Skip to main content

Holocaust Studies: Welcome

Welcome

Holocaust Studies


 

From The Holocaust: An Introductory History, Jewish Virtual Library:
 

The Holocaust (also called Ha-Shoah in Hebrew) refers to the period from January 30, 1933 - when Adolf Hitler became chancellor of Germany - to May 8, 1945, when the war in Europe officially ended. During this time, Jews in Europe were subjected to progressively harsher persecution that ultimately led to the murder of 6,000,000 Jews (1.5 million of these being children) and the destruction of 5,000 Jewish communities. These deaths represented two-thirds of European Jewry and one-third of all world Jewry.

The Jews who died were not casualties of the fighting that ravaged Europe during World War II. Rather, they were the victims of Germany's deliberate and systematic attempt to annihilate the entire Jewish population of Europe, a plan Hitler called the “Final Solution” (Endlosung).

                       ( http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Holocaust/history.html )

 

Please take a few moments to click the tabs above and peruse the site in order to familiarize yourself  with the guide's contents.  

LC Classification

Subject Classification

Click here to link to the full overview of the Library of Congress Subject Classes


D is the initial classification letter for World History, not including America 

D720-728 Period between World Wars (1919-1939)

D731-838 World War II (1939-1945)

D804 contains a concentration of work on the Holocaust

DD  indicates the History of Germany 

DD253-256.8 : Hitler, 1933-1945. National socialism

DS  indicates the History of Asia

 DS133-151 Jews outside of Palestine 

Find Books

Library Catalogs and Book-Search Engines

Online Reference Resources

The Holocaust Encyclopedia

Produced and maintained by the United States Holocaust Museum.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia  

[electronic resource] / Walter Laqueur, editor ; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor.

Yad Vasehem

As the Jewish people’s living memorial to the Holocaust, Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. Established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is today a dynamic and vital place of intergenerational and international encounter.

Physical Encyclopedia And Handbooks (in the library)

Columbia guide to the Holocaust / Donald Niewyk and Francis Nicosia.

Niewyk, Donald L., 1940-
Pub. Yr.: 2000
Call #: D804.3 .N54 2000
Location: Campbell Library - 3rd floor


Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology
Pub Yr.: 1997
Call # D804.25 
Location; Campbell Library


Encyclopedia of the Holocaust / [edited by] Robert Rozett, Shmuel Spector.

Pub. Yr.: 2000
Call #: Ref. D 804.25 .E53 2000
Location: Campbell Library 


Encyclopedia of the Holocaust / Israel Gutman, editor in chief.

Pub. Yr.: 1990
Call #: Ref D804.3 .E53 1990
Location: Campbell Library 


Holocaust Encyclopedia / Walter Laqueur, editor ; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor.

Pub. Yr.: 2001
Call #: Ref. D804.25 .H66 2001
Location: Campbell Library - Ref. Collection - 2nd Floor


Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust / Jack R. Fischel

Pub. Yr.: 1999
Call #: D804.25 F57 1999
Location: Campbell Library


 

 

Find Articles

Search for Articles

BEST CHOICES

America: History and Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Historical Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. (Ebsco)

History Reference Center
Offers full text from reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, history periodicals, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. (Ebsco)

Other Good Sites

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals; PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals.

African-American History Online (Facts on File)

Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.  Includes biographies, events and topics, primary sources, timelines, images and videos, maps and charts.  All full text.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

 

Biography Collection Complete

A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas.  (Ebsco)

Cold War International History Project

The Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.  This is an endeavor of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

CQ Press Electronic Library

This “library” is composed of two modules:  CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly.  Researcherprovides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news with controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner. Coverage 1923 to present.  CQ Weekly reports weekly on the workings of Congress.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Documents are collected from federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.

JSTOR

Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.

Modern World History Online (Facts on File)


Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from mid-15th century to the present.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

Some of the collections: Africana and Black History, from 16th C to present; After Columbus: 400 Years of Native American Portraiture; Turn of the Century Posters; Picturing America, 1497-1899; Prints, Maps, and Drawings Bearing on the New World; A New Nation: The Thomas Addis Emmet Collection of Illustrations Relating to the American Revolution and Early US History.

New York Times

New York Times Late Edition (East Coast).  Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1980 – present); there are no graphics available. To access the complete historyof the New York select New York Times Historical 1851 to 2006  on the E-Resources list.  

Oxford Handbooks Online – History

More than 880 history articles are included in the Oxford Handbooks Online.

Oxford Handbooks Online – Religion

43 books and 1217 articles make up the Philosophy Subject Area of Oxford Handbooks Online.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

This authoritative, dynamic resource brings together the best current scholarship in the field for students, scholars, government officials, community groups, and librarians to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved under the guidance of the Editor in Chief, John L. Esposito.

PAIS International and Archive

This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

Presidential Timeline of the 20th Century

A multimedia online archive spearheaded by the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum in Austin, Texas, the collaborative effort presents interactive timelines of each president’s life that include documents, diaries, maps, photo galleries, audio recordings, video clips.

Project Muse

Full text database of  current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. JStor can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.

ProQuest Military Collection

The ProQuest Military Collection covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more. It includes over 550 titles, with more than 370 available in full-text, allowing you to search over 3.5M records, dating back to the early 1990's. Can also be searched as part of ProQuest Central.

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies

A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

Statistical Abstract

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. The latter function is served by the introductory text to each section, the source note appearing below each table, and Appendix I, which comprises the Guide to Sources of Statistics, the Guide to State Statistical Abstracts, and the Guide to Foreign Statistical Abstracts.

Primary Materials

Avalon Project

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government, spanning the time period from Ancient (BC) up to the present.

Jewish Life in America c1654 - 1954

Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 is an indispensable resource for scholars and students interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today. It will provide an essential resource for teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond. The material is based on a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York; we provide access to six major organisational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers; all of which have been digitized in their entirety.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online offers a portal to a wide range of materials including books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps and musical scores.  Works in Western as well as non-Western languages are drawn from some of the Worlds rare library collection making this a unique research tool. Search ECCO and NCCO (both or separately) with the new Artemis platform; currently two primary source databases (Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online) are included in this portal link.  Also link here for NCCO only.


Also see the Library Primary Sources Library Research Guide

Search Other Primary Sources

Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives makes available vast quantities of archived historical information, not previously furnished available online.  Primary source materials have been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy.  Online full-text search capabilities and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

American Journeys
Provides more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.

Archives Unbound

Archives unbound contains over fifty primary collections on a variety of topic. Listed here are the direct Links to several that a pertanent related to Holocaust Studies:

Civil War Newspapers

Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.  Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies.

Declassified Documents Reference System
Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified, primary source government documents. Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.  (Gale)

Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive contains a comprehensive collection of primary documents. The database includes declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.  (ProQuest)

Historic Documents
Database of primary source materials from 1972 forward. Approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of each year are presented.  (CQ Press)

National Archives and Records Administration
Over eight million photos and graphic images, plus five million images in Presidential Libraries, and nine million aerial photos. (GPO)

New York Times
New York Times Late Edition (East Coast).  Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1980 – present); there are no graphics available. To access the complete historyof the New York select New York Times Historical 1851 to 2010  on the E-Resources list.  

 New York Times Historical 1851 to 2010
Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. This online format replaces the microfiche archival coverage.  A user can pull up an issue by date, and "turn the pages" as if you were holding the paper in hand.  (Proquest)

NewsVault
NewsVault, from Gale-Cengage Learning, delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.

North American Slave Narratives
Part of Documenting the American South, "includes all known autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves in the United states to 1920."

Sources: A National Library of Ireland Database of Irish Research
Sources: A National Library of Ireland database for Irish research, contains over 180,000 records for Irish manuscripts, and articles in Irish periodicals. Search the National Library's manuscripts cataloged to the 1980s; Irish manuscripts held in other libraries worldwide from the 1940s to the 1970s. Included as well is an Index to articles, reviews and other content contained in over 150 Irish periodicals (download a full list of the journals ) up to 1969.

The Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006
Since 1822, The Sunday Times, of London, has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sports and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.

 The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
The Times Digital Archive spans over 220 years, from 1785 through 2007, and includes 1 million pages and 7 million articles.  Search the complete digital edition of The Times (London) using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. View contemporaneous coverage of the world's historical events from the French Revolution to the Iraq War.

Wall Street Journal Historical
Begins coverage in 1889 through 1995.  For more recent issues of the Wall Street Journal, select the Wall Street Journal Online. 

ALSO SEE:

 

Films/Videos

Documentaries and Narrative Film Lists

IMDB 50 Most Moving Holocaust Films

Link to IMDB for a list with extensive information about each film

IMDB Best Holocaust Films of All Time

Link to IMDB for a list with extensive information about each film

Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive at the US Holocaust Memorial Museum

The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II. Staff continue to locate, acquire, preserve, and document historical film footage from sources throughout the United States and abroad. The collection can be searched by subject, title, source, copyright, keyword, language, location, event date, and genre.

Teacher's Guide to the Holocasut - Videography

Note that this is an older but very valuable list. Many of the films identified as VHS may have been re-released on DVD or will be available on various streaming servies. Sadly some has become unavailable as vhs has become obsolete. In any event, the Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust - Videography is a comprehensive list searchable by TITLE, by SUBJECT, and by VENDOR  The Teacher Guide to the Holocaust is maintained by the University of South Florida, College of Education.

Wikipedia List of Holocaust Films

Includes an extensive list fo both narrative and documentary film dealing with the holocaust

Websites

Page Index

Click for desired war:

 

 


 

Click the picture of top button button,
bottom left to return to
the top of the page.

Primary Documents

Starting Points

Yad Vashem
As the Jewish people’s living memorial to the Holocaust, Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. Established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is today a dynamic and vital place of inter-generational and international encounter.

The Holocaust Chronicle
The website contains every word and image that appears in the print edition of the Holocaust Chronicle, published by Publications International, Ltd, in 2000.  The 800 pages and more than 1,800 images can be searched and viewed in a number of ways. 

 

United States Holocaust Museum

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington, DC
This important Website shares online the collected memories of the US Holocaust Museum. The link above will take you to the main Website. Below are links to online Collections developed by the USHMM.  

The Nuremberg Trials and their Legacy
The Holocaust was an unprecedented crime—a crime composed of millions of murders, wrongful imprisonments, and tortures, of rape, theft, and destruction. In the immediate aftermath of the Holocaust, the world was faced with a challenge—how to seek justice for an almost unimaginable scale of criminal behavior. The International Military Tribunal (IMT) held in the city of Nuremberg, Germany, attempted to broach this immense challenge on a legal basis.

Genocide under the Nazis (The Holocaust)

The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students
Organized by theme, this learning site presents an overview of the Holocaust through historical photographs, maps, images of artifacts, and testimony clips. It is a resource for middle and secondary level students and teachers, with content that reflects the history as it is presented in the Museum’s Permanent Exhibition.

Nazi Olympics
In August 1936, Adolf Hitler’s Nazi dictatorship scored a huge propaganda success as host of the Summer Olympics in Berlin. The Games were a brief, two-week interlude in Germany’s escalating campaign against its Jewish population and the country’s march toward war.

Photo Archives

Over 31,000 photos. Sort by date relevance and title. 

Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive
This online catalog provides access to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum’s Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive. The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II. Staff continue to locate, acquire, preserve, and document historical film footage from sources throughout the United States and abroad. The collection can be searched by subject, title, source, copyright, keyword, language, location, event date, and genre.

Some were Neighbors: Collaboration and Complicity in the Holocaust
Millions of ordinary people witnessed the crimes of the Holocaust—in the countryside and city squares, in stores and schools, in homes and workplaces. Across Europe, the Nazis found countless willing helpers who collaborated or were complicit in their crimes. What motives and pressures led so many individuals to abandon their fellow human beings? Why did others make the choice to help?

Warsaw
The city of Warsaw, the capital of Poland, flanks both banks of the Vistula River. A city of 1.3 million inhabitants, Warsaw was the capital of the resurrected Polish state in 1919. Before World War II, the city was a major center of Jewish life and culture in Poland. Warsaw's prewar Jewish population of more than 350,000 constituted about 30 percent of the city's total population.

 top of page

Oral Histories

British Library- Voices of the Holocaust
Voices of the Holocaust consists of oral history testimonies gathered from Jewish men and women who came to live in Britain during or after WWII. These testimonies are personal, individual, true stories, that describe the hardships of life during Hitler's reign.

The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. Part of Yale University's department of Manuscripts and Archives, the archive is located at Sterling Memorial Library

Holocasust Survivors 
Offers a very real and personal connection to the victims of the Holocaust.  Click to obtain a free RealOne plugin, if required.

Survivors of the Shoah
Steven Speilberg's mission: "to videotape and preserve the testimonies of Holocaust survivors and witnesses", dramatically presented on this exceptional website. 

 

Top of page 

Primary Sources in Print

The International Military Tribunal for Germany

Contents of the Nuremberg Trials Collection. Part of the Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy

Harvard Law School Library Nuremberg Trials Project 

Harvard Law School Library uniquely owns and manages approximately one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and the subsequent twelve trials of other accused Nazi war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT) during the period 1945-49. Considered by many to be the most significant series of trials in history, these trials were established to prosecute those in authority in the Nazi regime for war crimes and crimes against humanity, to document those atrocities so that a permanent historical record would be created, and to establish a standard of conduct acceptable in time of war. (source: website)

Yizkor Book Project

 

NYPL Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books

 

Jewish Refugees, the Recognition of Israel and U.S. Israeli Relations: Archival Materials at the Library

 

A French Schoolgirl's Letters from the Holocaust

Made possible through a partnership of the Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah;  La Mémorial de la Shoah;  and France24.

 

Top of Page

Educational Sites

Nizkor Project

This site is intended for educational purposes to teach about the Holocaust and to combat hatred. As part of these educational purposes, Nizkor may include on this website materials, such as excerpts from the writings of racists and antisemites. Far from approving these writings, Nizkor condemns them and provides them so that its readers can learn the nature and extent of hate and antisemitic discourse. Nizkor urges the readers of these pages to condemn racist and hate speech in all of its forms and manifestations.

Holocaust - Internet History Sourcebooks

Long an exceptional source of links to websites, so-called Megasites, and primary and secondary document related to history. This section focuses on the Holocaust, Anti-Semitism, and covers other groups as well. 

Teachers Guide to the Holocaust

An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature

Guidelines for Teaching about the Holocaust

From the US Holocaust Memorial Museum

The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students

From the US Holocaust Memorial Museum

Holocaust Teacher Resource Center

Educators, (kindergarten through college) will find at this site materials which can be brought into the classroom and studied. Whenever possible entire documents are included and may be downloaded for direct use in the classroom.

Yad Vashem Holocaust Education Video Toolbox

As the Jewish people’s living memorial to the Holocaust, Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. Established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is today a dynamic and vital place of intergenerational and international encounter.

The Florida Holocaust Museum

The Florida Holocaust Museum honors the memory of millions of innocent men, women and children who suffered or died in the Holocaust. The Museum is dedicated to teaching the members of all races and cultures the inherent worth and dignity of human life in order to prevent future genocides. 

Center for Holocaust and Humanity Education

The Center for Holocaust and Humanity Education educates about the Holocaust, remembers its victims and acts on its lessons. Through innovative programs and partnerships, CHHE challenges injustice, inhumanity and prejudice, and fosters understanding, inclusion and engaged citizenship. Resources include traveling and permanent exhibits, teacher trainings, and innovative programs.

 Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia

The Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia is dedicated to offering an assortment of Holocaust programs throughout the year that heighten public awareness about the Holocaust (especially among youth), honor survivors and use lessons from the Holocaust to teach tolerance in our diverse society. Our programs serve to engage people of all ages and backgrounds in conversations about the contemporary relevance of the Holocaust and its lessons.

Research Focused Sites

Simon Wiesenthal Center, Los Angeles, CA
The Simon Wiesenthal Center is a global Jewish human rights organization that confronts anti-Semitism, hate and terrorism, promotes human rights and dignity, stands with Israel, defends the safety of Jews worldwide, and teaches the lessons of the Holocaust for future generations. With a constituency of over 400,000 households in the United States, it is accredited as an NGO at international organizations including the United Nations, UNESCO, OSCE, Organization of American States (OAS), the Latin American Parliament (PARLATINO) and the Council of Europe.

Holocaust History Project
The Holocaust History Project is a free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, videos and essays regarding the Holocaust, including direct refutation of Holocaust-denial.

The Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
The Internet Jewish hHistory Sourcebook. Site edited by Paul Hallsall and housed at Fordham Univesity. The resources inclcuded ion this page covers a full histories of the Jews , including many important works related to the Holocaust.

Remember the Women Institute
The Women's Instituete conducts and encourages research and cultural activities that contribute to including women in history. Dr. Rochelle G. Saidel is the founder and executive director of the Institute, which maintains this website.  Special emphasis is on women in the context of the Holocaust and its aftermath, including post-World War II immigration. Other topics include women marginalized within Jewish religion and inter-religious dialogue, as well as the accomplishments and exclusion of women in Jewish and general history, the effects of genocide on women, exploitation of women, and the effects of culture on memorialization.

Universiy of Minnesota Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies
CHGS is a research institute of the University of Minnesota’s College of Liberal Arts that serves to educate and provide space for scholars, artists, educators, students and other interested individuals to examine and memorialize the Holocaust and other genocides. Through programs, exhibitions, conferences/symposia/workshops, and academic resources, CHGS provides a singular and interdisciplinary venue to discuss, study and gain understanding of the recurring phenomena of genocide and other human rights violations. 

David Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies
The Wyman Institute teaches the history and lessons of America’s response to the Holocaust, through scholarly research, public events, publications, and educational programs.

top of page

Museums

Anne Frank House
The Diary of Anne Frank is often the first introduction to the Holocaust for many students in the United States. This site is the online site of the Anne Frank House Museum.

Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum (Poland)
At first, the Germans held Polish political prisoners in the camp. From the spring of 1942 Auschwitz became the largest site for the murder of Jews brought here under the Nazi plan for their extermination. More than 1,100,000 men, women, and children lost their lives here.

Dallas Holocaust Museum
Founded in 1984, the Dallas Holocaust Museum/Center for Education and Tolerance is dedicated to preserving the memory of the Holocaust, and to teaching the moral and ethical response to prejudice, hatred and indifference for the benefit of all humanity.

Florida Holocaust Museum, St. Petersburg, FL
The Florida Holocaust Museum honors the memory of millions of innocent men, women and children who suffered or died in the Holocaust.  The Museum is dedicated to teaching the members of all races and cultures the inherent worth and dignity of human life in order to prevent future genocides. 

Ghetto Fighters' Museum (Israel)
he Ghetto Fighters' House – Itzhak Katzenelson Holocaust and Jewish Resistance Heritage Museum was founded in 1949 by a community of Holocaust survivors, members of the Jewish underground in the ghettos of Poland, and veterans of partisan units, to be a place of testimony that would tell the story of the Jewish People in the 20th century in general, and during the Second World War in particular. At the center of this chronicle are the manifestations of Jewish resistance: the organized uprisings of Jews in the ghettos and camps, and the Jews who fought in partisan units and the armies of the Allied forces.

Holocaust Museum Houston
Holocaust Museum Houston is dedicated to educating people about the Holocaust, remembering the 6 million Jews and other innocent victims and honoring the survivors' legacy. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other genocides, we teach the dangers of hatred, prejudice and apathy.

lllinois Holocaust Museum & Education Center
Remember the Past, Transform the Future. The Museum is dedicated to preserving the legacy of the Holocaust by honoring the memories of those who were lost and by teaching universal lessons that combat hatred, prejudice and indifference. The Museum fulfills its mission through the exhibition, preservation and interpretation of its collections and through education programs and initiatives that foster the promotion of human rights and the elimination of genocide.

Jewish Museum of Maryland, Baltimore, MD
The Jewish Museum of Maryland, America’s leading museum of regional Jewish history, culture and community, located in downtown Baltimore, 

The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life, in the Bancroft Library, Berkeley, CA
The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life was established in 2010 at The Bancroft Library after the transfer of the Judah L. Magnes Museum to the University of California, Berkeley. Its remarkably diverse archive, library and museum holdings include art, objects, texts, music, and historical documents about the Jews in the Global Diaspora and the American West. As one of the world's preeminent Jewish collections in a university setting, it provides highly innovative and accessible resources to both researchers and visitors

The Jewish Museum, New York 
The Jewish Museum, the preeminent museum in the United States devoted exclusively to art and Jewish culture. A visit in person or online will provide a journey through time and across continents.

Museum of Jewish Heritage, New York
The mission of the Museum is to educate people of all ages and backgrounds about the broad tapestry of Jewish life in the 20th and 21st centuries,  before, during, and after the Holocaust.

Museum of Tolerance
The Museum of Tolerance (MOT) is the educational arm of the Simon Wiesenthal Center, an internationally renowned Jewish human rights organization.  The only museum of its kind in the world, the MOT is dedicated to challenging visitors to understand the Holocaust in both historic and contemporary contexts and confront all forms of prejudice and discrimination in our world today. 

Spertus Museum, Spertus Institute of Jewish Studies, Chicago, IL
Spertus Institute for Jewish Learning and Leadership offers dynamic learning opportunities, rooted in Jewish wisdom and culture and open to all. These opportunities are designed to enable personal growth, train future leaders, and engage individuals in exploration of Jewish life. 

 Virginia Holocaust Museum

Founded in 1997, the Virginia Holocaust Museum views its primary mission as educating the world-wide community about the historical and personal realities of the Holocaust. Through its permanent exhibitions, the Museum remembers the atrocities of the Shoah, the sacrifices of its victims, the bravery of its heroes and the courage of the survivors. The Museum’s commitment to Tolerance Through Education, encapsulates its goal to combat intolerance, anti-Semitism, racism, prejudice, fear and hatred with knowledge, understanding, compassion and acceptance.

Yeshiva University Museum, New York
Since its founding in 1973, Yeshiva University Museum’s changing exhibits have celebrated the culturally diverse intellectual and artistic achievements of 3,000 years of Jewish experience. The Museum provides a window into Jewish culture around the world and throughout history through its acclaimed multi-disciplinary exhibitions and award-winning publications. By educating audiences of all ages with dynamic interpretations of Jewish life, past and present, along with wide-ranging cultural offerings and programs, the Museum attracts young and old, Jewish and non-Jewish audiences.

top of page

Additional Sites of Interest

--

Site Info

About this Libguide

This site was developed, and is maintained by Bruce Whitham for the purpose of offering a starting point to the Study of the Holocaust.

Rowan Library LibGuides are hosted on the Springshare LibGuides Portal, to which Rowan University Libraries subscribes.  Please send comments, suggestions, corrections to Bruce Whitham via email.

Rowan University makes no claim to freely available websites nor does it accept responsibility for the information or opinions expressed by those who have created or authored the content or by those who are quoted on the sites.

The use of this guide infers acceptance of the Terms of Use, spelled out on the Rowan University Libraries site. If you do not agree to abide by these terms you are required to leave the site.  


Contact Information

Research and Instructional Services. Tel 8856.256.4979.  Email: whitham@rowan.edu