Skip to main content

Civil and Environmental Engineering: Home

A guide to doing library research in civil and environmental engineering.

Home

New - Video Tutorials for engineering students!

Quick Start

The most commonly used library database for civil engineering is the ASCE Civil Engineering Database.

Using this guide

Go to the Find Articles page to learn about finding articles and conference papers in civil engineering.

Go to the Find Journals page to learn about locating civil engineering journals.

Go to the Find Books/Reference page to learn about finding civil engineering books and reference works.

Go to the Find Standards page to learn how to find engineering standards for civil engineering.

Go to the Find Government Info page to learn how to find government information related to civil engineering.

Go to the Find Web Sources page to explore websites useful for civil engineering research. 

Go to the Tools page to learn about useful library tools.

 

 

 

 

Find Articles

Tip: Getting articles

The library does not subscribe to every journal published. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

Tip: For Faculty

The proceedings of the American Society for Engineering Education are available (free) on this website.

Article Databases

Use these subscription databases to locate published research in civil and environmental engineering.  For more options, visit the library webpage Databases for Engineering.

Find Journals

Finding a journal by title

If you are looking for a specific journal in your field and want to determine if the library subscribes to it, use our E-Journal Finder. 

Enter the name of the journal in the search box. If the library has a subscription, the results list will show which library databases offer access to the journal and for what years. 

Tip: Citation Linker

If you have a complete citation (author, article title, journal, volume, issue, date), you can use our Citation Linker form to link directly to the article.

Browse engineering journals

Online Journals

The library subscribes to many journals which publish scholarly research in civil and environmental engineering. Remember that online subscriptions must be accessed through the library website in order for the publisher to recognize you as a Rowan user.

Here are some key journals which are available online through our library subscriptions. This is in addition to the 20+ journals available through the ASCE Civil Engineering Database. To search for specific journals, use the library's E-Journals search.

Find Books/Reference

Finding books using ProfSearch

The easiest way to find a book that the library owns: search by title in ProfSearch. If your book is not the first result, refine your search to Books/E-Books in the Content Type facet in the left sidebar. Please note that the library does not have copies of most textbooks. 

Many books are now available in e-book format and can be viewed on your computer, tablet, or phone. 

For print books, ProfSearch will first indicate their availability, usually followed by a Call Number which identifies the book's shelf location. If the availability is followed by a date (yyyy-mm-dd), it is checked out and is due to be returned on that date. 

To locate print books on the shelf, first identify the floor and row using the initial alphabetical code, then the specific book using the rest of the call number (for example, TK5678 .G99 2008 is in the Electrical Engineering section on the 4th floor).  

Civil engineering books you can check out

Engineering and science books available for borrowing by students and faculty are shelved on the 4th floor of Campbell Library. General books on civil engineering, including statics and structural engineering textbooks, are in the TA section. Hydraulic engineering is in TC, environmental technology in TD, highway engineering in TE, bridge engineering in TG, and building construction in TH. Geology is in QE, and environmental sciences are in GE (on the 3rd floor). We also have a growing collection of e-books which you can read on your computer or mobile device.

To search for civil engineering books in the Library Catalog, try the following Library of Congress Subject Headings: Bridges - Design and Construction, Building, Civil engineering, Environmental engineering, Fluid mechanics, Hydraulic engineering, Hydrology, Sanitary engineering, Structural engineering, Transportation engineering, Water resources development, Water-supply.
 

Civil engineering reference books

Civil engineering reference books are mostly located in the T section (TA through TH) in the 2nd floor Reference Room of Campbell Library. 

Find Standards

ASTM Standards

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides access to the Annual Book of Standards in online subscription format.

Engineering Standards

For help finding engineering standards, please visit the Engineering Standards research guide. 

Standards search

This website lets you search for standards by topic, across providers. Results come from ISO, ANSI, IEEE, ASTM, and other standards organizations.

Find Government Info

Government Databases

Patent Searching

There are several ways to search for patents.

For more help with patent searching, please visit the Patent Searching research guide.

Find Web Sources

Have you tried Google Scholar?

Government Sites

These government sites contain a surprisingly large amount of free information relevant to civil engineers.

Career Resources

Trade and Professional Sites

These professional and trade association websites offer a wealth of useful information.

Tools

RefWorks

RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Create an account to log in.

 

E-ZBorrow

Books which Rowan University does not own can be borrowed from one of the participating academic libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania using E-ZBorrow. Use your 9-digit Banner number for Patron Id.

Interlibrary Loan

Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.

Writing Help

Here are some books available in the library to help you with writing.