Skip to main content

Freshman Engineering Clinic: Home

Library information for students in Freshman Engineering Clinic.

Home

New - Video Tutorials for engineering students!

Using this guide

This guide for students in Freshman Engineering Clinic offers pages on these essential library skills:

Check out the Tools and Writing Help pages of this guide for additional helpful resources. 

About Campbell Library

Campbell Library is in the center of the Glassboro campus, between Savitz Hall and the Chamberlain Student Center. 

Use the links below to view the maps for each floor of Campbell Library, or reserve one of our study rooms for your group.

Find a Book

Finding books using ProfSearch

The easiest way to find a book that the library owns: search by title in ProfSearch. If your book is not the first result, refine your search to Books/E-Books in the Content Type facet in the left sidebar. Please note that the library does not have copies of most textbooks. 

Many books are now available in e-book format and can be viewed on your computer, tablet, or phone. 

For print books, ProfSearch will first indicate their availability, usually followed by a Call Number which identifies the book's shelf location. If the availability is followed by a date (yyyy-mm-dd), it is checked out and is due to be returned on that date. 

To locate print books on the shelf, first identify the floor and row using the initial alphabetical code, then the specific book using the rest of the call number (for example, TK5678 .G99 2008 is in the Electrical Engineering section on the 4th floor).  

Borrowing Books

 Your Rowan card is your library card. Take your books to the first floor service desk to check them out.

Engineering and science books available for borrowing are shelved on the 4th floor of Campbell Library by two-letter Library of Congress subject.

Workstations located throughout the 3rd and 4th floor stacks may be used to search for books by Subject, Title, or Author. 

Books on Engineering and Technology are shelved in the section labeled "T." Here's how the T section is laid out:

TA - engineering science, including statics and structural engineering      

TC - hydraulic engineering                                                                           

TD - environmental engineering                                                                  

TE - highway engineering                                                                             

TG - bridge engineering                                                                                 

TH - building construction

TJ - mechanical engineering

TK - electrical engineering

TL - aeronautical engineering

TP - chemical engineering

TR - manufacturing

E-books

Our engineering e-book collection is growing rapidly! Here are some good collections to try.

 

Find a Journal Article

Using ProfSearch

The library's search engine, ProfSearch, is a good place to start if you are open to a wide variety of sources. If you are looking specifically for journal articles and conference papers, your best bet is to use one of the library databases, described in the Article Databases box below.

Recommended Article Databases

Use these subscription databases to locate published research in engineering by research topic. 

Each database has its own search engine which will generate a list of journal articles and conference papers on your specified topic. In most cases the full text of the article will be available through a PDF link.

For even more options, visit the Engineering Databases page.

Finding a journal by title

If you are looking for a specific journal in your field and want to determine if the library subscribes to it, use our E-Journal Finder. 

Enter the name of the journal in the search box. If the library has a subscription, the results list will show which library databases offer access to the journal and for what years. 

Tip: Getting articles

The library does not subscribe to every journal published. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

Tip: Citation Linker

If you have a complete citation (author, article title, journal, volume, issue, date), you can use our Citation Linker form to link directly to the article.

Find a Standard

Standards Overview

Your Engineering Clinic instructors will often require you to find standards as part of your clinic projects. The most common type of engineering standard used at Rowan University is ASTM. For other standards, you'll want to refer to my research guide on Engineering Standards, linked below.

ASTM Standards

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides access to the Annual Book of Standards in online subscription format.

Engineering Standards

For help finding engineering standards, please visit the Engineering Standards research guide. 

Standards search

This website lets you search for standards by topic, across providers. Results come from ISO, ANSI, IEEE, ASTM, and other standards organizations.

Find a Patent

Patent Searching

There are several ways to search for patents.

For more help with patent searching, please visit the Patent Searching research guide.

Government Sites

These government sites contain a lot of free information relevant to engineers.

Have you tried Google Scholar?

Writing Help

The Writing Center

The Rowan University Writing Center is located on the first floor of Campbell Library.

To make an appointment with a writing tutor, use the link below; call: 856-256-4376; or E-mail: writingcenter@rowan.edu.

Walk-in appointments are also available but check their hours first.

Writing Help

Here are some books available in the library to help you with writing.

Tools

RefWorks

RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Create an account to log in.

 

E-ZBorrow

Books which Rowan University does not own can be borrowed from one of the participating academic libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania using E-ZBorrow. Use your 9-digit Banner number for Patron Id.

Interlibrary Loan

Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.