Essential Sources
This extensive collection is backed by a community of faculty and instructional designers committed to sharing academic resources.
Search the rich resources of Creative Commons licensed community.
JStor has partnered with leading presses on a project to add open access ebooks. Thousands of titles are now available from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press.
Our community supports the Open Textbook Library, a comprehensive resource for openly licensed academic textbooks. All textbooks are free, and the majority are peer reviewed.
The Open NJ repository allows faculty and students to find Open Educational Resources (OER) created and adopted at participating New Jersey institutions along with materials created through the Open Textbook Collaborative grant.
Open Source Video
- Arizona State University LibrariesThis research guide includes a carefully curated list of free streaming video compiled by librarian Deg Farrelly.
- College of Coastal Georgia LibrariesThis is a useful list of open source streaming videos curated by our Georgia colleagues.
Textbooks
- Flat World PublishingDigital textbooks for college curricula written by academics concerned about the costs of higher education.
- Open Education ConsortiumTextbooks for Community Colleges.
- Open StaxCollege textbooks in a variety of subjects.
- Open Textbook LibraryHosted by University on Minnesota on behalf of the Open Textbook Network.
- Directory of Open Access BooksPeer reviewed textbooks published in support of the Open Access movement.
- Libre TextsAll Libretexts libraries are accessible to everyone via the internet, completely free. We believe everyone should have access to knowledge.
- Saylor AcademySaylor Academy does not own the copyright to any books on this page. Each book’s open license is an agreement between you as the end user and the copyright holder.
Discipline Specific Learning Materials
- American Institute of MathematicsAmerican Institute of Mathematics The American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria
- MerlotThe MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
- OAPENThe OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. We carry high quality ebooks: Our ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
- QubesQUBES hosts hundreds of teaching materials, reference materials, and cloud-based software free to use and adapts using open Creative Commons licenses.
- American Institute of MathematicsList of Math textbooks approved by the American Institute of Mathematics.
- Teaching CommonsThe Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.