Research Guides: Slavery and the Slave Trade: Find Articles

Top Recommended Databases

African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
African American newspapers published in the U.S. from 1827-1998.
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
African-American History This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of African-American history.
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly literature in world history outside North America.
Abstracts and some full text of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JSTOR can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Includes every slavery-related statute passed by U.S. colonies and states and by the U.S. federal government. Also includes all reported state and federal cases on slavery and books and pamphlets written about slavery. [Free resource, but registration required for access ]

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal, magazine, and news articles in all academic disciplines.
American History This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of American history.
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Includes biographies, events and topics, primary sources, timelines, images and videos, maps and charts. All full text.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference collection (dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies etc.) for all academic disciplines.
Credo Reference provides a complete reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotation books, bilingual dictionaries, measurement conversions, and more.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of modern world history.
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid-15th century to the present.