New Books purchased by Campbell Library

by Daniel Kipnis on 2022-05-23T15:22:15-04:00 | 0 Comments

Human Biological Diversity by Daniel E. Brown

ISBN: 1351711679

Publication Date: 2019-12-09

Human Biological Diversity is an introductory textbook designed to cover the key contemporary topics in the study of human variation and human biology within the field of physical anthropology. Easily accessible for students with no background in anthropology or biology, this second edition includes two new chapters, one on human variation in the skeleton and dentition and the other on tracing human population affinities. All other chapters have been fully updated to reflect advances in the field and now include pedagogical features to aid readers in their understanding. Written for an introductory level but still containing valuable information that will be of interest to students on upper-level courses, Brown's textbook should be essential reading for all students taking courses on human variation, human biology, human evolution, race, anthropology of race, and general introductions to biological/physical anthropology.

Milestones in the Evolving Theory of Evolution by David Wool

ISBN: 0367903334

Publication Date: 2020-08-01

"The book illustrates how Darwins theory has evolved, about the development of the biological world before Darwin, and great changes that took place with the incorporation of statistics, and after Darwins death of genetics and mathematics. The formation of Modern Synthesis, protein electrophoresis, Discovery of DNA opened new avenues for the study of evolution"--

The Botany of the Commelins by D. O. Wijnands

ISBN: 9061912628

Publication Date: 1983-06-01

This work is a taxonomical, nomenclatural and historical account of the plants depicted in the Minickx Atlas and in the books by Jan and Casper Commelin.

Recent Advancements in Microbial Diversity by Surajit De Mandal (Editor); Pankaj Bhatt (Editor)

ISBN: 0128212667

Publication Date: 2020-06-02

Microorganisms are a major part of the Earth's biological diversity. Although a lot of research has been done on microbial diversity, most of it is fragmented. This book creates the need for a unified text to be published, full of information about microbial diversity from highly reputed and impactful sources. Recent Advancements in Microbial Diversity brings a comprehensive understanding of the recent advances in microbial diversity research focused on different bodily systems, such as the gut. Recent Advancements in Microbial Diversity also discusses how the application of advanced sequencing technologies is used to reveal previously unseen microbial diversity and show off its function. Gives insight into microbial diversity in different bodily systems Explains novel approaches to studying microbial diversity Highlights the use of omics to analyze the microbial community and its functional attributes Discusses the techniques used to examine microbial diversity, including their applications and respective strengths and weaknesses

Global Vegetation by Jörg S. Pfadenhauer; Frank A. Klötzli; Christine von Gadow (Translator)

ISBN: 9783030498597

Publication Date: 2020-09-10

This up-to-date textbook of global vegetation ecology, which comprises the current state of knowledge, is long overdue and much-needed. It is a translation of the textbook "Vegetation der Erde" (Springer-Spektrum, Heidelberg). A short introductory chapter deals with the fundamentals of vegetation ecology that are of importance for the delimitation and characterization of the global vegetation presented in this book (chorology, evolution of plants, physiognomic and structural characteristics, phytodiversity and the human impact on it as well as general terminology concerning both plant growth forms and on vegetation structure types). In the following chapters the zonal and azonal vegetation from the tropics to the polar regions including high mountains is described and discussed. The main focus is on the characterization of interactions between the spatial location of plants and plant communities on the one hand and site conditions, historic and genetic processes, spatial and temporal patterns, ecophysiology and anthropogenic influences on the other hand. Additional information on specific topics is provided in 51 boxes.

Stem Cells by Anja van de Stolpe; Bernard Roelen; Hans Clevers; Christine Mummery

ISBN: 9780128226773

Publication Date: 2021-01-20

Stem Cells: Scientific Facts and Fiction, Third Edition, provides a state-of-the-art overview on the field of stem cells and their current applications. The book incorporates the history and firsthand commentaries in the field from clinical and research leaders, covering interesting topics of note, including the first clinical trials to treat Parkinson disease, macular degeneration, and corneal replacement, the cloning of monkeys, the organoid field, and CRISPR-edited genomics. In addition, coverage of adult, embryonic stem cells and iPS cells is included. This new edition distinguishes itself from the multiplicity of websites about stem cells with a broad view of the field. Explains, in a straightforward, nonspecialist language, the basic biology of stem cells and their applications in modern medicine and future therapy Provides new and expanded coverage of cloning, organoids, "synthetic" embryos, and much more Includes detailed illustrations to assist users with learning on how research is done

Applications for Advancing Animal Ecology by Michael L. Morrison; Leonard A. Brennan; Bruce G. Marcot; William M. Block; Kevin S. McKelvey

ISBN: 1421440717

Publication Date: 2021-05-11

Practical guidance for wildlife professionals working to improve study design, data analysis, and the application of results to habitat and population management. Despite major advances in sampling techniques and analytical methods, many animal ecologists conduct research that is primarily relevant to a specific time and place. They also tend to focus more on the statistical analyses and nuances of modeling than actual study design. Arguing that studies of animal ecology should always begin with a focus on the behaviors and characteristics of individual organisms, including how they form into distinct biological populations, Applications for Advancing Animal Ecology takes a fresh and critical look at the field. Building from its companion volume, Foundations for Advancing Animal Ecology, this practical book presents readers with the principal methods used to observe animal behavior. Teaching them to assess resource abundance categories of species-environmental relationships models, it also explores * major aspects of measuring animal habitat: what to measure and how to measure it; * common sampling and estimation methods to assess population parameters; * when to measure and how to analyze data; * problems that will confront ecologists in the coming years--and how to gather information to adequately address them; and * how the experimental approach can be used to advance the science of animal ecology. Throughout the book, the authors stress the importance of speaking a common and well-defined language. Avoiding vague and misleading terminology, they assert, will help ecologists translate science into meaningful and lasting actions in the environment. Taking the perspective of the organism of interest in developing concepts and applications, the authors always keep the potentially biased human perspective in focus. They also provide a selection of suggested research projects, cautions, and caveats. A major advancement in understanding the factors underlying wildlife-habitat relationships, Applications for Advancing Animal Ecology will be an invaluable resource to natural resource management professionals and practitioners, including state and federal agencies, non-governmental organizations, and environmental consultants.

Insect Metamorphosis by Xavier Belles

ISBN: 0128130210

Publication Date: 2020-03-14

Insect Metamorphosis: From Natural History to Regulation of Development and Evolution explores the origin of metamorphosis, how it evolved, and how it is it regulated. The book discusses insect metamorphosis as a key innovation in insect evolution. With most of the present biodiversity on Earth composed of metamorphosing insects--approximately 1 million species currently described, with another 10-30 million still waiting to be discovered, the book delves into misconceptions and past treatments. In addition, the topic of integrating insect metamorphosis into the theory of evolution by natural selection as noted by Darwin in his On the Origin of Species is also discussed. Users will find this to be a comprehensive and updated review on insect metamorphosis, covering biological, physiological and molecular facets, with an emphasis on evolutionary aspects. Features updated knowledge from the past decade on the mechanisms of action of juvenile hormone, the main doorkeeper of insect metamorphosis Aids researchers in entomology or developmental biology dealing with specialized aspects of metamorphosis Provides applied entomologists with recently updated data, especially on regulation, to better face the problems of pest control and management Gives general evolutionary biologists context on the process of metamorphosis in its larger scope

Introduction to Diagnostic Microbiology for the Laboratory Sciences with Navigate 2 Advantage Access by Maria Dannessa Delost

ISBN: 1284199738

Publication Date: 2020-12-29

Introduction to Diagnostic Microbiology for the Laboratory Sciences, Second Edition provides a concise study of clinically significant microorganisms for the medical laboratory student and laboratory practitioner.

Semi-Aquatic Mammals by Glynnis A. Hood; Meaghan Brierley (Illustrator)

ISBN: 9781421438818

Publication Date: 2020-10-13

A groundbreaking review of the seldom-studied semi-aquatic freshwater mammals, covering biology, behavior, and conservation. Semi-aquatic mammals are some of the rarest and most endangered mammals on earth. What binds them together in the minds of biologists, despite their diverse taxa and body forms, are evolutionary traits that allow them to succeed in two worlds--spending some time on land and some in the water. Semi-aquatic Mammals fills a crucial void in the literature by highlighting the important ecological roles and curious biology of these remarkable animals. In this unique book, wildlife ecologist Glynnis A. Hood presents the first comprehensive examination of a global suite of 140 freshwater semi-aquatic mammals. Each one has overcome the distinct ecological challenges of thriving in both aquatic and terrestrial habitats as part of everyday life. Covering millions of years, Hood's exploration begins with the extinct otter-like Buxolestes and extends to consider the geographical, physical, behavioral, and reproductive traits of its present-day counterparts. Hood explains how semi-aquatic mammals are able to navigate a viscous environment with almost no resistance to heat loss, reveals how they maintain the physical skills necessary to avoid predation and counter a more thermally changeable environment, and describes the array of adaptations that facilitate success in their multifaceted habitats. She also addresses specific conservation challenges faced by these mammals. Her analysis takes readers to the haunts of intriguing semi-aquatic mammals from around the world, * introducing the "paradoxical platypus," an Australian egg-laying monotreme that detects prey through electroreception * venturing into the swamps and mangroves of Southeast Asia, where fishing cats wave their paws above the water's surface to lure prey * trawling the streams and lakes of South America, where the female water opossum uses its backward-facing pouch to keep her babies warm during deep dives * spending time with species that engineer freshwater habitats into more productive and complex systems, including North American beavers and Africa's common hippopotamus Featuring award-winning artist Meaghan Brierley's stunning illustrations throughout, Semi-aquatic Mammals is an unparalleled reference on some of the world's most tenacious and fascinating mammals.

Biological Language Model by Qiwen Dong; Xiaoyang Jing; Aoying Zhou; Xiuzhen Hu

ISBN: 9811212945

Publication Date: 2020-03-01

Conceived as a cross between natural language processing methods and biological sequences in DNA, RNA and protein, biological language model is a new scientific research topic in bioinformatics that has been extensively studied by the authors. The basic theory and applications of this model are presented in this book to serve as an reference for graduate students and researchers.

Genes, Germs and Medicine by Jan Sapp

ISBN: 9811225478

Publication Date: 2021-04-01

"This is the first and only book on one of the most important scientists of the Twentieth Century. It offers a unique perspective on the origins of bacterial genetics and genetic engineering, and ethical issues to arise from bioengineering. Lederberg was the first, and the most important voice in warning of pandemics to come beginning in the late 1960s, and the need to prepare for them. Lederberg not only helped shape the biowarfare treaty of 1972, he also worked toBiog enforce it through international cooperation with scientists. Lederberg was the first to successfully develop artificial intelligence in relation to science and medicine beginning in the early 1960s. He was one of the earliest proponents of the importance of symbiosis and lateral gene transfer in evolution which after five decades has come to the forefront of evolutionary theory today. Lederberg coined the term "microbiome" (as well as exobiology, plasmids, transduction, euphenics, etc.) and developed the concept of individuals as multigenomic superorganisms. The research on microbiomes is one of the most important and fasting growing fields in biomedical research today. Lederberg's development of clonal selection theory is a pillar of immunology"--

Cut-And-Paste Genetics by Sahotra Sarkar

ISBN: 1786614375

Publication Date: 2021-09-15

The emergence of CRISPR/Cas9 technology has revolutionized gene editing and made both gene therapy and eugenic control of future human evolution plausible. This accessible book puts these developments in their historical and scientific contexts and analyzes the policy and ethical challenges they raise. It presents the case for altering the human germ-line to eliminate a large number of genetic diseases controlled by a single or few genes, while pointing out that gene therapy is likely to ineffective for diseases with more complex causation. In parallel it explores the possibility of genetic enhancement in a similarly subscribed set of cases. But it also argues that, in general, genetic enhancement is ethically problematic and should be approached with caution. Given the success of CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing, and the explosion of related techniques, in practice it would be virtually impossible to ban germ-line editing for the future. A more useful goal is to regulate it with oversight that represents all stakeholders. That, in turn, requires an informed public discussion of these issues which this book aims to foster.

Healing Orchids by Hai Hong; Shan Bin Soh

ISBN: 9811205299

Publication Date: 2019-10-16

Famed for their exotic beauty and richness in variety, orchids may be found in all continents of the world except Antarctica. Although the plants are widely cultivated both in homes and farms, few people realize that many species of orchids have legendary healing qualities that have been used for centuries by Chinese, Ayurvedic and other traditional medicines for such conditions as skin eczema, depression, indigestion, heart disease and high blood pressure.This little highly-readable volume with beautiful illustrations helps you discover fascinating plants that are pleasing to behold yet may also help you attain good health. Read about the Dendrobium as a yin tonic that improves complexion and boosts the immune system, the enticing aroma of Vanilla found in ice cream but also reputed to heal sexual dysfunction, Bletilla that helps in cancer cure, Gastrodia for post-stroke rehabilitation, as well as other genera and species of healing orchids.Written by two Chinese physicians with training in biomedical science, the book also offers a unique perspective of biomedical explanations for healing orchids.

Entangled Life by Merlin Sheldrake

ISBN: 0525510311

Publication Date: 2020-05-12

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A "brilliant [and] entrancing" (The Guardian) journey into the hidden lives of fungi--the great connectors of the living world--and their astonishing and intimate roles in human life, with the power to heal our bodies, expand our minds, and help us address our most urgent environmental problems. "Grand and dizzying in how thoroughly it recalibrates our understanding of the natural world."--Ed Yong, author of I Contain Multitudes ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR--Time, BBC Science Focus, The Daily Mail, Geographical, The Times, The Telegraph, New Statesman, London Evening Standard, Science Friday When we think of fungi, we likely think of mushrooms. But mushrooms are only fruiting bodies, analogous to apples on a tree. Most fungi live out of sight, yet make up a massively diverse kingdom of organisms that supports and sustains nearly all living systems. Fungi provide a key to understanding the planet on which we live, and the ways we think, feel, and behave. In Entangled Life, the brilliant young biologist Merlin Sheldrake shows us the world from a fungal point of view, providing an exhilarating change of perspective. Sheldrake's vivid exploration takes us from yeast to psychedelics, to the fungi that range for miles underground and are the largest organisms on the planet, to those that link plants together in complex networks known as the "Wood Wide Web," to those that infiltrate and manipulate insect bodies with devastating precision. Fungi throw our concepts of individuality and even intelligence into question. They are metabolic masters, earth makers, and key players in most of life's processes. They can change our minds, heal our bodies, and even help us remediate environmental disaster. By examining fungi on their own terms, Sheldrake reveals how these extraordinary organisms--and our relationships with them--are changing our understanding of how life works. Winner of the Wainwright Prize, the Royal Society Science Book Prize, and the Guild of Food Writers Award * Shortlisted for the British Book Award * Longlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize

What It's Like to Be a Bird by David Allen Sibley

ISBN: 0307957896

Publication Date: 2020-04-14

The bird book for birders and nonbirders alike that will excite and inspire by providing a new and deeper understanding of what common, mostly backyard, birds are doing--and why: "Can birds smell?"; "Is this the same cardinal that was at my feeder last year?"; "Do robins 'hear' worms?" "The book's beauty mirrors the beauty of birds it describes so marvelously." --NPR In What It's Like to Be a Bird, David Sibley answers the most frequently asked questions about the birds we see most often. This special, large-format volume is geared as much to nonbirders as it is to the out-and-out obsessed, covering more than two hundred species and including more than 330 new illustrations by the author. While its focus is on familiar backyard birds--blue jays, nuthatches, chickadees--it also examines certain species that can be fairly easily observed, such as the seashore-dwelling Atlantic puffin. David Sibley's exacting artwork and wide-ranging expertise bring observed behaviors vividly to life. (For most species, the primary illustration is reproduced life-sized.) And while the text is aimed at adults--including fascinating new scientific research on the myriad ways birds have adapted to environmental changes--it is nontechnical, making it the perfect occasion for parents and grandparents to share their love of birds with young children, who will delight in the big, full-color illustrations of birds in action. Unlike any other book he has written, What It's Like to Be a Bird is poised to bring a whole new audience to David Sibley's world of birds.

The Bird Way by Jennifer Ackerman

ISBN: 0735223025

Publication Date: 2020-05-05

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Genius of Birds, a radical investigation into the bird way of being, and the recent scientific research that is dramatically shifting our understanding of birds -- how they live and how they think. "There is the mammal way and there is the bird way." But the bird way is much more than a unique pattern of brain wiring, and lately, scientists have taken a new look at bird behaviors they have, for years, dismissed as anomalies or mysteries -- What they are finding is upending the traditional view of how birds conduct their lives, how they communicate, forage, court, breed, survive. They are also revealing the remarkable intelligence underlying these activities, abilities we once considered uniquely our own: deception, manipulation, cheating, kidnapping, infanticide, but also ingenious communication between species, cooperation, collaboration, altruism, culture, and play. Some of these extraordinary behaviors are biological conundrums that seem to push the edges of, well, birdness: a mother bird that kills her own infant sons, and another that selflessly tends to the young of other birds as if they were her own; a bird that collaborates in an extraordinary way with one species--ours--but parasitizes another in gruesome fashion; birds that give gifts and birds that steal; birds that dance or drum, that paint their creations or paint themselves; birds that build walls of sound to keep out intruders and birds that summon playmates with a special call--and may hold the secret to our own penchant for playfulness and the evolution of laughter. Drawing on personal observations, the latest science, and her bird-related travel around the world, from the tropical rainforests of eastern Australia and the remote woodlands of northern Japan, to the rolling hills of lower Austria and the islands of Alaska's Kachemak Bay, Jennifer Ackerman shows there is clearly no single bird way of being. In every respect, in plumage, form, song, flight, lifestyle, niche, and behavior, birds vary. It is what we love about them. As E.O Wilson once said, when you have seen one bird, you have not seen them all.

Some Assembly Required by Neil Shubin

ISBN: 1101871342

Publication Date: 2020-03-17

An exciting and accessible new view of the evolution of human and animal life on Earth. From the author of national bestseller, Your Inner Fish, this extraordinary journey of discovery spans centuries, as explorers and scientists seek to understand the origins of life's immense diversity. "Fossils, DNA, scientists with a penchant for suits of armor--what's not to love?"--BBC Wildlife Magazine Over billions of years, ancient fish evolved to walk on land, reptiles transformed into birds that fly, and apelike primates evolved into humans that walk on two legs, talk, and write. For more than a century, paleontologists have traveled the globe to find fossils that show how such changes have happened. We have now arrived at a remarkable moment--prehistoric fossils coupled with new DNA technology have given us the tools to answer some of the basic questions of our existence: How do big changes in evolution happen? Is our presence on Earth the product of mere chance? This new science reveals a multibillion-year evolutionary history filled with twists and turns, trial and error, accident and invention. In Some Assembly Required, Neil Shubin takes readers on a journey of discovery spanning centuries, as explorers and scientists seek to understand the origins of life's immense diversity.

A Tale of Two Viruses by Neeraja Sankaran

ISBN: 9780822946304

Publication Date: 2021-04-06

In 1965, French microbiologist André Lwoff was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work on lysogeny--one of the two types of viral life cycles--which resolved a contentious debate among scientists about the nature of viruses. A Tale of Two Viruses is the first study of medical virology to compare the history of two groups of medically important viruses--bacteriophages, which infect bacteria, and sarcoma agents, which cause cancer--and the importance of Lwoff's discovery to our modern understanding of what a virus is. Although these two groups of viruses may at first glance appear to have little in common, they share uniquely parallel histories. The lysogenic cycle, unlike the lytic, enables viruses to replicate in the host cell without destroying it and to remain dormant in a cell's genetic material indefinitely, or until induced by UV radiation. But until Lwoff's discovery of the mechanism of lysogeny, microbiologist Félix d'Herelle and pathologist Peyton Rous, who themselves first discovered and argued for the viral identity of bacteriophages and certain types of cancer, respectively, faced opposition from contemporary researchers who would not accept their findings. By following the research trajectories of the two virus groups, Sankaran takes a novel approach to the history of the development of the field of medical virology, considering both the flux in scientific concepts over time and the broader scientific landscapes or styles that shaped those ideas and practices.

Vaccine Hesitancy by Maya J. Goldenberg

ISBN: 0822946556

Publication Date: 2021-03-09

The public has voiced concern over the adverse effects of vaccines from the moment Dr. Edward Jenner introduced the first smallpox vaccine in 1796. The controversy over childhood immunization intensified in 1998, when Dr. Andrew Wakefield linked the MMR vaccine to autism. Although Wakefield's findings were later discredited and retracted, and medical and scientific evidence suggests routine immunizations have significantly reduced life-threatening conditions like measles, whooping cough, and polio, vaccine refusal and vaccine-preventable outbreaks are on the rise. This book explores vaccine hesitancy and refusal among parents in the industrialized North. Although biomedical, public health, and popular science literature has focused on a scientifically ignorant public, the real problem, Maya J. Goldenberg argues, lies not in misunderstanding, but in mistrust. Public confidence in scientific institutions and government bodies has been shaken by fraud, research scandals, and misconduct. Her book reveals how vaccine studies sponsored by the pharmaceutical industry, compelling rhetorics from the anti-vaccine movement, and the spread of populist knowledge on social media have all contributed to a public mistrust of the scientific consensus. Importantly, it also emphasizes how historical and current discrimination in health care against marginalized communities continues to shape public perception of institutional trustworthiness. Goldenberg ultimately reframes vaccine hesitancy as a crisis of public trust rather than a war on science, arguing that having good scientific support of vaccine efficacy and safety is not enough. In a fraught communications landscape, Vaccine Hesitancy advocates for trust-building measures that focus on relationships, transparency, and justice.

Darwin's Historical Sketch by Curtis N. Johnson

ISBN: 019088293X

Publication Date: 2019-12-19

Charles Darwin's "Historical Sketch" has appeared as a preface to nearly every authorized edition of Darwin's Origin of Species since the second English edition was published in 1860. The "Historical Sketch" provides a brief history of opinion about the species question as a prelude toDarwin's own independent contribution to the subject, but its provenance is somewhat obscure. While some previous thinkers anticipated portions of Darwin's theory long before he did, none of them saw the complete picture as clearly as Darwin. As such, he was able to claim originality and priorityfor the idea that has transformed our understanding of nature. His "Historical Sketch" was written as an attempt to address these issues. Some things are known about its production, such as when it first appeared and what changes were made to it between its first appearance in 1860 and its finalform in 1866. Other questions remain unanswered. How did it evolve in Darwin's mind? Why did he write it at all? What did he think he was accomplishing by prefacing it to Origin of Species? Curtis Johnson approaches these questions, offering some clarity on the originality of Darwin's work.Darwin's "Historical Sketch" is the first comprehensive study of Darwin's "Preface" to Origin of Species. Johnson conveys the pressure Darwin felt from friends and other correspondents to showcase the originality of his theory, and he tackles questions of originality by carefully examining the 35authors Darwin referenced in this monumental text.

Swamplands by Edward Struzik

ISBN: 9781642830811

Publication Date: 2021-10-12

In a world filled with breathtaking beauty, we have often overlooked the elusive charm and magic of certain landscapes. A cloudy river flows into a verdant Arctic wetland where sandhill cranes and muskoxen dwell. Further south, cypress branches hang low over dismal swamps. Places like these-collectively known as swamplands or peatlands-often go unnoticed for their ecological splendor. They are as globally significant as rainforests, and function as critical carbon sinks for addressing our climate crisis. Yet, because of their reputation as wastelands, they are being systematically drained and degraded to make way for oilsands, mines, farms, and electricity. In Swamplands, journalist Edward Struzik celebrates these wild places, venturing into windswept bogs in Kauai and the last remnants of an ancient peatland in the Mojave Desert. The secrets of the swamp aren't for the faint of heart. Ed loses a shoe to an Arctic wolf and finds himself ankle-deep in water during a lightning storm. But the rewards are sweeter for the struggle: an enchanting Calypso orchid; an elusive yellow moth thought to be extinct; ancient animals preserved in lifelike condition down to the fur. Swamplands highlights the unappreciated struggle being waged to save peatlands by scientists, conservationists, and landowners around the world. An ode to peaty landscapes in all their offbeat glory, the book is also a demand for awareness of the myriad threats they face. It urges us to see the beauty and importance in these least likely of places. Our planet's survival might depend on it.

What Is a Bird? by Tony D. Williams (Editor, Contribution by); Scott McWilliams (Contribution by); Julia A. Clarke (Contribution by); Elizabeth MacDougall-Shackleton (Contribution by); Scott MacDougall-Shackleton (Contribution by); Frances Bonier (Contribution by); Chad Eliason (Contribution by)

ISBN: 0691211876

Publication Date: 2021-01-19

A large-format, beautifully illustrated look at the natural history of birds There are some 10,000 bird species in existence today, occupying every continent and virtually every habitat on Earth. The variety of bird species is truly astounding, from the tiny bee hummingbird to the large flightless ostrich, making birds one of the most diverse and successful animal groups on the planet. Taking you inside the extraordinary world of birds, What Is a Bird? explores all aspects of these remarkable creatures, providing an up-close look at their morphology, unique internal anatomy and physiology, fascinating and varied behavior, and ecology. It features hundreds of color illustrations and draws on a broad range of examples, from the familiar backyard sparrow to the most exotic birds of paradise. A must-have book for birders and armchair naturalists, What Is a Bird? is a celebration of the rich complexity of bird life. An absorbing and beautifully presented exploration of the natural history of birds Integrates physiological adaptations with ecology and behavior Features a wealth of color photographs and explanatory figures Uses scanning electron microscope imagery to provide a rare close-up view of structures not normally visible Provides insights into our complex relationship with birds, from our enduring fascination with them to the threats they face and the challenges of conservation

The Genetic Lottery by Kathryn Paige Harden

ISBN: 9780691190808

Publication Date: 2021-09-21

A provocative and timely case for how the science of genetics can help create a more just and equal society In recent years, scientists like Kathryn Paige Harden have shown that DNA makes us different, in our personalities and in our health--and in ways that matter for educational and economic success in our current society. In The Genetic Lottery, Harden introduces readers to the latest genetic science, dismantling dangerous ideas about racial superiority and challenging us to grapple with what equality really means in a world where people are born different. Weaving together personal stories with scientific evidence, Harden shows why our refusal to recognize the power of DNA perpetuates the myth of meritocracy, and argues that we must acknowledge the role of genetic luck if we are ever to create a fair society. Reclaiming genetic science from the legacy of eugenics, this groundbreaking book offers a bold new vision of society where everyone thrives, regardless of how one fares in the genetic lottery.

Bird Love by Wenfei Tong; Mike Webster (Foreword by)

ISBN: 0691208905

Publication Date: 2020-03-24

A stunningly illustrated look at the mating and parenting lives of the world's birds Bird Love looks at the extraordinary range of mating systems in the avian world, exploring all the stages from courtship and nest-building to protecting eggs and raising chicks. It delves into the reasons why some species, such as the wattled jacana, rely on males to do all the childcare, while others, such as cuckoos and honeyguides, dump their eggs in the nests of others to raise. For some birds, reciprocal promiscuity pays off: both male and female dunnocks will rear the most chicks by mating with as many partners as possible. For others, long-term monogamy is the only way to ensure their offspring survive. The book explores the wide variety of ways birds make sure they find a mate in the first place, including how many male birds employ elaborate tactics to show how sexy they are. Gathering in leks to display to females, they dance, pose, or parade to sell their suitability as a mate. Other birds attract a partner with their building skills: female bowerbirds rate brains above beauty, so males construct elaborate bowers with twig avenues and cleared courtyards to impress them. Looking at the differing levels of parenting skills across species around the world, we see why a tenth of bird species, including the fairy-wrens of Australia, have helpers at the nest who forgo their own reproduction to assist the breeding pair; how brood parasites and their hosts have engaged in evolutionary arms races; and how monogamous pairs share--or relinquish--their responsibilities. Illustrated throughout with beautiful photographs, Bird Love is a celebration of the global diversity of avian reproductive strategies.

Something Hidden in the Ranges by Ellen Wohl

ISBN: 0870711059

Publication Date: 2021-05-30

We all see the largest features of mountain ecosystems--the impressively rugged peaks, the clear blue lakes, and the extensive forests--but each of these readily visible features depends on largely invisible creatures and flows of material and energy. Something Hidden in the Ranges draws on a wide array of scientific research to reveal the complex ecology of Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado and, by extension, of mountain ecosystems generally. Geologist Ellen Wohl has spent three decades investigating the streams and forests near her home in Colorado. In writing that is free from jargon and easy to understand, she tells the intricate story of how streams provide energy to adjacent forests, how lake sediments record the history of wind-blown pollutants, and how hidden networks of fungi keeps forests healthy. She guides readers through forests at both lower and higher elevations, revealing how trees rely on microbes in the soil, in the forest canopy, and even within individual pine needles to obtain the food they need. Other chapters focus on subalpine lakes, mountain streams, beaver meadows, and alpine tundra. While scientists, students, and scholars will benefit from Wohl's intimate knowledge of mountain ecosystems, Something Hidden in the Ranges is written for anyone interested in natural or environmental history. It will change the way readers perceive and think about natural landscapes.

How Insects Work by Marianne Taylor

ISBN: 1615196498

Publication Date: 2020-04-28

The extraordinary inner-workings of the world's amazing, adaptable insects A tiny textbook to learn on your own How Insects Work goes beyond the typical field guide to show us not only what insects look like but why. Arguably the most successful land animals--still going strong after five mass extinctions--insects have evolved a spectacular array of real-life superpowers to help them thrive in virtually every environment: Bumblebees' wingbeats leave a faint electrical signal at each flower they visit to show that the nectar's already been taken (see page 57), and houseflies defy gravity with tiny leg hairs that stick to the smoothest wall or ceiling (see page 69). In this in-depth, photo-filled handbook, discover the ways insects are even more astounding than you know--inside and out: Evolution Exoskeleton and Body Segments Senses Circulation Digestion Respiration Reproduction Metamorphosis Movement And much, much more!

Field Notes from an Unintentional Birder by Julia Zarankin

ISBN: 9781771622486

Publication Date: 2020-10-13

When Julia Zarankin saw her first red-winged blackbird at the age of thirty-five, she didn't expect that it would change her life. Recently divorced and auditioning hobbies during a stressful career transition, she stumbled on birdwatching, initially out of curiosity for the strange breed of humans who wear multi-pocketed vests, carry spotting scopes and discuss the finer points of optics with disturbing fervour. What she never could have predicted was that she would become one of them. Not only would she come to identify proudly as a birder, but birding would ultimately lead her to find love, uncover a new language and lay down her roots. Field Notes from an Unintentional Birder tells the story of finding meaning in midlife through birds. The book follows the peregrinations of a narrator who learns more from birds than she ever anticipated, as she begins to realize that she herself is a migratory species: born in the former Soviet Union, growing up in Vancouver and Toronto, studying and working in the United States and living in Paris. Coming from a Russian immigrant family of concert pianists who believed that the outdoors were for "other people," Julia Zarankin recounts the challenges and joys of unexpectedly discovering one's wild side and finding one's tribe in the unlikeliest of places. Zarankin's thoughtful and witty anecdotes illuminate the joyful experience of a new discovery and the surprising pleasure to be found while standing still on the edge of a lake at six a.m. In addition to confirmed nature enthusiasts, this book will appeal to readers of literary memoir, offering keen insight on what it takes to find one's place in the world.

Life under Glass by Mark Nelson; Abigail Alling; Sally Silverstone

ISBN: 9780907791775

Publication Date: 2020-04-21

Planet in a bottle. Eden revisited. Laboratory under glass. The largest self-sustaining closed ecological system ever made. Biosphere 2 is many things to many people. From its half-acre farm to its coral reef to its emerald rainforest-this unique research facility has proven itself a marvel of human engineering and a testament to the human imagination. For two full years from 1991 to 1993, four men and four women lived and worked inside the structure, recycling their air, water, food, and wastes, and setting a world record for living in an isolated environment. But what has this giant glass-and-steel greenhouse been to those most intimately involved with it? What has it meant to the first crew who studied and cared for it? What was it really like to be sealed inside a giant laboratory for twenty-four months? In Life Under Glass, crew members, Abigail Alling and Mark Nelson with co-captain Sally Silverstone present the full account of those two remarkable years. From the struggles of growing their own food, to learning how to help sustain their life-giving atmosphere, the general reader is offered a rare glimpse into how a group of dedicated researchers managed to surprise the world and fulfill their dream. In this updated edition, a new chapter reflects on the legacy of Biosphere 2 and the state of related scientific progress. Other crews will come and go, but no one else will face the risks, the uncertainties, and the challenges that this new breed of explorers did on Biosphere 2's maiden voyage. Here is the fascinating story of how it all appeared-living under glass.

Super Fly by Jonathan Balcombe

ISBN: 0143134272

Publication Date: 2021-05-25

For most of us, the only thing we know about flies is that they're annoying, and our usual reaction is to try to kill them. In Super Fly, the myth-busting biologist Jonathan Balcombe shows the order Diptera in all of its diversity, illustrating the essential role that flies play in every ecosystem in the world as pollinators, waste-disposers, predators, and food source; and how flies continue to reshape our understanding of evolution. No matter your outlook on our tiny buzzing neighbours, Super Fly will change the way you look at flies forever.

Fixing Your Damaged and Incorrect Genes by Errol C. Friedberg

ISBN: 9811200963

Publication Date: 2019-08-14

Fixing Your Damaged and Incorrect Genes is a book about a well-established biological process called DNA REPAIR. The book describes the multiple and varied biochemical strategies by which damaged or incorrect nucleotides are removed from DNA or are corrected. The book includes multiple figures of notable past and present scientists in the field. The book is uniquely focused on an audience of non-biologists and is written in simple language with minimal use of technical terms. It contains an extensive glossary that provides explanations of key words that readers are encouraged to refer to as they read. Fixing Your Damaged and Incorrect Genes is unique, there being no previously published books for non-biologists on the topic of DNA repair.

Add a Comment

Biological Sciences