Find Articles in the Library: Two Ways

Library Search is the main search box on the library homepage, which you can find at this link:

Click the links in the text below for images of the process.

News Articles

1. To find newspaper articles, don't search right away. Instead, click the "Advanced Search" link below the search box.
2. In the next screen, click the "Newspaper Articles" link in the yellow bar at the very top of the screen.
3. Now search for your topic in the box at the top. You will receive results from many different newspapers, which you can refine using the options on the left.

Magazine Articles

1. Enter your search directly into the box on the library home page, and click the search button.
2. On the results page, scroll down to the section in the left bar marked "Resource Type," and click "Magazines Articles." (You may need to click the "Show More" link to find it.)
3. This will display only results for your topic that are magazine articles. You can also use other options in the left bar to narrow them further.

Scholarly Journal Articles

1. Enter your search directly into the box on the library home page, and click the search button.
2. On the results page, go to the section in the left bar marked "Limit To," and click "Peer-reviewed Journals."
3. Then, also in the left bar, scroll down to the section marked "Resource Type," and click "Articles."
4. This will display only results for your topic that are scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles. You can also use other options in the left bar to narrow them further.

Databases are online tools you can log into through the library, which provide searchable collections of articles and other resources. They can be found in alphabetical order in the Database Finder on the library homepage:

Try starting with the database below, ProQuest Central. Always access it using a link from a Rowan library webpage like this one, or you won't be able to log in!

Click the links in the text below for images of the process.

News Articles

1. Log into ProQuest Central from the link above.
2. Search for your topic in the search boxes at the top of the database screen.
3. On the results page, scroll down to the section marked "Source type" in the left bar, and click "Newspapers." (If you don't see it, click the "More" link, and then check the "Include" box next to Newspapers, and click the Apply button.)
4. Your results will now be limited to only newspaper articles on your topic. You can narrow them down further using other options in the left bar.

Magazine Articles

1. Log into ProQuest Central from the link above.
2. Search for your topic in the search boxes at the top of the database screen.
3. On the results page, scroll down to the section marked "Source type" in the left bar, and click "Magazines." (If you don't see it, click the "More" link, and then check the "Include" box next to Magazines, and click the Apply button.)
4. Your results will now be limited to only magazine articles on your topic. You can narrow them down further using other options in the left bar.

Scholarly Journal Articles

1. Log into ProQuest Central from the link above.
2. Search for your topic in the search boxes at the top of the database screen.
3. On the results page, scroll down to the section marked "Source type" in the left bar, and click "Scholarly Journals." (If you don't see it, click the "More" link, and then check the "Include" box next to Scholarly Journals, and click the Apply button.)
4. Your results will now be limited to only scholarly journal articles on your topic. You can narrow them down further using other options in the left bar.

To use Opposing Viewpoints to find pro and con articles on a topic (click links for image examples):

1. Log in using the link above, or the one in the Database Finder on the library website.
2. Enter your topic in the search box near the top of the screen. If Opposing Viewpoints has a topic page that matches your topic, it will be the first suggestion below your search, in bold. For example, if you type in "climate change," it will suggest the topic page "Global Warming and Climate Change."
3. Click the suggested topic to go to the topic page. Under the quick overview of the topic, you will see links you can use to go to different parts of the page with links to different types of viewpoint articles on the topic.
4. If no suggested topic page comes up when you enter your topic, just search for it normally. There may not be as many article results as there would be for a topic with its own page, but you can still explore what's available the same way.
5. Alternately, you can click Browse Issues in the bar of icons on the right, near the top of the main page. This will display a list of all topics with their own pages available, and you can select a page to explore.