Find Articles
The library has several specialized databases containing geology and geophysics journals. However, for articles on paleobiology and fossils you may want to try general science databases like Science Direct or Web of Science.
What is LibKey Nomad?
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for the Chrome, Firefox, and Edge web browsers.
*Important Note* The Rowan University Information Security Office has blocked access to the Chrome browser extension library on Rowan managed laptops and desktops of Rowan faculty and staff that have access to PHI (Protected Healthcare Information). Those users will not be able to install LibKey Nomad on Chrome. A work-around is to install and use LibKey Nomad on a different browser.
Once you install LibKey Nomad, you can use it to download full text articles to which we subscribe, from any publisher website where you find them. (Otherwise you would need to go to the library website to access the full text if you are off campus.)
When the full text PDF is available to you, you will see a LibKey Download PDF icon in the bottom left corner of the page.
If it is not, you will see a button labeled Access Options which will direct you to our Interlibrary Loan system.
Watch the short video shown below to learn how to download the extension for the browser you use.
- LibKey Nomad InstallationVideo showing you how to install LibKey Nomad
Quick Start
For journal articles, a good place to start is GeoScience World.
- GeoscienceWorld This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals in the earth sciences.
Library Article Databases for Geology
Use these subscription databases to locate published research in geology.
To access them next time, select the Database Finder on the Campbell Library homepage, then choose Geology from the Subjects menu.
- GeoscienceWorld This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals in the earth sciences.
- Georef (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive geoscience literature of the world including millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
- GeoBase This link opens in a new windowSearch tool for scholarly literature in geography, earth, and environmental sciences. Included many sources which are not available through Library Search.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Full text database of scientific journal articles with data on who has cited them.
Finding a Specific Article
To find a specific article for which you have a citation, use the Citation Search tool.
Go to the Search Tools section of the Campbell Library homepage and select Citation Search. The Citation Search function is also available on the menu bar of the Library Search interface.
Fill out the form with the complete citation for the article - article title, author names, publication title, year, and volume/issue or DOI number.
Example:
Prothero, Donald R. Species longevity in North American fossil mammals. Integrative Zoology, August 2014. Vol. 9, Iss. 4, pages 383-393.
Enter the citation into the appropriate fields in the online form, then click on Submit in the bottom right of the page.
For this example article, there are two databases which will take you to this article: EBSCO and Wiley. EBSCO doesn't have access to articles published in the past year, but this is a 2014 article so either database will work.
Click on one of the database links to access the article.