Welcome
Welcome
This is a guide for researching the business aspects of the cannabis industry within the resources of Rowan University Libraries.
This research guide is set up to help you locate resources about creating, managing and all aspects of a cannabis business.
If you would like to suggest a resource, please contact Campbell Library.
Image credit: "Marihuana Cannabis sativa" by floresyplantas.net is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Books
Books available from the Campbell Library
The Rowan University Libraries provide access to new books frequently. To search for them, go to the Campbell Library home page https://www.lib.rowan.edu/campbell and use the "Library Search" box there.
Type keywords such as...
cannabis business
...and then use the filters on the left to choose a "Resource Type" of books.
Remember, different titles will appear in your results list when using different keywords, so try other keyword variations also, such as:
marijuana business
cannaibis profit
CBD sales
cannabinoid research
The left side of the results screen will contain filters which will let you sort this list of library materials by their "Resource Type" (check the box to the left of the word "books" or click "show more" if needed). You may use multiple filters on any results list, so also try to sort by "Date-newest" or "Subject" as you wish.
Here are a few examples of electronic books which the library provides in full text:
The Business of Cannabis by ISBN: 1440857865Publication Date: 2018What happens when corporate culture takes over counterculture? This book explores the contradictions present within the cannabis industry from a business and policy perspective.
Start Your Own Cannabis Business: Your Step-By-Step Guide to the Marijuana Industry by ISBN: 1599186322Publication Date: 2018From retailers to growers, producers, and suppliers, there's a seemingly never-ending list of startup opportunities in this emerging market. Take a closer look at the world of weed as a business opportunity.
Cannabis Laboratory Design Fundamentals by ISBN: 9783030627157Publication Date: 2021The legislative requirement for cannabis to undergo laboratory testing has followed legalization of medical and recreational use in every U.S. state to date.
American Hemp Farmer by ISBN: 9781603589192Publication Date: 2020The inside story of the world's most fascinating and lucrative crop from gonzo journalist-turned-hemp farmer Doug Fine. Hemp, the non-psychoactive variant of cannabis (or marijuana) and one of humanity's oldest plant allies, has quietly become the fastest industry ever to generate a billion dollars of annual revenue in North America.
Grass Roots by ISBN: 9780870719080Publication Date: 2017Marijuana legalization is unfolding across the American West, but cultivation of the cannabis plant is anything but green.
Legal Marijuana by ISBN: 9781476673097Publication Date: 2018The legalization of marijuana has spread rapidly throughout the United States, from just a handful of states ten years ago to now more than half, as well as the nation's capital. In Canada, it is legal to use and distribute nationally.
In the Weeds by ISBN: 9781439913314Publication Date: 2019More and more states are legalizing marijuana in some form. Moreover, a majority of the U.S. population is in favor of the drug for recreational use.
Cannabiz by ISBN: 9781317262831Publication Date: 2016Cannabiz tells one the most important political and business stories of our generation: the transformation of a counterculture movement into a growth industry with staggering potential.
Cannabis Jobs by ISBN: 1510749527Publication Date: 2020-02-04Andrew Ward spills the beans on how to obtain a job or full-blown career in the cannabis industry.
Handbook of Cannabis by ISBN: 0199662681Publication Date: 2014-10-21Truly global in scope and with contributions from leading researchers around the world, The Handbook of Cannabis is the definitive resource on this fascinating drug. Combining scientific perspectives and clinical applications, it covers a vast array of topics, from why over the centuriescannabis has been used as a medicine, through the regulations facing those wishing to self-administer cannabis or provide cannabis-based medicines, to the chemical structure of its many constituents and the rapidly growing group of synthetic cannabinoids that are currently being used for "legalhighs."
Marijuana and the Cannabinoids by ISBN: 1588294560Publication Date: 2006-10-15Although primarily used today as one of the most prevalent illicit leisure drugs, the use of Cannabis sativa L., commonly referred to as marijuana, for medicinal purposes has been reported for more than 5000 years.
Cannabis by ISBN: 9780520270480Publication Date: 2013-09-01Cannabis: Evolution and Ethnobotany is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary exploration of the natural origins and early evolution of this famous plant, highlighting its historic role in the development of human societies.
Cannabis Sativa L. - Botany and Biotechnology by ISBN: 3319545639Publication Date: 2017-08-14This book highlights current Cannabis research: its botany, authentication, biotechnology, in vitro propagation, chemistry, cannabinoids biosynthesis, metabolomics, genomics, biomass production, quality control, and pharmacology.
Cannabinoids by ISBN: 1118451295Publication Date: 2014-08-11'Cannabinoids' is a broad term covering a group of natural products from Cannabis sativa, one of which locks on to specific receptors - protein molecules on the surface of cells - known as cannabinoid receptors.
Cannabis Grower's Handbook by ISBN: 1936807548Publication Date: 2021-10-26Ed Rosenthal has been teaching people how to grow marijuana for decades. Let him help you cultivate bountiful buds, and lots of them.
The Botany of Desire by ISBN: 0375501290Publication Date: 2001-05-08In 1637, one Dutchman paid as much for a single tulip bulb as the going price of a town house in Amsterdam. Three and a half centuries later, Amsterdam is once again the mecca for people who care passionately about one particular plant — thought this time the obsessions revolves around the intoxicating effects of marijuana rather than the visual beauty of the tulip.
Cannabis by ISBN: 1315350599Publication Date: 2016-10-14Cannabis sativa is best known as the source of marijuana, the world's most widely consumed illicit recreational drug. However, the plant is also extremely useful as a source of stem fiber, edible seed oil, and medicinal compounds, all of which are undergoing extremely promising research, technological applications, and business investment.
Branding bud : the commercialization of cannabis by ISBN: 1936807521Publication Date: 2021Branding Bud showcases the exciting range of products that cannabis consumers will be able to buy in a local dispensary once legalization comes to their state. The book offers a comprehensive overview and contextualization of this new segment, examining the multitude of emerging brands, their creative assets, and the strategies behind them, and the political, legal, and cultural aspects of cannabis that inform the brand landscape of today.
The Cannabis Grow Bible by ISBN: 1931160848Publication Date: 2009-12-08This guide is the culmination of 20 years of experience in marijuana cultivation and collaboration with growers from all over Europe. For the enthusiast and professional alike, this is the most authoritative grow book to be released in more than a decade.
The Essential Cannabis Book by ISBN: 9781940611815Publication Date: 2018-10-30If You Simply Want to Know the Basics of Today's Cannabis Landscape... One of the most popular topics of discussion and debate today is the use of cannabis; How other parts of the world are embracing cannabis; Why the use of cannabis is a social justice/racial justice issue and what we can do about it; What medical conditions respond best to cannabis and why cannabis medical research in the US is severely hampered; What are the many ways that cannabis can be responsibly consumed and what are the advantages and drawbacks of each type of use; Recipes that work well with cannabis infusions, and more.
Databases, Journals, News, and More
Library Databases for Journals, Magazines, News Sources and Reports
Library databases contain journal articles, magazines, newspapers, data dashboards, and many other types of information to which we subscribe. You may use the "Library Search" box on the Campbell Library home page to search for the same topics above, such as...
cannabis business
... or any other combination of keywords you wish, and then use the filters on the left to narrow your results list to articles, newspapers, or other kinds of sources offered. These filter menus are contextual (so they will change depending on the different keywords you choose) and you may need to "reset filters" to start a fresh search as needed.
Remember, all of the content in our subscription databases are not necessarily accessible through the "Library Search" box, especially the specialized resources within many of the business databases. Therefore, you must go to each library database separately in order to use the search box for each one, since they all work a bit differently.
Here are some library databases and other resources you may want to check on this topic:
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for “marijuana industry” or “cannabis industry” find video and peer reviewed literature in allied health journals.
- IBISWorld Global Industry Research This link opens in a new windowType "cannabis" in the main search box to find reports on aspects of the marijuana industry such as growing operations, recreational stores, or medical dispensaries.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowTo find reports about the global cannabis industry and many related businesses, type "cannabis" in the main search box and then change "All" to "Analysis."
- PrivCo (Private Company Financial Database) This link opens in a new windowPrivate businesses begin to be included in this database once they are over $1M in annual revenue or over $1M in venture capital funding. Search tip: try the "keyword search" box rather than the "search term" box since they both work differently. Privco includes information on private equity investors, mergers and acquisitions, revenues, and many other aspects of the most profitable businesses in this industry across the country. Registration required.
- Reference Solutions (Data Axle) This link opens in a new windowClick "U.S. Businesses" to search for names and basic business info, then choose the advanced tab. On the left limiter menu, check Keyword/SICS/NAICS to bring up the search box in the middle column where you can type "cannabis." Soon, you will be able to also use the limiter for City/State to bring up the names of the newly authorized NJ dispensaries, but you can search other locales as well. Remember to use the blue "update count" button after you choose any new filter options, and then the green button to "view results."
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLargest bibliographic database subscribed by Rowan. Multidisciplinary. Search for “marijuana industry” or “cannabis industry” generates hundreds of citations about banking, foreign investments, medical research, policy and marketing.
Of course, there are many more resources of the Rowan University Libraries than we can list here, so all of the strategies on this page will help you uncover more. If a journal or magazine or newspaper is provided by multiple databases, be sure to choose the link which indicates an ongoing date range of holdings. For example, several databases have the newest articles from the Philadelphia Inquirer, but you would choose a database that says the full text is "Available from 01/0/1983" instead of "Available from 12/12/1969 until 07/15/2001" for this purpose. For additional help in in using any of these library databases, please contact a librarian for further assistance.
Search specific keywords in these journals (or find other journal names using Journal Finder from library homepage)
- Journal of Cannabis Research
- Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research
- Cannabis Wire
- Cannabis Industry Insight
- Medical Cannabis and Cannabinoids
- Cannabis: Research Society of Marijuana
- Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs
Search keywords in trade and news magazines (or find other publication titles using Journal Finder from library homepage)
Check regional New Jersey business news in these newspapers (or search in newspapers around the country or world - more detailed info in the Newspapers Research Guide)
- Philadelphia Inquirer
- The Star Ledger
- And local NJ and PA area newspapers for particular counties or regions (e.g., the Bergen Record, the Asbury Park Press, the Courier-Post)
Browse the websites of local television news and radio news channels (e.g., NJ1015.com, WHYY)
And for news from the broader region, you can search all the usual major news sources like newspapers (e.g., the Wall Street Journal), magazines (e.g., Bloomberg BusinessWeek), or newswires (e.g. Reuters or Associated Press). Most of this content can be found full-text in library databases, but remember, many of these places have different content in their official daily publications versus the content on their websites and blogs, so consult both for a comprehensive search.
Additional articles and web sites of interest:
- Hermaphroditism in Marijuana (Cannabis sativa L.) Inflorescences – Impact on Floral Morphology, Seed Formation, Progeny Sex Ratios, and Genetic Variation
- A physical and genetic map of Cannabis sativa identifies extensive rearrangements at the THC/CBD acid synthase loci
- The Cannigma
- Project CBD
- Psychologists have developed a new psychometric assessment of cannabis intoxication
- Medical Cannabis Certificate
- At Bellevue University, Dr. Andrea Holmes designed an 18 credit, 18 week, 7 course, fully online, medical cannabis certificate that is designed for healthcare providers, dispensary and retail employees, e-commerce, CPG, and people who provide cannabis care to themselves or others. The certificate is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and the certificate is eligible for federal financial aid. Courses include medical cannabis for women, men, adolescents, seniors, animals, palliative care, cannabis formulations, and newly emerging psychoactive botanicals. The program begins 6 June 2022. To learn more contact Dr. Holmes at andrea.holmes@doane.edu