applications in Drug Delivery by
ISBN: 9811005036
Publication Date: 2017-04-08
This book reviews drug delivery systems as mechanisms to introduce therapeutic agents into the body to help or improve tissue function, and examines different drug delivery systems applied in various organs. To date, polymeric systems, ceramic particles or composites have been used in different applications such as injectable, coatings of implants, scaffolds, or implantable devices. Such systems should be able to retain the therapeutic agent and release it in uniform amounts at a specific time.
Pharmaceutical Quality by Design by
ISBN: 1118895207
Publication Date: 2018-03-19
A practical guide to Quality by Design for pharmaceutical product development Pharmaceutical Quality by Design: A Practical Approach outlines a new and proven approach to pharmaceutical product development which is now being rolled out across the pharmaceutical industry internationally. Written by experts in the field, the text explores the QbD approach to product development. This innovative approach is based on the application of product and process understanding underpinned by a systematic methodology which can enable pharmaceutical companies to ensure that quality is built into the product. Familiarity with Quality by Design is essential for scientists working in the pharmaceutical industry. The authors take a practical approach and put the focus on the industrial aspects of the new QbD approach to pharmaceutical product development and manufacturing. The text covers quality risk management tools and analysis, applications of QbD to analytical methods, regulatory aspects, quality systems and knowledge management. In addition, the book explores the development and manufacture of drug substance and product, design of experiments, the role of excipients, multivariate analysis, and include several examples of applications of QbD in actual practice. This important resource: Covers the essential information about Quality by Design (QbD) that is at the heart of modern pharmaceutical development Puts the focus on the industrial aspects of the new QbD approach Includes several illustrative examples of applications of QbD in practice Offers advanced specialist topics that can be systematically applied to industry Pharmaceutical Quality by Design offers a guide to the principles and application of Quality by Design (QbD), the holistic approach to manufacturing that offers a complete understanding of the manufacturing processes involved, in order to yield consistent and high quality products.
Applied Biophysics for Drug Discovery by
ISBN: 111909948X
Publication Date: 2017-10-02
Applied Biophysics for Drug Discovery is a guide to new techniques and approache
Add a Comment
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books purchased by Campbell Library
New Books purchased by Campbell Library
New Books purchased by Campbell Library
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Return to Blog
0 Comments.