Research Guides: Government Information: Legal Research

Meta-Indexes

WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Database of sources for news and legal information.
Access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Includes the New Jersey Administrative Code.

AllLaw.com
Internet's premier law portal
American Law Sources Online (ALSO)
Its purpose is to provide a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to all online sources of American law.
Findlaw
A comprehensive index of links to resources in practice areas such as case law, codes, legal associations, law reviews. . . .
Global Legal Monitor
An online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It draws on information from the Global Legal Information Network, official national legal publications, and reliable press sources.
Guide to Law Online
Prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, this is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online.
Hieros Gamos
Contains links to legal and government materials, including practice area sources, as well as, international and foreign governments
LawGuru
Provides a variety of links to legal information
Legal Information Institute
Open access to law since 1992 - - Recent & historic Supreme Court decisions, U.S. Code, U.S. Constitution, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Rules of Evidence, Civil Procedure. . . .
Guide to Law Online
The Law Library of Congress offers free online access to historical U.S. legal materials from HeinOnline. These titles are available through the Library’s web portal, Guide to Law Online: U.S. Federal.
Meta-Index for U.S. Legal Resources
Search a variety of U.S. legal indexes on the internet.

Administrative Codes and Registers
Provides links to 50 states, Federal Government, District of Columbia, and U.S. Territories - homepages, registers, codes, and manuals
SEE under 'What Are Rules'
State & Local Government on the Internet
The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
LegiScan
Legiscan is a free database that monitors current legislation in all 50 states, as well as the U.S. Congress.

Legal History on the Web
Justia
Provides free case law, codes, regulations, statutes, and legal information - also blogs, alerts, opinion summaries, federal dockets - all searchable.
LII (Legal Information Institute)
Free access to cases, statutes, and regulations. This open source database covers all federal cases, statutes, and regulations but has limited state resources. Also links each state’s website so users can access state constitutions, bills, laws, and much more.