Research Guides: Economics: Home

Home

Welcome

This guide provides many resources for study of economics including books, articles, websites, and newspapers.

Find Books

Book Searches

Library Catalog via the "Library Search" box
Use the main Library Search box and then choose limiters (filters on the left) to sort your results list. Choose the book options and "held by library" to find holdings of Rowan University Libraries' print books or electronic books. Options to conduct a basic or advanced search on a topic, title, or author.
Borrow from other libraries (EZ Borrow or ILLiad)
Search nearby libraries for books that are either currently unavailable or not owned by Rowan. Request your items online and follow the directions about how what to do when they arrive from another library.

Full-text Reference E-books

Here are some more examples of e-books provided by Campbell Library. These resources are all restricted to Rowan University students and faculty. If you are off campus, you will be required to authenticate by logging in with your Rowan user name and password. The order of this list emphasizes relevancy as well as availability of full text information.

Biographical Dictionary of British Economists
Brings together new essays on over six hundred individuals. Individually, the entries capture important and often overlooked contributions to the development of economic thought in Britain; collectively, they encapsulate the rich diversity of that thought and the influences that have been at play on British economic thinking over nine centuries.
A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
An extensive and authoritative guide to economists both past and present, providing biographical, bibliographical and critical information on over 100 economists working in the non-neoclassical traditions broadly defined.
The Elgar Companion to Feminist Economics
Comprehensive reference work introducing readers to the field of feminist economics. It addresses key concepts as well as feminist economic critiques and reconstructions of major economic theories and policy debates.
The Elgar Dictionary of Economic Quotations
A compendium of quotations on subjects of interest to economists and those who are generally intrigued by the social sciences.
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics
This authoritative and comprehensive reference work introduces the reader to the major concepts and leading contributors in the field of Keynesian economics.
Guide to Economic Indicators
Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
Designed to answer questions about the makeup, purpose, use, and availability of economic indicators in a broad sense of the term, this book includes entries on indicators, many of which are new to this edition. In addition to identifying and describing indicators, the entries show how they are calculated, where they are published, how they are used, where their values are published, and where one can find further information about them.
Wall Street Words
An essential guide to the words spoken on "the Street". Covers everything from investment fundamentals to the sophisticated terminology of contemporary finance plus case studies illustrating real-world investment examples and 50 insightful tips from industry professionals.
Who's Who In Economics
Even more e-books to browse - Project Muse

Find Articles

Article Searches

Library Catalog via the "Library Search" box
Use the main Library Search box for articles also. Use the limiters (filters) on the left side of your results list to find articles from certain dates, or ones which are peer-reviewed, or which are quickly available in full-text.
Articles from other libraries (via ILLiad)
Nearby libraries will often provide PDFs of articles which are not owned by Rowan. Click the Request via Interlibrary Loan links which appear in your searches, or use the article option here.

Suggested Economics Databases

Database resources are all restricted to Rowan University students and faculty. If you are off campus, you will be required to authenticate by logging in with your Rowan NetID. Navigate to the library home page's Database Finder, and then use the drop-down menu to choose the Economics databases list:

Database Finder: Economics (rowan.edu)

Some of the more popular databases on that list are:

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This American Economic Association’s database is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. It contains more than 1,010,900 records from 1969-present and covers virtually every area related to economics. Ebsco
Index to articles published in the economics field from 1969 to the present. Links to full text available for articles in journals to which Rowan University subscribes.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Coverage 1975-present; varies by title.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic fields.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. 1972 to current.
Contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival repository of full-text articles of some of the most important journals in economics as well as many other subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database of full text articles in social sciences, arts, and humanities journals.
JSTOR can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. This
This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. (Ebsco)

Statistical Abstract of United States
A database of reports and statistics for the U.S. business, economic and trade community; contains items like the National Trade Data Bank.

Find Newspapers

Newspaper Databases, both current and historical

These resources are all restricted to Rowan University students and faculty. If you are off campus, you will be required to authenticate by logging in with your Rowan user name and password.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from select Canadian newspapers.
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).
U.S. Newsstream (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers and news content sites worldwide.
Provides access to full text of newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Backfiles for most newspapers are included, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and additional features. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Wall Street Journal (Online) This link opens in a new window
Online e-news content from the Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones.
Coverage 2010-current; the same coverage is available in the comprehensive business database ABI. Older issues can be accessed through the full image database Wall Street Journal Historical.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Online access to back issues of the Wall Street Journal, 1889 - 1999.
Newspaper coverage is from 1889 through 1996. For more recent issues of the Wall Street Journal, select the Wall Street Journal (current) link.

Websites

Recommended Websites

Budget of the United States Government
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Key economic indicators and labor trends including: Consumer Price Index, Current Population Survey (employment, unemployment, earnings), Employment Cost Trends, Local Area Unemployment and Producer Price Index.
Census Data

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of open access (OA) journals and journal articles that are free to read.

Doing Business In
The Doing Business project...
provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
EconData
Economic Census
Economic Data (FRED)
FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data) is a database of 21,430 U.S. economic time series. With FRED® you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
Economic Indicators
European Economy, Economic Papers
FedStats
Provides access to statistics and information produced by more than 70 U.S. government agencies. Searchable through an A-Z subject index, keyword searching of agency web sites linked to Fedstats, "fast facts" linkage to frequently requested tables from the Statistical Abstract, as well as direct links to agency contacts, news releases, and other navigational and organizational aids.
Historical Statistics
IDEAS
The largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Over 925'000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 800'000 can be downloaded in full text! This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc.
Internet Public Library: Economics
Rand bookstore
Regional Economic Accounts
Regional economic statistics including GDP by state, state and local area personal income back to 1969. Some data back to 1929.
RePEc Research Papers in Economics
Statistical Abstracts
The standard annual summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.It is designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference and is a guide to other statistical publications and sources.
USA Trade Online
USDA Economic, Statistics, and Market Information System
Federal Reserve Archive
This site is created and maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Its specialty is housing the archives of the Federal Reserve.
FINANCIAL CRISIS INQUIRY REPORT: FINAL REPORT OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION ON THE CAUSES OF THE FINANCIAL AND ECONOMIC CRISIS
Recently released report of our country's financial crisis.