Why is the renovation necessary?
Over the last century, the library rapidly evolved and found its home in different buildings across campus. It initially started as a single room library in Bunce Hall (1922-1955), before it expanded to Jerohn J. Savitz Library, a two-floor structure now known as Bole Hall (1955-1963). In 1963, Savitz Library moved across campus to a three-floor library that expanded from its original two-story structure, located in what is now known as Savitz Hall (1963-1995).
To accommodate the rapid development of new technology and increasing enrollment, Rowan College of New Jersey broke ground on January 18, 1993, to construct an $16.8 million new library. In February 1995, the library opened its doors to 118,000 sq. ft. of research, study, and archive space. Continuing the tradition from 1955, campus library relocations, students, staff, and faculty assisted in passing books hand to hand into the new facility.
Inspired by the philanthropic spirit of Henry Rowan, Keith Campbell, then Chair of the Rowan University Board of Trustees, and his wife, Shirley, generously donated $1.5 million to the Rowan University Foundation to establish an endowment for the library in November 2000. The Campbells chose the library as they believed it was “a gift that would touch everyone in the university community.” The facility was named Keith & Shirley Campbell Library to honor the family’s investment in “a great library for a great university.” To this day, their endowment continues to support digital scholarship projects, renovations, and research endeavors.
Nearly 30 years have flown by since Campbell Library opened its doors to the university community. Over this period, our students, faculty, and staff have frequented this space, finding a sense of connection and belonging within its walls. This renovation aims to adapt to the ever-changing demands for research, student support, and wellness for our campus community.
How will the renovations enhance the student experience?
The student experience is one of the key improvements in post-renovation Campbell. There are going to be a variety of study spaces to support the different needs and preferences of our patrons. Individual quiet study is a priority, as we have heard loud and clear how crucial this is for so many of our students. There will be a variety of seating arrangement options and a full floor dedicated to silent study. We are also increasing the number of bookable group study rooms, and will offer improved wifi throughout the building while still retaining several desktop stations for those who prefer or need them.
We recognize that our patrons have a variety of needs and preferences, and we are doing our best to balance them in this redesigned building, while we stay within our existing footprint. We are excited about some new dedicated spaces for sensory isolation in support of neurodiverse needs, open to all who would like to use them. And a focus on increasing natural light aims to promote student wellness. Our goal is to create spaces that contribute to the overall success and well-being of students.
Will existing library spaces be affected by the renovations?
With new services entering Campbell, but the same overall building footprint, some spaces will inevitably have to shift. But the biggest change students will probably notice post-renovation is fewer stacks of print books and more spaces for them to study and interact. Not leaving the building will be some crucial spaces we know our community enjoys and relies on: University Archives & Special Collections (which will actually have some expansion), the Performing Arts Collection space, and the Digital Scholarship Center. We are also planning to retain two new pilot spaces: our new Family Study Space and the Campbell Library Recording Booth.
Why will there be less browsable book stacks?
As outlined by the Campbell Collection Curation initiative, we are taking a thoughtful approach that combines the creative use of technology and extensive community outreach. On the tech side, we are using calculated algorithms to evaluate our extensive print collections, considering factors like book checkouts and availability at partner libraries. Our librarians will use that data to help categorize items into three groups: "Keep On-Site," "Store Off-Site," and "Donate or Recycle." And the librarians will continue working, as they have over the last 100 years, with our faculty and student partners to make sure that those decisions support the teaching, learning, and research that happen here at Rowan.
The primary goal of this initiative is to ensure that everyone on campus has easy and rapid access to the books they want and need. If we focus simply on growing our collections without paying attention to evaluating our existing books, our patrons would quickly be swamped by materials they do not find useful. By recycling unneeded books and moving less-frequently-used ones off-site, and adding new collections driven by faculty and student requests in support of the evolving Rowan curriculum and areas of research, we aim to make it easier for people to find the books they are looking for. This curation process aligns with our commitment to providing quality information resources that meet the needs of current and prospective students and faculty.
What additional services will be introduced as part of the renovation?
The renovation will bring an increase in campus partnerships, making the library a crucial part of the student resource hub that includes student support services in Savitz Hall and the soon-to-be-complete updated Chamberlain Student Center. We imagine these three buildings, and all of the services they offer, working together to holistically support students. The Writing Center, which already lives in Campbell Library, will continue to have a home in the library, but in a refreshed space. Rowan Thrive will have new offices and support space in Campbell, post renovation as well. And, finally, the Information Resources & Technology’s Technology Assistance Center will move in. Students will be able to receive wellness help, technology assistance, research support, and writing workshops all in the same location.
How is the library addressing diversity, equity, and inclusion in its collections?
We are moving some collections to a new off-site space for easy retrieval, and maintaining a key in-library collection for serendipitous browsing selected by our liaison librarians. We are also adding new browsable print collections: Rowan Reads, which reflect the diverse interests of our community, drawn from direct student individual suggestions and group partnerships. Library collections are meant to reflect the reading needs of its community, and we are working hard to align our collections with the real and evolving Rowan community, reflective of our collective diverse identities, research and reading interests, and needs.
