New Books Purchased by Campbell Library

by Daniel Kipnis on 2023-01-19T10:42:00-05:00 | 0 Comments

Basic Math and Pre-Algebra by Mark Zegarelli

ISBN: 9781119883500

Publication Date: 2022-06-01

Practice makes perfect--gain math mastery with Dummies Basic Math & Pre-Algebra: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies gives you 1,001 opportunities to practice solving problems on all the major topics in middle-grade math and Pre-Algebra--in the book and online! Get extra practice with tricky subjects, solidify what you've already learned, and get in-depth walk-throughs for every problem with this useful book. These practice problems and detailed answer explanations will improve your mathemagic abilities, no matter what your skill level is now. Thanks to Dummies, you have a resource to help you put key concepts into practice. Work through practice problems on all middle-grade and Pre-Algebra topics covered in class Step through detailed solutions to build your understanding Access practice questions online to study anywhere, any time Improve your grade and up your study game with practice, practice, practice The material presented in Basic Math & Pre-Algebra: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies is an excellent resource for students, as well as parents and tutors looking to help supplement clasroom instruction. Basic Math & Pre-Algebra: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies (9781119883500) was previously published as 1,001 Basic Math & Pre-Algebra Practice Problems For Dummies (9781118446560). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product.

Algebra I: 1001 Practice Problems for Dummies (+ Free Online Practice) by Mary Jane Sterling

ISBN: 9781119883470

Publication Date: 2022-05-24

Practice your way to a great grade in Algebra I Algebra I: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies gives you 1,001 opportunities to practice solving problems on all the major topics in Algebra I--in the book and online! Get extra help with tricky subjects, solidify what you've already learned, and get in-depth walk-throughs for every problem with this useful book. These practice problems and detailed answer explanations will get you solving for x in no-time, no matter what your skill level. Thanks to Dummies, you have a resource to you put key concepts into practice. Work through practice problems on all Algebra I topics covered in class Step through detailed solutions for every problem to build your understanding Access practice questions online to study anywhere, any time Improve your grade and up your study game with practice, practice, practice The material presented in Algebra I: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies is an excellent resource for students, as well as parents and tutors looking to help supplement classroom instruction. Algebra I: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies (9781119883470) was previously published as 1,001 Algebra I Practice Problems For Dummies (9781118446713). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product.

Global Perspectives and Practices for Reform-Based Mathematics Teaching by Ozgul Kartal (Editor); Gorjana Popovic (Editor); Susie Morrissey (Editor)

ISBN: 1799894223

Publication Date: 2022-04-22

Reform-based mathematics has become a popular topic in the education field as this teaching emphasizes classroom discourse and instructional goals related to student engagement and an understanding of mathematical reasoning, concepts, and procedures using instructional practices that build on students' informal knowledge of mathematics. It also connects mathematics with other disciplines and the real world and provides opportunities for students to contribute and invent their own methods during problem-solving. Further study on the best practices, benefits, and challenges of implementing this teaching into education is required. Global Perspectives and Practices for Reform-Based Mathematics Teaching explores international perspectives on diverse reform-based practices in teaching and learning mathematics, describes challenges and issues for teachers and teacher educators, promotes reflection and academic discussion at various levels and in various educational systems, and raises questions for the field of mathematics education. Covering a range of topics such as teacher preparation programs and integrated learning spaces, this reference work is ideal for academicians, practitioners, researchers, instructors, educators, and students.

The Psychology of Mathematics by Anderson Norton

ISBN: 9781000547061

Publication Date: 2022-03-21

This book offers an innovative introduction to the psychological basis of mathematics and the nature of mathematical thinking and learning, using an approach that empowers students by fostering their own construction of mathematical structures. Through accessible and engaging writing, award-winning mathematician and educator Anderson Norton reframes mathematics as something that exists first in the minds of students, rather than something that exists first in a textbook. By exploring the psychological basis for mathematics at every level--including geometry, algebra, calculus, complex analysis, and more--Norton unlocks students' personal power to construct mathematical objects based on their own mental activity and illustrates the power of mathematics in organizing the world as we know it. Including reflections and activities designed to inspire awareness of the mental actions and processes coordinated in practicing mathematics, the book is geared toward current and future secondary and elementary mathematics teachers who will empower the next generation of mathematicians and STEM majors. Those interested in the history and philosophy that underpins mathematics will also benefit from this book, as well as those informed and curious minds attentive to the human experience more generally.

Teacher Learning of Ambitious and Equitable Mathematics Instruction by Ilana Seidel Horn

ISBN: 1032021748

Publication Date: 2022-03-01

Drawing on sociocultural learning theory, this book offers a groundbreaking theory of secondary mathematics teacher learning in schools, focusing on the transformation of instruction as a conceptual change project to achieve ambitious and equitable mathematics teaching. Despite decades of research showing the importance of ambitious and equitable teaching, few inroads have been made in most U.S. classrooms, and teacher learning in general remains undertheorized in most educational research. Illustrating their theory through closely documented case studies of secondary mathematics teachers' learning and instructional practices, authors Horn and Garner explore the key conceptual issues teachers are required to work through in order to more fully realize ambitious and equitable teaching in their classrooms. By theorizing teacher learning from a sociocultural perspective and focusing on instructional practice, the authors make a unique contribution to the field of teacher learning. This book offers researchers, scholars, and teacher educators new theoretical and methodological tools for the elusive phenomenon of teacher learning, and provides instructional leaders and coaches with practical examples of how teachers shift their thinking and practice.

The art of more : how mathematics created civilization by Brooks, Michael

ISBN: 1524749001

Publication Date: 2022

"For readers of Steven Strogatz's Infinite Powers and The Joy of x comes this illuminating exploration of the ways in which math-and the people who have mastered its inherent power through the ages-has shaped our world. In this captivating, sweeping history, Michael Brooks makes clear that mathematics was one of the foundational innovations that catapulted humanity from a nomadic existence to civilization, and that it has been instrumental in every subsequent great leap of humankind--from charting the movements of celestial bodies, to navigating the globe, to tracking the dissemination of viruses. And the trailblazing mathematicians who devoted their lives to taming numbers come to life in Brooks's telling. Here are ancient Egyptian priests, Babylonian tax officials, the Apollo astronauts, the hobbyist who cracked a mapmaking puzzle that had stumped both NASA and U.S. Geological Survey, and the MIT professor who invented the infrastructure of the online world. Their stories clearly demonstrate that the invention of mathematics is every bit as important to the human species as the discovery of fire. First page to last, The Art of More brings mathematics back into the heart of what it means to be human"

Fuzzy Statistical Inferences Based on Fuzzy Random Variables by Gholamreza Hesamian

ISBN: 9781003248644

Publication Date: 2022-02-24

This book presents the most commonly used techniques for the most statistical inferences based on fuzzy data. It brings together many of the main ideas used in statistical inferences in one place, based on fuzzy information including fuzzy data. This book covers a much wider range of topics than a typical introductory text on fuzzy statistics. It includes common topics like elementary probability, descriptive statistics, hypothesis tests, one-way ANOVA, control-charts, reliability systems and regression models. The reader is assumed to know calculus and a little fuzzy set theory. The conventional knowledge of probability and statistics is required. Key Features: Includes example in Mathematica and MATLAB. Contains theoretical and applied exercises for each section. Presents various popular methods for analyzing fuzzy data. The book is suitable for students and researchers in statistics, social science, engineering, and economics, and it can be used at graduate and P.hD level.

Mastery and Depth in Primary Mathematics by Fay Lewis; Amanda Wilkinson; Marcus Witt

ISBN: 0367808862

Publication Date: 2022-01-24

The UK National Curriculum is clear about the importance of reasoning and problem-solving in mathematics. Mastery and Depth in Primary Mathematics aims to support trainee and established teachers to embed mathematical thinking into their lessons. The authors focus on practical and actionable ways that primary teachers can develop their children's mathematical thinking, reasoning and problem-solving: ideas which are at the heart of the UK National Curriculum. Covering a range of areas in mathematical thinking such as reasoning, problem-solving and pattern-spotting, as well as systematic and investigative thinking, each chapter provides clear examples of how teachers can make small, manageable 'rich tweaks' to their existing lessons to increase the opportunities for children to develop their mathematical thinking. Teachers will be able to dip into the book and find inspiration and ideas that they can use immediately and, importantly, develop a set of principles and skills which will enable them to take any mathematical activity and tweak it to develop their pupils' thinking skills. This practical guide will be invaluable to all trainee teachers and early-career teachers that wish to enhance their primary mathematics teaching.

Data Mining Approaches for Big Data and Sentiment Analysis in Social Media by Brij B. Gupta (Editor); Dragan Peraković (Editor); Ahmed A. Abd (Editor); Deepak Gupta (Editor)

ISBN: 1799884139

Publication Date: 2021-12-31

Social media sites are constantly evolving with huge amounts of scattered data or big data, which makes it difficult for researchers to trace the information flow. It is a daunting task to extract a useful piece of information from the vast unstructured big data; the disorganized structure of social media contains data in various forms such as text and videos as well as huge real-time data on which traditional analytical methods like statistical approaches fail miserably. Due to this, there is a need for efficient data mining techniques that can overcome the shortcomings of the traditional approaches. Data Mining Approaches for Big Data and Sentiment Analysis in Social Media encourages researchers to explore the key concepts of data mining, such as how they can be utilized on online social media platforms, and provides advances on data mining for big data and sentiment analysis in online social media, as well as future research directions. Covering a range of concepts from machine learning methods to data mining for big data analytics, this book is ideal for graduate students, academicians, faculty members, scientists, researchers, data analysts, social media analysts, managers, and software developers who are seeking to learn and carry out research in the area of data mining for big data and sentiment.

Creating a Language-Rich Math Class by Sandra L. Atkins

ISBN: 1000461246

Publication Date: 2021-11-17

What meanings do your students have for key mathematics concepts? What meanings do you wish them to have?　Creating a Language-Rich Math Class offers practical approaches for developing conceptual understandings by connecting concrete, pictorial, verbal, and symbolic representations. The focus is on making mathematics memorable instead of on memorizing. You'll learn strategies for introducing students to math language that gives meaning to the terms and symbols they use every day; for building flexibility and precision in students' use of math language; and for structuring activities to make them more language-rich. This second edition also provides strategies for helping students to at times be quiet and listen to their peers; for purposefully using language to introduce students to more complex mathematical symbolism and algebraic properties; and for using writing prompts to zoom in on the meanings that individual students have given to the language-rich experiences. Appropriate for elementary teachers and instructional coaches, the book also includes features such as Investigations to Try and Questions for Reflection to help you incorporate these ideas into your practice. In addition, there are Blackline masters of game cards and puzzles, which can also be found on our website for free download at http://www.routledge.com/9780367759957.

Unsupervised Learning Approaches for Dimensionality Reduction and Data Visualization by B. K. Tripathy; Anveshrithaa Sundareswaran; Shrusti Ghela

ISBN: 1000438317

Publication Date: 2021-09-01

Unsupervised Learning Approaches for Dimensionality Reduction and Data Visualization describes such algorithms as Locally Linear Embedding (LLE), Laplacian Eigenmaps, Isomap, Semidefinite Embedding, and t-SNE to resolve the problem of dimensionality reduction in the case of non-linear relationships within the data. Underlying mathematical concepts, derivations, and proofs with logical explanations for these algorithms are discussed, including strengths and limitations. The book highlights important use cases of these algorithms and provides examples along with visualizations. Comparative study of the algorithms is presented to give a clear idea on selecting the best suitable algorithm for a given dataset for efficient dimensionality reduction and data visualization. FEATURES Demonstrates how unsupervised learning approaches can be used for dimensionality reduction Neatly explains algorithms with a focus on the fundamentals and underlying mathematical concepts Describes the comparative study of the algorithms and discusses when and where each algorithm is best suitable for use Provides use cases, illustrative examples, and visualizations of each algorithm Helps visualize and create compact representations of high dimensional and intricate data for various real-world applications and data analysis This book is aimed at professionals, graduate students, and researchers in Computer Science and Engineering, Data Science, Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Data Mining, Deep Learning, Sensor Data Filtering, Feature Extraction for Control Systems, and Medical Instruments Input Extraction.

Using Mathematics to Understand the World by Terezinha Nunes; Peter Bryant

ISBN: 0429556330

Publication Date: 2021-08-05

Using Mathematics to Understand the World: How Culture Promotes Children's Mathematics offers fundamental insight into how mathematics permeates our lives as a way of representing and thinking about the world.　 Internationally renowned experts Terezinha Nunes and Peter Bryant examine research into children's mathematical development to show why it is important to distinguish between quantities, relations and numbers. Using Mathematics to Understand the World presents a theory about the development of children's quantitative reasoning and reveals why and how teaching about quantitative reasoning can be used to improve children's mathematical attainment in school. It describes how learning about the analytical meaning of numbers is established as part of mathematics at school but quantitative reasoning is emphasized less even though it is increasingly acclaimed as essential for thinking mathematically and for using mathematics to understand the world. This essential text is for all students of mathematics education, developmental psychology and cognitive psychology. By including activities for parents and professionals to try themselves, it may help you to recognize your own quantitative reasoning.

Add a Comment

Mathematics