Welcome
Introduction
This guide is for Bioinformatics students who need to find scholarly research using library resources.
For additional resources check out the Bioinformatics guide from Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine: https://rowanmed.libguides.com/Bioinformatics/intro
Quick Start
A good place to begin your literature search is with a multi-disciplinary science database like Web of Science.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Full text database of scientific journal articles with data on who has cited them.
Related Guides
If you want to learn more about searching the literature of biology or computer science, visit these related research guides:
Using this guide
This guide will show you how to find scientific literature in bioinformatics.
Go to the Find Journal Articles page to learn how to find articles in bioinformatics journals.
Go to the Find Databases page to learn what subscription databases are best for locating bioinformatics literature.
Go to the Find Books page to learn how to find bioinformatics books.
Go to the Find Patents and Websites page to explore bioinformatics patents and websites.
Go to the Library Tools page to learn about some useful library tools.
Subject Librarian
Find Journal Articles
Searching for journals by title
Journals publish papers in specific, often very specialized, academic fields. Articles go through a review and acceptance process before being published.
If you are looking for a specific journal in your field and want to determine if the library subscribes to it, use our Journal Search
Enter the name of the journal in the Journals search box. If the library has a subscription, the results list will show which library databases offer access to the journal and for what years.
Browse bioinformatics journals using BrowZine
- BrowzineWeb - BioinformaticsBrowse scholarly journals in Bioinformatics online.
Tip: Getting articles
The library does not subscribe to every journal published. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.
If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.
Tip: Citation Linker
If you have a complete citation (author, article title, journal, volume, issue, date), you can use our Citation Linker form to link directly to the article.
Find Databases
Article Databases
Use these subscription databases available through the library website to locate published research in Bioinformatics.
Each database has its own search engine which will generate a list of journal articles or conference proceedings on your specified topic. In most cases the full text of the article will be available through a PDF link.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Full text database of scientific journal articles with data on who has cited them.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine database of biomedical literature, on the Ovid platform.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal, magazine, and news articles in all academic disciplines.
Find Books
E-Books
Because bioinformatics is a new field, many of the books on the subject are e-books.
Books in Campbell Library
Books available for borrowing by students and faculty can be found through the Library Catalog. A few key print titles are listed below.
Introduction to Bioinformatics by Call Number: QH507.L47 2008ISBN: 9780199208043Publication Date: 2008-06-02An Introduction to Bioinformatics introduces students to the immense power of bioinformatics as a set of scientific tools. The book explains how to access the data archives of genomes and proteins, and the kinds of questions these data and tools can answer, such as how to make inferences from data archives and how to make connections among them to derive useful and interesting predictions. Blending factual content with many opportunities for active learning, An Introduction to Bioinformatics offers a truly reader-friendly way to get to grips with this subject, making it the ideal resource for anyone new to the field.
Advanced Data Mining Technologies in Bioinformatics by Call Number: QH324.2.A38 2006ISBN: 9781591408635Publication Date: 2006-03-31The technologies in data mining have been applied to bioinformatics research in the past few years with success, but more research in this field is necessary. While tremendous progress has been made over the years, many of the fundamental challenges in bioinformatics are still open. Data mining plays a essential role in understanding the emerging problems in genomics, proteomics, and systems biology. Advanced Data Mining Technologies in Bioinformatics covers important research topics of data mining on bioinformatics. Readers of this book will gain an understanding of the basics and problems of bioinformatics, as well as the applications of data mining technologies in tackling the problems and the essential research topics in the field. Advanced Data Mining Technologies in Bioinformatics is extremely useful for data mining researchers, molecular biologists, graduate students, and others interested in this topic.
Algorithms in Bioinformatics by Call Number: QH324.2.S86 2010ISBN: 9781420070330Publication Date: 2009-11-24This classroom-tested text provides an in-depth introduction to the algorithmic techniques applied in bioinformatics. For each topic, the author clearly details the biological motivation, precisely defines the corresponding computational problems, and includes detailed examples to illustrate each algorithm.
Bioinformatics by Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781848002562Publication Date: 2009-04-07Overview and aims. This book is intended as a self-contained guide to the entire field of bioinformatics, interpreted as the application of information science to biology. There is strong underlying belief that information is a profound concept underlying biology, and familiarity with the concepts of information should make it possible to gain many important new insights into biology.
Bioinformatics by Call Number: QH324.2.B558 2009ISBN: 9780387927374Publication Date: 2009-09-22Bioinformatics is a relatively new field of research. It evolved from the requirement to process, characterize, and apply the information being produced by DNA sequencing technology. The production of DNA sequence data continues to grow exponentially. At the same time, improved bioinformatics such as faster DNA sequence search methods have been combined with increasingly powerful computer systems to process this information. Methods are being developed for the ever more detailed quantification of gene expression, providing an insight into the function of the newly discovered genes, while molecular genetic tools provide a link between these genes and heritable traits. Genetic tests are now available to determine the likelihood of suffering specific ailments and can predict how plant cultivars may respond to the environment. The steps in the translation of the genetic blueprint to the observed phenotype is being increasingly understood through proteome, metabolome and phenome analysis, all underpinned by advances in bioinformatics.
Building Bioinformatics Solutions by Call Number: QH324.2.B47 2009ISBN: 9780199230198Publication Date: 2009-02-28Modern bioinformatics encompasses a broad and ever-changing range of activities involved with the management and analysis of data from molecular biology experiments. Despite the diversity of activities and applications, the basic methodology and core tools needed to tackle bioinformatics problems is common to many projects. Building Bioinformatics Solutions provides a comprehensive introduction to this methodology, explaining howto select the appropriate analytical tools and databases, how to use them to build processing pipelines, and how to make the results available through visualisations and web-based services for deployment either locally or via the Internet.
Find Patents and Websites
Patent Searching
For complete information on how to search for patents, visit my guide to Patent Searching.
- Patent searching guideGuide to patent searching for engineering and science students at Rowan University.
Websites
- BMC BioinformaticsAn open-source, peer-reviewed journal published by BiomedCentral (BMC).
- The Bioinformatics OrganizationA professional organization which hosts conferences and training in bioinformatics.
- Google ScholarSearch scholarly publications using Google's search engine. Content available at Rowan will be indicated with a link.
Library Tools
E-ZBorrow
Books which Rowan University does not own can be borrowed from one of the participating academic libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania using E-ZBorrow. Use your 9-digit Banner number for Patron Id.
- EZBorrow loginFind and request books that Rowan University Libraries doesn't have, from other libraries in New Jersey and nearby states. Books are delivered to Campbell Library in 2 - 4 days.
Interlibrary Loan
Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.
RefWorks
RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Simply create an account to start using it.
RefWorks (New version)
RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool. It is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
Writing Help
Writing Help
This page directs you to resources to help you with writing research papers as a student at Rowan University.
Books on Technical Writing
Some books available through the library to help you with writing are listed below.
You can find additional books on writing for engineers by entering the terms "technical writing" or "technical communication" in the Library Search box on the Campbell Library homepage.
Communicating Science by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9789813144231Publication Date: 2016-11-01Read this book before you write your thesis or journal paper! Communicating Science is a textbook and reference on scientific writing oriented primarily at researchers in the physical sciences and engineering. It is written from the perspective of an experienced researcher. It draws on the authors' experience of teaching and working with both native English speakers and English as a Second Language (ESL) writers.
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1119070120Publication Date: 2017-09-13Helps both engineers and students improve their writing skills by learning to analyze target audience, tone, and purpose in order to effectively write technical documents This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings.
A Guide to Writing as an Engineer by Call Number: T11 .B396 2005ISBN: 9780471430742Publication Date: 2004-04-28Improve the signal-to-noise ratio in your writing! You'll need more than just technical prowess to succeed as a professional engineer; you'll need to be an effective communicator. Specifically written to address the needs of engineers, this brief, easy-to-use guide gives you an efficient and direct way to improve your writing and speaking skills.
Engineers' Guide to Technical Writing by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780871706935Publication Date: 2001-01-01The ability to write clearly is essential for career advancement in any technical field. This book provides easy-to-follow guidelines, methods and rules that will make you a more efficient technical writer.
Citing Your Sources
For more detailed help on citing sources for a research paper, go to the Citing your Sources research guide.
- Citing your SourcesA guide to citation created by Rowan University librarians.
RefWorks
If you are familiar with how to cite sources but need a better way to manage them, try a reference manager app.
RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Unlike free reference managers, RefWorks offers the IEEE citation format used in engineering.
You'll need to create a personal account in order to have storage space for your citations.
- Refworks This link opens in a new windowBibliography management tool for research. Registration required.