The CESSDA Data Catalogue "provides a seamless interface to datasets from social science data archives across Europe. It is available in nine languages." (source: website) Also, contains links to National Data Service websites.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
There has been a growing realization [of] the power of Linked Data for exposing, sharing, and connecting pieces of data and information using uniform resource identifiers (URI). It is being used widely across the public and private sectors to build an online information architecture. Linked Data is the underpinning technology that enables many of the new ways of working that we are beginning to see across government. List of Linked Datasets & Vocabularies: environment, finance, legislation, location, ordnance, transport, statistics, reference.
A not-for-profit organisation formed in London on 1 December 2009. Our aim is to establish easier access to research data on the Internet increase acceptance of research data as legitimate, citable contributions to the scholarly record support data archiving that will permit results to be verified and re-purposed for future study.
From the Open Knowledge Foundation
8,000+ free datasets covering various topics. Includes large datasets from national governments
DBpedia is a crowd-sourced community effort to extract structured information from Wikipedia and make this information available on the Web. DBpedia allows you to ask sophisticated queries against Wikipedia, and to link the different data sets on the Web to Wikipedia data.
The Dryad Digital Repository makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable. It is freely reusable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types
With its integrated public data platform and data discovery and analytics tools, Enigma helps organizations and individuals fuse, organize, and explore data to make smarter decisions. Since 2012, Enigma has collected more than 100,000 different datasets from public agencies. Enigma's public data platform unifies billions of data points from more than 5,000 local, state, federal, and international sources. Topics range from government spending contracts, patents, and SEC filings, to asset ownership, bills of lading, and liens. Explore the data labs listed in the footer of the website and create a free account to search and download datasets.
.
The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of public data made available across Europe. This portal is developed by the European Commission with the support of a consortium.
Click the Data tab for a wealth of information.
A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official Federal statistics (source:website)
GeoCommons is a community contributed collection of open data from around the world. Uploaded by the public, data are often from public and open government websites and sources. The searchable archive includes more than 150,000 datasets as GeoJSON stored in Github and available to preview, download, or explore in ArcGIS.com. (source: website)
Start here! Google Public data searches dozens and dozens of the major data sources for public data.
Contains statistics on Google search volume (as a proportion of total search) for any provided term, since 2004, across various regions of the world and in various languages. Also, identifies content trending on YouTube.
From the Institute of Quantitative Social Science (IQSS), Harvard University Library, and Harvard University Information Technology
"Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data."
"A Dataverse repository is the software installation, which then hosts multiple dataverses. Each dataverse contains datasets, and each dataset contains descriptive metadata and data files (including documentation and code that accompany the data). As an organizing method, dataverses may also contain other dataverses." (source: website)
Links to datasets covering various topics.
ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
Widely used social science data repository. Some datasets available for public use, some accessible only via institutional subscription, some data is restricted. (Note: free registration required.)
Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications.
The Open Data Impact Map, a project of the Open Data for Development Network (OD4D), is a public database of organizations that use open government data from around the world. Open Data is publicly available data that can be accessed and reused by anyone free of charge.
"Open data to spur innovation." 32,089 Data Sets; 323 Code Respositories, 52 APIs
From the RAND Corporation
"The ALP is a nationally representative, probability-based panel of over 6000 members ages 18 and older who are regularly interviewed over the internet for research purposes." (source: website) Surveys for which data is available span a variety of topics.
(Note: free registration is required to access datasets)
Global registry of more than 1,500 research data repositories covering various academic disciplines (strong focus on the sciences).
Search engine and directory of industry data sources, ideal for market research. Access to ReportLinker is free and access to many of the listed resources is also free.
U.S. government-related data and data visualization tools
"StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business, which is ranked among the nation's top business schools. With support from the Economic Development Administration, we have developed a unique and useful set of tools and reports, as well as providing access to other EDA-funded projects.
We obtain thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data. While StatsAmerica adds value to these data through easy access and functionality, we acknowledge the direct agency source of the data on every table, profile or map." (source: website)
From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO)
"..cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories." (source: website)
Our mission is to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice.
Wiki Source is a repository is the central storage for the data that may be accessed by the client Wikis connected to the repository. By maintaining the data in the repository, content loaded dynamically from Wikidata does not need to be translated nor has to be kept up to date in each individual client Wiki. The data in Wikidata is published under the Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication and is freely available to use.
From the World Bank
"DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them." (source: website)