Research Guides: Sociology: Electronic Databases

Electronic Resources-Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal, magazine, and news articles in all academic disciplines.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Journal and news articles in applied social sciences.
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference works on American government, current affairs, politics and public policy.
Contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in a variety of academic fields.
Emerald Insight offers full text articles from academic journals in the following areas: Accounting & Finance, Economics, Education, Engineering, Health & Social Care, Human Resources & Organizational Behavior, Information & Knowledge Management, Library & Information Science, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, and Property Management & Built Environment.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published 1907 – 1984 in the humanities and social sciences.
This database contains citations only, no full text.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Cross-curricular research tool providing pro/con perspectives on current social issues.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JSTOR can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic fields.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of journal, magazine and news articles in diverse subject areas.
Access to a wide range of popular academic subjects in the form of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Research tool focusing on methodology.
Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from several countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.
Social Services Abstracts (1979-current) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of current research in social work and human services.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Click the Get-It button to link to full text, when available.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-current) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of current research in sociology.
Index to publications in the fields of sociology, social sciences and related disciplines from 1952 to the present. Click the Get-It button to link to full text, when available.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.(Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Full text database of scientific journal articles with data on who has cited them.
Provides immediate data on who has cited research papers, covering high impact journals, including Open Access journals, conference proceedings, and current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.