It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chapter 1: Creating your first database & table
Chapter 2: Beginning Data Exploration with SELECT
Chapter 3: Understanding Data Types
Chapter 4: Importing and Exporting Data
Chapter 5: Basic Math and Stats -- Chapter 6: Joining Tables in a Relational Database
Chapter 7: Table Design that Works for You
Chapter 8: Grouping and Summarizing Data
Chapter 9: Cleaning , Modifying, Deleting Data
Chapter 10: Ranks, Rates, and Stats
Chapter 11: Dealing with Dates
Chapter 12: Advanced Queries
Chapter 13: Full-Text Search
Chapter 14: GIS
Chapter 15: Views
Chapter 16: Working from the command line
Chapter 17: Maintenance
Appendix A: Alternative software and text editors
Information Visualization is the major revision of a classic work on information visualization. This book explores the art and science of why we see objects the way we do. Based on the science of perception and vision, the author presents the key principles at work for a wide range of applications - resulting in visualization of improved clarity, utility, and persuasiveness. This is the first work to use the science of perception to help serious designers and analysts optimize understanding and perception of their data visualizations. This unique and essential guide to human visual perception and related cognitive principles will enrich courses on information visualization and empower designers to see their way forward. Its updated review of empirical research and interface design examples will do much to accelerate innovation and adoption of information visualization. New to this edition are a new chapter on visual thinking, new sections on face perception and flow visualization, and a much-expanded chapter on color and color sequences. This book will appeal to interaction designers; graphic designers of all kinds (including web designers); financial analysts; research scientists and engineers; data miners; and managers faced with information-intensive challenges. *First work to use the science of perception to help serious designers and analysts optimize understanding and perception of their data visualizations. * Major revision of this classic work, with a new chapter on visual thinking, new sections on face perception and flow visualization, and a much expanded chapter on color and color sequences. *New to this edition is the full color treatment throughout, to better display over 400 illustrations.
This Second Edition offers broad coverage, ranging from a basic discussion of the roles and responsibilities of the scientist (or client) and the illustrator to the most current technological advances in the field. It includes new chapters on basic computer graphics, murals, model building, illustrating molecules, astronomy, 3D modeling, and earth sciences. The hundreds of tools and materials that the illustrator uses are examined here, with specific recommendations for surfaces, media, drawing tools, propping materials, measuring devices, and more. Real-world guidance, best practices, and helpful tips support the text, as well as information on innovative applications unique to scientific illustration.
James Gurney, New York Times best-selling author and artist of the Dinotopia series, follows Imaginative Realism with his second art-instruction book, Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter. A researched study on two of art's most fundamental themes, Color and Light bridges the gap between abstract theory and practical knowledge. Beginning with a survey of underappreciated masters who perfected the use of color and light, the book examines how light reveals form, the properties of color and pigments, and the wide variety of atmospheric effects. Gurney cuts though the confusing and contradictory dogma about color, testing it in the light of science and observation. A glossary, pigment index, and bibliography complete what will ultimately become an indispensible tool for any artist. This book is the second in a series based on his blog, gurneyjourney.com. His first in the series, Imaginative Realism, was widely acclaimed in the fantastical art world, and was ranked the #1 Bestseller on the Amazon list for art instruction. "James Gurney's new book, Color and Light, cleverly bridges the gap between artistic observation and scientific explanation. Not only does he eloquently describe all the effects of color and light an artist might encounter, but he thrills us with his striking paintings in the process.
As the world grows more complex, some of the best stories are told through visuals--infographics. From election results to catastrophes to wars to scientific discoveries: the stream of data we are exposed to daily becomes ever more complicated. Infographics help make sense of it, transforming difficult to grasp facts and figures into accessible visualizations. Print media are increasingly making successful use of them. Visual Journalism reveals the masters of this discipline and their finest works. The portraits of studios and individuals within this compendium illustrate how the world of infographics continues to evolve as it informs data and graphic trends. A visual revolution showcases the myriad possibilities of non-verbal communication.
No matter what your actual job title, you are--or soon will be--a data worker. Every day, at work, home, and school, we are bombarded with vast amounts of free data collected and shared by everyone and everything from our co-workers to our calorie counters. In this highly anticipated follow-up to The Functional Art--Alberto Cairo's foundational guide to understanding information graphics and visualization--the respected data visualization professor explains in clear terms how to work with data, discover the stories hidden within, and share those stories with the world in the form of charts, maps, and infographics. In The Truthful Art, Cairo transforms elementary principles of data and scientific reasoning into tools that you can use in daily life to interpret data sets and extract stories from them. The Truthful Art explains: * The role infographics and data visualization play in our world * Basic principles of data and scientific reasoning that anyone can master * How to become a better critical thinker * Step-by-step processes that will help you evaluate any data visualization (including your own) * How to create and use effective charts, graphs, and data maps to explain data to any audience The Truthful Art is also packed with inspirational and educational real-world examples of data visualizations from such leading publications as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Estado de São Paulo (Brazil), Berliner Morgenpost (Germany), and many more.
A straightforward, full-color guide to showcasing data so your audience can see what you mean, not just read about it Big data is big news! Every company, industry, not-for-profit, and government agency wants and needs to analyze and leverage datasets that can quickly become ponderously large. Data visualization software enables different industries to present information in ways that are memorable and relevant to their mission. This full-color guide introduces you to a variety of ways to handle and synthesize data in much more interesting ways than mere columns and rows of numbers. Learn meaningful ways to show trending and relationships, how to convey complex data in a clear, concise diagram, ways to create eye-catching visualizations, and much more! Effective data analysis involves learning how to synthesize data, especially big data, into a story and present that story in a way that resonates with the audience This full-color guide shows you how to analyze large amounts of data, communicate complex data in a meaningful way, and quickly slice data into various views Explains how to automate redundant reporting and analyses, create eye-catching visualizations, and use statistical graphics and thematic cartography Enables you to present vast amounts of data in ways that won't overwhelm your audience Part technical manual and part analytical guidebook, Data Visualization For Dummies is the perfect tool for transforming dull tables and charts into high-impact visuals your audience will notice...and remember.
SAS Programming and Data Visualization Techniques: A Power User's Guide brings together a wealth of ideas about strategic and tactical solutions to everyday situations experienced when transferring, extracting, processing, analyzing, and reporting the valuable data you have at your fingertips. Best, you can achieve most of the solutions using the SAS components you already license, meaning that this book's insights can keep you from throwing money at problems needlessly. Author Philip R. Holland advises a broad range of clients throughout Europe and the United States as an independent consultant and founder of Holland Numerics Ltd, a SAS technical consultancy. In this book he explains techniques--through code samples and example--that will enable you to increase your knowledge of all aspects of SAS programming, improve your coding productivity, and interface SAS with other programs. He also provides an expert's overview of Graph Templates, which was recently moved into Base SAS. You will learn to create attractive, standardized, reusable, and platform-independent graphs--both statistical and non-statistical--to help you and your business users explore, visualize, and capitalize on your company's data. In addition, you will find many examples and cases pertaining to healthcare, finance, retail, and other industries. Among other things, SAS Programming and Data Visualization Techniques will show you how to: Write efficient and reus able SAS code Combine look-up data sets with larger data sets effectively Run R and Perl from SAS Run SAS programs from SAS Studio and Enterprise Guide Output data into insightful, valuable charts and graphs SAS Programming and Data Visualization Techniques prepares you to make better use of your existing SAS components by learning to use the newest features, improve your coding efficiency, help you develop applications that are easier to maintain, and make data analysis easier. In other words, it will save you time, money, and effort--and make you a more valuable member of the development team. What You'll Learn How to write more efficient SAS code--either code that runs quicker, code that is easier to maintain, or both How to do more with the SAS components you already license How to take advantage of the newest features in SAS How to interface external applications with SAS software How to create graphs using SAS ODS Graphics Who This Book Is For SAS programmers wanting to improve their existing programming skills, and programming managers wanting to make better use of the SAS software they already license.
Data visualization involves graphical and visual tools used in data analysis and decision making. The emphasis in this book is on recent trends and applications of visualization tools using conventional and big data. These tools are widely used in data visualization and quality improvement to analyze, enhance, and improve the quality of products and services. Data visualization is an easy way to obtain a first look at the data visually. The book provides a collection of visual and graphical tools widely used to gain an insight into the data before applying more complex analysis. The focus is on the key application areas of these tools including business process improvement, business data analysis, health care, finance, manufacturing, engineering, process improvement, and Lean Six Sigma. The key areas of application include data and data analysis concepts, recent trends in data visualization and #65533;Big Data,#65533; widely used charts and graphs and their applications, analysis of the relationships between two or more variables graphically using scatterplots, bubble graphs, matrix plots, etc., data visualization with big data, computer applications and implementation of widely used graphical and visual tools, and computer instructions to create the graphics presented along with the data files.
This work presents a data visualization technique that combines graph-based topology representation and dimensionality reduction methods to visualize the intrinsic data structure in a low-dimensional vector space. The application of graphs in clustering and visualization has several advantages. A graph of important edges (where edges characterize relations and weights represent similarities or distances) provides a compact representation of the entire complex data set. This text describes clustering and visualization methods that are able to utilize information hidden in these graphs, based on the synergistic combination of clustering, graph-theory, neural networks, data visualization, dimensionality reduction, fuzzy methods, and topology learning. The work contains numerous examples to aid in the understanding and implementation of the proposed algorithms, supported by a MATLAB toolbox available at an associated website.