Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Library

A selected list of open access resources arranged alphabetically.

Open Access: A to Z

ABC Chemistry: Directory of Free Full-Text Journals in Chemistry

Researcher's guide to journals

Ad Views

Digitized historic photographs, advertisements, texts & more from Duke's unique library collections.

African Journals Online

AJOL provides one access to 280 open access journals The popular open access icon indicated which are open access.

American Experience

"TV's most-watched history series."  Click the tab: "All Films" to see the list.

American Memory Collection

Several hundred early motion pictures The collections are profiled on the website.

Annenberg Learner Video Series

Part of the Annenberg Foundation, Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers.

AP British Movietone

British Movietone is arguably the world’s greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 – 1986. Shot on 35mm film, this global archive contains many of the world’s enduring images and is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky. It was the first newsreel to include sound, the first to use colour film, the first to break many exclusive stories and is your first and last stop for newsreel footage. The collection is fully digitized and now available from AP Archive.

Arctic Portal Library

The Arctic Portal is a comprehensive gateway to Arctic information and data on the internet, increasing information sharing and co-operation among Arctic stakeholders and granting exposure to Arctic-related information and data. It is a network of information and data sharing and serves as host to many websites in a circumpolar context, supporting co-operation and outreach in science, education, and policy making.

Archive of American Television

Archive of American Television has conducted over 800 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV history as it evolves, and make the interviews available worldwide. The Archive continues to produce new interviews every year. The collection covers a variety of professionsgenres, and topics in electronic media history.

Arizona State University Streaming Videos Internet Site

A number of openly accessible Internet sites provide access to streaming videos. These sites may host content or merely point to content hosted elsewhere. Advertising supports some of these sites. Others are the official site for a producer, distributor, series, or festival. Searching functions on these sites vary widely, and content can change or be removed without notice.

ARKive

A not-for-profit initiative of the charity Wildscreen intended to make a freely available record of the world's most endangered species.

Associated Press Archive

Available on the Web through YouTube

arXiv

Click here for the Advanced Search page to access,152,449 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

BioMed Central 

BioMed Central publishes 256 peer-reviewed open access journals.

Brill Open E-Book Collection

Nearly 200 titles open and accessible.

British Pathé

"90,000 Historic Clips." This massive collection covers the gamut from entertainment to sports, to news, to industry to war.

C-Span

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.  Don't miss the introductory video on the main website.

" font-size: 12px;">Since 1987, the C-Span collection has become an award-winning collection of over 213000 hours of programming containing government and political content.

 

ChemSpider 

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.  Don't miss the introductory video on the main website.

CiteseerX

CiteSeerX is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerX aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge (quote from the website).

Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL)

The Civil rights movement was one of the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.(source: website)

COAR (Confederation of Open Access Repositories)

COAR is an international association with over 100 members and partners from around the world representing libraries, universities, research institutions, government funders and others. COAR brings together the repository community and major repository networks in order build capacity, align policies and practices, and act as a global voice for the repository community (source: website).

CogPrints 

CogPrints is an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, Anthropology,and other sciences related to the study of cognition.

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

Find open and free textbooks that may be suitable for use in community college courses from the list of Subjects provided. For descriptions of these open textbooks, see listings in MERLOT and OER Commons. Most of the textbooks on this list have Creative Commons (CC) open licenses or GNU-Free Document License. Others are U.S. government documents in the public domain (PD).

CORE

CORE aggregates all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and makes them available to the public. In this way, CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all. CORE harvests openly accessible content available according to the

Digital Book Index

Digital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression  from the written word to works of art and culture to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science (quote from the website).

DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books
 

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals )

DOAJ increases visibility and use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their usage and impact. DOAJ covers all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

Electronic Journals Library (EZB)

The EZB offers fast, structured and standardized access to scientific and academic full-text journals. EZB includes both open access and subscribed journals. Only those with the green dot are available here. for more about EZB and the and the e-journals library, follow this link to an explanation page

Google Books

Find millions of great books many only for preview but many you read for free.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes scholarly literature. Be sure to click on settings to set your preferences, and identify your university for seamless access to articles available through your institution's library.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world (from the website).

Just Free Books

JustFreeBooks searches the content of more than 700 web sites. Find public domain texts, open books, free audio books, ad-supported books and more.

Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature

Luminarium.org is an extraordinary site providing access to English literature through several historical periods including Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century, and the Restoration. Additionally, sections include Religious Writers of the Renaissance, Renaissance Drama, and a variety of poetry. Encyclopedia has been added and other sites are planned or under development

OAPEN

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world, linking to over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. It currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.

OpenAIRE

Learn about OpenAIRE and why it is so important. Click this link to see the vimeo video

OpenDOAR

Search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information. This quality assured approach leads more directly to useful and relevant information. Full texts are available for most results (quote from the website).

Open Folklore

 

OpenMed@NIC  

OpenMED@NIC is to provide free service to academics, researchers, and students working in the area of Medical and Allied Sciences. We expect it to promote self-archiving and open access to papers / scholarly publications in these fields. InTech: Open Science, Open Minds   InTech is a pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology, and Medicine. Since 2004, InTech has collaborated with more than 85796 authors and published 2328 books and 7 journals with the aim of providing free online access to high-quality research and helping leading academics to make their work visible and accessible to diverse new audiences around the world (text from the website).

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Questia: Free Books

A selection of over 5,000 of our public domain, classic and rare books for free! You can search them by title or keyword, or browse them alphabetically.

RCSB Protein Databank

The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies. As a member of the wwPDB, the RCSB PDB curates and annotates PDB data according to agreed-upon standards.Use the RCSB PDB to perform simple and advanced searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure, and function, and to visualize, download, and analyze molecules (text from the website).

The Victorian Web

The Victorian Web includes over 61,000 documents and includes Primary and secondary texts in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts.