Skip to main content

Engineering Standards: Welcome

A guide to finding design and construction/manufacturing standards for engineering students.

Welcome

Why use engineering standards?

Using standards is important in engineering because standards improve safety, quality, efficiency, and profitability. Often their use is required by law.

Using this guide

This guide to finding engineering standards is divided into pages for each engineering discipline.

Consult the General Engineering page of this guide to learn about standards used throughout engineering. 

Consult the Mechanical Engineering page of this guide to learn about standards used in mechanical engineering.

Consult the Civil Engineering page of this guide to learn about standards used in civil engineering.

Consult the Electrical Engineering page of this guide to learn about standards used in electrical engineering.

Consult the Chemical and Biomedical Engineering page of this guide to learn about standards used in chemical and biomedical engineering.

If you have any trouble locating the standard you need, feel free to email me using the button below my photo.

General Engineering

Standards used throughout engineering

Government agencies which regulate engineering

Mechanical Engineering

SAE Standards

SAE International, formerly the Society of Automotive Engineers, is the professional organization for engineers who design and build automobiles, commercial vehicles, aircraft, and space vehicles. 

SAE standards are very important in the design of vehicles of all kinds.

To obtain the full text standard, note the citation information from the SAE site, then request the document by interlibrary loan through Rowan University Libraries. 

ASTM Standards

ASTM International, formerly the American Society for Testing and Materials, is the professional standards association for manufactured products of all kinds. ASTM defines and sets "over 12,000 standards [that] operate globally."  

Rowan University Libraries subscribes to their online product ASTM Compass, which includes all of the ASTM Standards (in full text) plus many additional engineering resources.

ASME Standards

ASME has been a leader in developing standards in mechanical engineering for over 100 years. This site will let you search for standards on various topics.

Please note that standards are not included in our subscription to ASME journals. If you need a specific standard, please request it through our interlibrary loan process.

Civil Engineering

Building standards

Rowan University Libraries' subscription to McGraw-Hill's Access Engineering database includes a number of handbooks relevant to building construction such as The 2015 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook. 

Some construction standards reference books are also available in print in the Campbell Library Reference Collection. 

ASCE standards

ASCE, the American Society of Civil Engineers, sets engineering standards for all areas of civil engineering. 

Rowan University Libraries subscribes to the ASCE Library. Use the Standards page to search by topic or standard number. When you find the standard you need, click on the Get it! button to access the full text, if available. 

if the full text is not available, click on Submit a Request to Campbell Library and fill out the Interlibrary Loan form. 

Government regulations

The US Government has a database of federal regulations called eCFR. Search it to find government regulations on topics like floodplain building, highway design, housing and urban development, and environmental protection. 

 

Electrical Engineering

Electrical standards

Rowan University Libraries' subscription to McGraw-Hill's Access Engineering database includes a number of handbooks relevant to building construction such as The 2011 National Electrical Code. 

Some construction standards reference books are also available in print in the Campbell Library Reference Collection. 

IEEE Standards

IEEE is the professional organization for electrical and electronic engineers and plays a major role in setting standards for the industry. Rowan University Libraries currently subscribes to IEEE XPlore, which includes all IEEE journals and the most popular conference proceedings. 

IEEE Standards can be searched in IEEE XPlore but full text may not be available. Click on the Full Text button to click through to the Get It! button which provides access to the Submit a Request to Campbell Library interlibrary loan form. 

Department of Defense Standards

For many electrical engineering projects, DoD (US Department of Defense) standards will be applicable. Use this search engine to search military standards by number or keywords. 

Chemical and Biomedical Engineering

Standards used in Chemical Engineering

Standards used in Biomedical Engineering

The International Standards Organization (ISO) sets standards for products and services that are bought and sold globally. An example of an ISO standard applicable to Biomedical Engineering is ISO 13485: Medical Devices. 

To obtain the full text standard, note the citation information from the ISO site, then request the document by interlibrary loan through Rowan University Libraries.