Skip to main content

Nutrition and Dietetics: Database tutorials

Database tutorials

The databases below are used to search a variety of journal titles.  Contact Dan Kipnis if you are having trouble with your search.

Databases highlighted include:

  • PubMed
  • Scopus
  • Web of Science

Keep in mind that Rowan University Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases so depending on what you are searching other databases may be better choices for finding what you need.  Contact Dan for a consult. 

 

PubMed Tutorials

PubMed:

  • Pub = public Med = Medine
  • Free database maintained by National Library of Medicine
  • Over 5,000 journal titles
  • Approximately 20% of content is freely available
  • Click on Get it Rowan button for full-text access

Complete inventory of PubMed Tutorials

Includes 8 short basic search tutorials and 7 more in depth search tutorials.

Below are 3 short search videos to get you started. 

Scopus Tutorials

Scopus: 

  • Over 15,000 journal titles
  • One of the largest bibliographic databases available from Rowan Libraries
  • Multi-disciplinary
  • Cited by analysis
  • Embedded bibliographies for many citations (work backwards)

All 24 training videos on using Scopus.

Below are 3 videos to get you started. 

Web of Science Tutorials

Web of Science: 

  • Over 12,000 journal titles
  • Multi-disciplinary
  • Content back to 1900
  • Cited by analysis

Complete playlist of Web of Science tutorials

3 tutorials to get you started are below: