The most frequently-used databases
Configure web access to the New York Times. Includes the full web and app version of the NYT for the current Rowan community, including The Athletic, Wirecutter, Games, and Food sections.
Audiobook collection including popular nonfiction and fiction, overlooked books, U.S. Literature, U.S. Literature: Authors of Color, and British Literature. You can borrow up to 3 audiobooks at a time, for up to 21 days.
Follow these steps to use Overdrive (Audiobooks) on your mobile device:
- Install the Libby app on your mobile device, and open it.
- On the opening screen, select Yes, I Have A Library Card.
- Select Search For A Library, search for Rowan, and select Rowan University.
- Select Sign In With My Card and then Next, and log in with your Rowan NetID and password, including Duo verification.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Primary and secondary source materials in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, and the context of disability in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
This history database contains tens of thousands of U.K. government documents relating to Britain’s international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports, and more.
Primary sources documenting the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Provides unlimited access to thousands of pre-1701 books and rare incunabula printed in Europe. Coverage includes Collections 1-24.
Primary sources providing a personal view of events in the region from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the 19th century.
Provides digital access to the archives of leading education trade magazines of the 20th century, covering multiple aspects of the history of education of this period, with magazines devoted to a range of educational levels, topics, and audiences.
Key engineering failures and case studies.
Uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global, and interdisciplinary ways.
This collection contains the backfiles of more than thirty 20th- and 21st-century magazines each aimed at ethnically specific audiences. Ranging from political titles to publications concerned with arts, fashion, beauty, and identity, the collection reflects diverse voices and gives insight into cultural perspectives, societal shifts, and historical events.
Contains previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s.
A collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection is accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and classroom exercises and activities. There are a variety of teaching themes, including family and kinship, gender, identity, belief, archaeology, and primate behavior.
A collection of accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. American Film Scripts: Volume I contains hundreds of titles from classic American cinema, while Film Scripts Online: Volume II focuses more on contemporary and international films.
A database of content about food studies and its place in the study of culture, economics, business, politics, and the process of globalization.
This archive offers access to nearly 80 years of industry news, reporting, and analysis, allowing users to analyze historical trends and gain unique insights into the evolution of the footwear industry.
A database providing cross-cultural information on women's history.
Primary sources covering the Gilded Age, with topics including immigration and migration, racism and civil rights, labor and industry, women and universal suffrage, American Indians, and the environment.
Provides access to the backfiles of several major US and UK consumer magazines, with the earliest coverage starting from 1950.
A research and learning database providing in one place comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide.
Provides direct access to rare primary source materials and evidence of Britain’s cultural, social, industrial, and technological heritage.
An archive of two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional and the Daily English-language Latin File. These episodes focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more including interviews with key figures and coverage of important historical events, all reported by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.
Covers LGBTQ+ history and culture through over 40 influential magazines dating back to the 1950s, covering activism, lifestyle, and more. Includes Collections 1-2.
Key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day.
This collection explores various practices in journalism: from investigative journalism to crisis and war reporting, to the impact of technological advancements on the media. This multimedia resource covers approaches to journalism that draw upon first-hand accounts, memoirs, historical accounts, videos and archival records.
