It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. This compendium is a major source of information for professional practitioners, researchers in psychology, and for anyone interested in applied psychology. The topics included are, but are not limited to, aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. The entries drawn from the above-referenced areas provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
This mini-encyclopedia aims to provide a survey of the wide range of interventions available for treating schizophrenia at a level appropriate for non-specialists who are beginning their engagement in the area and for others as a source of reference for the specialist. The pharmacological options are considered alongside psychosocial management approaches and the advantages and disadvantages of each treatment modality are outlined. The entries are written by leading experts, including basic and clinical scientists in academia and industry, and include descriptions of many relevant fundamental psychological and biological processes of the disorder. The volume owes much to the Encyclopedia of Psychopharmacology edited by Ian Stolerman IP (published by Springer-Verlag in 2010), from which some entries are reproduced. Where entries deal with pharmacological interventions, the aim is to provide detailed information on the neuropsychopharmacology of the substances from domains such as clinical, experimental, and molecular pharmacology, insofar as they impact upon understanding of schizophrenia. Articles on non-drug interventions review the most recent evidence base related to commonly applied psychotherapeutic and rehabilitative measures. Other essays focus upon the key concepts and research methods used in the field, describing the main features of investigative techniques and outlining their roles, the types of information obtained and why they are needed; the advantages and limitations of a technique may also be summarized. The essays are complemented by many short definitions of important terms; in the interest of ease of reading, these definitions are not assigned to named authors; they are typically related to specific essays that they cross-reference and relevant authorship details can be found in the latter.
The second volume of the three-volume Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology examines the behavioral factors that affect both disease outcomes and health promotion. The volume posits that the use of a public health model might create more integrated and coordinated primary risk reduction approaches in health care. Leading clinicians and researchers discuss risk factors, methods for risk reduction, the maintenance of health, and adaptation to health and disease. This practical sourcebook will be an invaluable reference for health psychologists and medical professionals. The Handbook of Clinical Health Psychology is both comprehensive and specific as it relates to the entire field of health psychology. Topics in Volume 1 explore the role of behavior and psychology in a wide range of medical disorders, and use the ICD-9 diagnostic classification as a basis. Volume 3 examines the models and theories that psychologists use to provide heuristic paradigms for health psychology. This set could be used as an encyclopedia, a manual, or a comprehensive text. It is meant to encompass a newly developing, rapidly expanding, scientifically validating, and clinically recognized area concerned with
The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition is an award-winning three-volume reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 300 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts. Written by leading scientists in these disciplines, every article has been peer-reviewed to establish clarity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness. The most comprehensive reference source to provide both depth and breadth to the study of human behavior, the encyclopedia will again be a much-used reference source. This set appeals to public, corporate, university and college libraries, libraries in two-year colleges, and some secondary schools. Carefully crafted, well written, and thoroughly indexed, the encyclopedia helps users--whether they are students just beginning formal study of the broad field or specialists in a branch of psychology--understand the field and how and why humans behave as we do. Named a 2013 Outstanding Academic Title by the American Library Association's Choice publication Concise entries (ten pages on average) provide foundational knowledge of the field Each article features suggested further readings, a list of related websites, a 5-10 word glossary and a definition paragraph, and cross-references to related articles in the encyclopedi Newly expanded editorial board and a host of international contributors from the United States, Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Sweden, and the United Kingdom