It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives of searchable historical primary source materials. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
Accessible Archives makes available vast quantities of archived historical information, not previously furnished available online. Primary source materials have been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Online full-text search capabilities and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.
Online access to 270 African American newspapers published in the U.S. from 1827-1998.
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Online archive of newspaper articles published in and books during the U.S. Civil War.
Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies.
Primary source documents from the eighteenth century. See the Subcollections Guide for a list of collections.
The essential digital resource for researching the 18th Century, ECCO, Part I and Part II are comprised of over 35 million pages of text based on the English Short Title Catalog. More than 184,000 English and Foreign Language titles printed in The United Kingdom in the 18thC including thousands of woks from the Americas can be found In this unique resource. Search ECCO and NCCO together with the new Artemis platform; currently two primary source databases (Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online) can be simultaneously searched there.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
Global Commodities brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Access to historical content in The Times and The Sunday Times.
NewsVault, from Gale-Cengage Learning, delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. Our current subscription only includes The Times.
Archive of the London newspaper The Sunday Times1822-2006.
Since 1822, The Sunday Times, of London, has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sports and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
Archive of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-2007.
Spans over 220 years, from 1785 through 2007, and includes 1 million pages and 7 million articles. Search the complete digital edition of The Times (London) using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. View contemporaneous coverage of the world's historical events from the French Revolution to the Iraq War.