Subject Librarian
Why Articles?
Much new research in music and music history is published in peer-reviewed journals (and in books from academic presses). Peer-review is a process where articles are vetted by experts in the field, so they generally carry more academic weight than newspaper reviews, blog posts, and trade magazines.
Music Databases
Databases often contain full-text access to scholarly content, while indexes point to the existence of scholarly content and may not provide full-text access.
If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.
If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines. Over 100 music journals are represented, including full back runs of four journals that began publication in the 19th century.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles for the study of music.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to 18 scholarly music journals.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowJournal, magazine and news articles in all academic fields.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to the literature of music.