Skip to main content

University Archives and Special Collections

Guide to the holdings and policies of the University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) department in Campbell Library

Collections Overview

Rowan’s University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) provide access to, and opportunities for using, primary source collections. The collections range from university publications such as The Whit, to colonial manuscripts found in the Frank H. Stewart Collection.  The largest, most researched collection was donated by Frank H. Stewart, a Philadelphia businessman and private collector. Stewart willed much of his collection to Rowan University upon his death in 1948. When presented, it was the largest private collection of New Jersey history, and is frequented by researchers, genealogists, historians, authors, and Rowan University faculty and students. The Stewart Collection consists of pamphlets, photographs, genealogical materials, books, and artifacts.

Other significant manuscript collections include over 11,000 books, Quaker materials, diaries, manumissions, wills, deeds, and pamphlets from the 17th to 20th centuries.  University Archives includes photographs from the 1950s and 1960s, papers of past University Presidents, departmental meeting minutes and materials, yearbooks, student publications, and artifacts from the school's past.  Other collections include the papers of Leo C. Beebe, former dean of the Business School; the James Gandy Ferracute Ironworks collection; the papers of Dr. Marvin C. Creamer, former Geography Professor; and a collection of materials about the 1967 Glassboro Summit held at Hollybush Mansion.

The UASC currently consists of an estimated 11,000 books and 700 linear feet of manuscripts and documents as well as several discrete collections of glass, paying homage to the town’s namesake industry.  The collections are stored in three locations: the 5th Floor Tower contains compact mobile shelving for the 11,000 books and a Reading Room and workroom/office area; an additional area of compact mobile shelving is on the Library's first floor; the first floor is also home to a larger storage room.

Using the collections

Handling Archives and Special Collections in the Reading Room

Because of the unique nature of archival materials and their sometimes fragile conditions, special care is taken when handling and using the collections.  Materials do not circulate and cannot leave the Reading Room. 

Things to know:

  •    Pencils are the only writing utensils permitted in the reading room.
  •    Paper for note taking or a laptop are permitted.  WiFi connection is available.
  •    Gloves (provided) may be required for especially fragile documents or with photographs.
  •    Digital camera or smart phone may be used to take images of materials in lieu of photocopies or scans; permission is required from the Archivist.
  •    Copies are $0.10 per page; scans up to 10 are free; after $0.25 per scan will be charged.  Please fill out a copy/scan form, which can be acquired from the Archivist on request.  Copy orders may take up to 5 days to complete.

Archivist

Sara Borden's picture
Sara Borden
Contact:
201 Mullica Hill Rd.
Glassboro, NJ 08028
(856) 256-4500, ext. 53543
Website

Visiting Special Collections

We are open by appointment only.  Appointments are available between 10AM and 3PM, Monday through Friday.

We are happy to respond to email requests for information.

Please contact us at archives@rowan.edu or (856) 256-4967