Skip to Main Content

Campbell Library Renovation: Services During Renovation

 

Service Status Details
Borrowing & Returning Print Books

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Beginning in early May 2024, Rowan physical books and media can be requested from Library Search. Click the "Library Pickup" option for your title and the item will be sent to our normal Info Desk in Campbell. Please allow a little extra time for this process of retrieval. You will be notified when it is ready for you to come pick it up. Books can be returned to the same Info Desk or our return box outside Campbell.
Interlibrary Loan (EZBorrow, ILLiad)

Green check - Library Resources Offered as Normal

As Normal

Both EZBorrow and ILLiad are operating normally. Requested items can be picked up and returned at the Campbell Info Desk, as normal.
Interlibrary Loan

Off-Campus Delivery

Green check - Library Resources Offered as Normal

As Normal

For distance learners and faculty, Campbell Library will send print materials (Rowan-owned or Interlibrary Loan) to the address you register, along with a return shipping label.
Request Off-Campus Delivery

Print Magazines & Journals

Pause Icon: Temporarily unavailable

Pause

Beginning in early May 2024, Rowan physical magazine and journal access will be paused. Please rely on our electronic collections for these titles or request through Interlibrary Loan until post-renovation.
Electronic Collections (Databases, EJournals, EBooks)

Green check - Library Resources Offered as Normal

As Normal

Access to our Electronic Collections continues normally.
Database Finder
Journal Finder
Library Search 
(can limit to ebooks)
Research Guides

Print Course Reserves

Green check - Library Resources Offered as Normal

As Normal

Access to Print Course Reserves continues normally. These items can be picked up at the Info Desk in Campbell. Faculty wishing to place an item on physical Course Reserve can do so with the normal form.
Course Reserves

Quiet Study Space

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Beginning in early May 2024, Campbell Library will not be conducive to quiet study. We suggest a number of possible alternatives across the Glassboro campus, including:

  • Business, 4th Floor
  • Discovery, 4th Floor
  • Engineering, 3rd Floor
  • James, 3rd Floor
  • Savitz, 3rd Floor

Post-renovation, Campbell Library plans to reopen with a newly dedicated quiet floor.

Group Study Rooms

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Beginning in early Fall 2024, Campbell's Group Study Rooms will close for reservations and use. We suggest a number of possible alternatives, including rooms in:

  • Business
  • Discovery
  • Engineering
Computing & Printing

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Beginning in early Fall 2024, Campbell's Computing and Printing will be unavailable. As an alternative, please access public computing and printing at any of the other open computing labs on campus. Additional printing kiosks are located around campus including at the Student Center. Please contact IRT with any questions.
Scanning & Microfiche/Microfilm

Pause Icon: Temporarily unavailable

Pause

Beginning in early Fall 2024, the Scanners and Microfiche/Microfilm reader will be unavailable. Please rely on our electronic collections or request through Interlibrary Loan until post-renovation.
Computer & Database use for non-Rowan Community members

Pause Icon: Temporarily unavailable

Pause

Beginning in early Fall 2024, the computer and electronic collections access normally provided to non-Rowan Community members (the public) will be paused.
Support for Electronic Collections

Green check - Library Resources Offered as Normal

As Normal

Technical Support for our Electronic Collections continues normally
librarysupport@rowan.edu
Research Consultations

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Guidance & Support for Student and Faculty Research will be primarily virtual
Subject Liaisons (by academic department)
Research Consultations (live availability)
Email Your Question (if unsure who to contact)
 
Library Instruction

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Faculty may request library instruction sessions and partnered assignment design for their classes as normal. The only change will be the sessions will need to be hosted either in the classroom of record, or virtually.
Subject Liaisons
Request Library Instruction

University Archives & Special Collections

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Beginning March 2024, the Archives Reading Room will be closed to researchers. Online digital resources are still available. Virtual research consultations may be available on a limited basis. Please reach out to University Archivist, Sara Borden, (856) 256-4945, with any questions.
Family Study Space

Pause Icon: Temporarily unavailable

Pause

Beginning in early Fall 2024, Campbell's new Family Study Space will be temporarily closed. This new co-studying space will return post-renovation.
Recording Booth

Pause Icon: Temporarily unavailable

Pause

Beginning in early Fall 2024, Campbell's new Recording Booth will be temporarily closed. This new space for podcasting and video presentation capture will return post-renovation.
Writing Center

Yellow check: Library resources are offered, with restrictions

Alternative

Beginning in early Fall 2024, Writing Center support will be located in Savitz for in-person tutoring. They will continue to also offer online tutoring and graduate student drop-off support.
Writing Center

Classrooms in the Library

Pause Icon: Temporarily unavailable

Pause

Beginning in May 2024, classrooms inside Campbell Library will temporarily be taken offline for courses and events. Please check with your professor if you have any questions about where your class will be held.
Departments of Sociology & Anthropology; Law & Justice

Green check - Library Resources Offered as Normal

As Normal

Access to the 5th floor faculty offices will continue throughout the Campbell Renovation. Once the renovation begins, please follow any posted directions to access these departments.

Renovation Timeline

Timeline of Renovations: Begin May 2024; Services Continue; End with Post-Renovation Campbell Library

The Campbell Library Renovation is scheduled to begin in May 2024, after commencement.

The renovation will begin with Floor 4, in preparation for the debut of the Dreamscape Learn virtual-reality Immersive Learning Center in Fall 2024.

Renovations will then proceed with Floors 1 through 3. Our goal is to complete the renovation of Campbell Library in Fall 2025.

While we aim for a smooth timeline, unexpected circumstances may arise. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we navigate through this exciting project.